Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Unexpectedly great experience!

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Pros: The private balcony and view were spectacular, and the room itself was roomy, modern, and clean. It would be suitable for a family of four.
Location: The hotel was in slightly long walking distance from the entertainment/shopping center of the town.
We arrived early to check in, and requested a room away from the road. It turned out that there was an ocean facing room in the building farthest from the road. The room was large, comfortable, fully equipped with kitchen, washer/dryer, and a private balcony 50 feet from the waves. I don't pretend that every room there is as great as ours was, but it was a GREAT room.
3 out of 5
by Ms. from Santa Barbara

Noisy on ground floor near pool. Poor wireless.

Posted Jan 13, 2014
Pros: Gas grills (6 available) were good quality & cleaned every day (at 6:30AM). Resort is right on rocks so you can walk out to ocean (no swim).
Cons: WIRELESS reception needs to be improved.
Location: Don't be confused with 2 entrances to garage. They all connect via stair wells. Huggo's is just a block away, as is the rest of Kona.
The soft drink machine & outdoor mounted air-conditioners make for a noisy night if you like to keep glass doors open for natural breezes. We had one day of working wireless. Staff said that the modem installed cannot handle the load created with recent installation of Netflix. Netflix worked but we were using someone else's account. Finally they replaced the BlueRay DVD player, but movie still cut out in evening & office was closed so that was it. Cleaning service never showed up, even though it was only one day committed to during the 5 days we were there. We argued that we should not be charged for utility fee ($3/day) or internet ($5) or bag of coffee in room ($15) and they waived those additional fees. It's as close as you can get to Kona town if you want that proximity.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by PJ from Post, TX

Roar of the Waves

Posted Jan 5, 2014
Pros: Great location. We did lots of touring each day....coffee plantations, volcano, waterfalls, rain forests, golfing, snorkling, shopping and eating out.
Location: see above..but Jackie Ray's is close, market, and easy parking at the hotel.Elevators were clean and not full of sand. Prompt & friendly attendents.
Drinking morning coffee while enjoying the ocean view of waves crashing on the black lava rock was amazing. Sunsets complimented the swaying palm trees. We used the grill facilities near the pool area for evening meals. The aroma of various flowering plants surrounding the hotel area only added to our comfort.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Dan from Maryland

Great complex, bad unit location

Posted Dec 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
We enjoyed kona reef club. The facilities were good, decent pool, spa was cold every morning, but got warm during the day. Our unit, C1 was a terrible location. Like a cavern, very dark, with no view. We were offered no choice. Otherwise a nice stay with a nice staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Joe Stewart from Spokane, Wa

Central Location

Posted Nov 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
The resoort has a great location within walking distance of downtown and pier for water activities. The resort has a great ocean front with beach next door and grassy area toward ocean for walking along ocean. Amenities are okay and staff and service caring about our stay and enjoyment. Downside is in-room cleaning supplies as its hard to keep sand and dirt up when all that is provided is a broom. Manager stated to just call for service and it'd be handled but that is not good option.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 12, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Rocky shore, no beach

Posted Oct 11, 2013
The hotel is on a rock shore. Our room's were excellent. Very clean and nicely appointed. There was a pool area that was unfortunately closed due to broken glass, a pity. There was a BBQ are that was also closed for most of the time we were there. Disapointing. The place was central to most of the place that we went to. All things considered we were very pleased.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Daniel from Los Angeles

great place to stay

Posted Oct 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
We arrived late in the evening and arranged a one night stay so we can spend time at Volcanoes National Park and Hilo. I wish I had stayed longer at this nice hotel. The place is well kept and the suite is beautiful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

excellent views of ocean. private beach

Posted Sep 23, 2013
Cons: Hot tub ours need to be extended.
Location: great shopping and resturaunts within 1/4 mile
Beautiful views. Sunset on the beach. decorated nice. clean, comfortable. very relaxing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Paul

Paddlers looking for a place for Labor Day weekend

Posted Sep 9, 2013
Pros: Quiet and nice
Cons: The pull out sofa bed....springs were broken so we put the mattress on the floor but we didn't mind.
Location: Location was good away from Kailua town. Easy walking access (if you like walking) to shops, restaurants.
4 of us ladies who paddled in the Queen Liliuokalani race over Labor Day weekend this was definitely the place to stay! The room was perfect for 4. Full size kitchen was perfect and the hot tub was very useful after a long race. The staff was super great and nice (Brandon and Karolina). I would highly recommend this place and wouldn't mind booking my reservations for next year's race.