Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Julia from Santa Clara, CA

Stay on coffee farm

Posted Mar 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Stay on mountain slope means cooler, more pleasant climate than at beach in Kailua-Kona plus great views. Room not serviced during 3-day stay; more like a holiday rental than a B&B. Delicious breakfast, convenient location on Hwy 190.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Missa from Denver, CO

Cute B&B with eccentric owners

Posted Mar 11, 2014
This bed and breakfast is located in the hills of Kona on a stunningly beautiful coffee plantation. There are all kinds of incredible plants and flowers on the property, not to mention the pleasing smell of roasting coffee twice a week. The room was clean and comfortable, though the mattress and pillows felt rather cheap. The food was very tasty, but not very nutritious (we pretty much just ate waffles and pancakes). The owners were both rather eccentric in their own way which was entertaining sometimes and unsettling other times. I do recommend staying here, but maybe only for a night or two. Any more than that and the little quirks might start to feel more intrusive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bobby from UK

Unusual but interesting place to stay!

Posted Feb 17, 2014
Pros: Hans did an interesting and inspiring coffee talk - highly recommended to hear about how coffee is grown and produced. Had to buy some of his coffee.
Location: 5 miles from Kona and just off the main road so quite easy to get to anywhere on the Big Island. 45-60 mins from the Mauna Kea observation site.
We particularly wanted to stay on a coffee farm to understand more about the Kona Coffee growing area. It was a lovely place to stay. Nice and quiet. Great home grown fruit at breakfast which was served all together out on the veranda and of course, their own coffee was amazing! So good you can take it black without sugar or creamer.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Victor Cordell from Alameda, CA

coffee farm away from town

Posted Feb 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
This B&B sits above a small coffee farm owned by the innkeepers, five miles from the heart of Kailua-Kona and at an altitude of 2,000 feet, making it a little cooler than locations in town. The drive to town is quite easy, which is where you have to go for meals. The rooms I saw were all modest in size and appointments, but mostly adequate except for lacking closets, which creates congestion if you have much luggage. A public room has a computer and a television. Amenities are basic and mostly okay, but they don't offer shower soap or gel. While that fact is mentioned in their pre-arrival announcements, it is easy to miss among the numerous other do's and don'ts, and it's easy to forget when you have a myriad of more important details to deal with on a trip, as I did. The good thing about breakfasts is that they were thoughtful, but you don't get breadth of offering like cereals or toast or muffins. We had papaya and farmer's cheese filled crepes one morning, but if those don't float your boat, you may not be pleased. The innkeepers understandably have other work activities outside of the b&b, but those did interfere with our getting the quality of service we expected, particularly when wanting to operate the television one evening. The computer and wifi were fine.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Eman

Different, but nice enough for a return.

Posted Jan 26, 2014
Pros: Free parking, free breakfast, free good coffee.
Cons: Breakfast including at least one meat, one starch, one egg product.
Location: Not much nearby. You will have to drive a few miles down the hill to get food. Umeke's is awesome.
Free parking and breakfast. Some days were a little better than a continental breakfast, some were a full breakfast. I have not been to many B&Bs, but it felt like we were a mix between houseguests and customers. Good or bad I guess that's up to you. I would definitely return though. Some of the other comments could be construed as correct, and I will not add to those.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Payne from PA

Not worth the price

Posted Jan 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Family feeling by having breakfast in the yard together. There are 4 rooms in total. But facilities are not good, price is high too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 11, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Chen from Fremont, CA

Get to smell the 100% Kona coffee every day!

Posted Dec 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
The best thing about the stay is the view, the gourmet breakfast, and the pure Kona coffee! We stayed here for 2 nights. I was debating whether we should stay close to a beach or inside the coffee farm. Then we decided Mango because there'd be a rare chance we can stay in a coffee farm going forward. Mango doesn't let us down and if you're a total coffee lover, you'll have fresh Kona coffee every morning with the gourmet healthy hot breakfast. Really want to go back again!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by John from SLC

good experience

Posted Nov 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
Our hosts were very nice. It was a pleasure to have breakfast with them every morning. The b&b is in a coffee plantation and their coffee is excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Elsa from California

Perfect hotel for a group of friends or couples.

Posted Mar 26, 2013
Mango Sunset B&B was the perfect match for our trip. Marsha, Hans and their little girl are very good hosts, welcoming, cooking ultra-good breakfasts and sharing lively morning chats. It is a coffee farm and if you like coffee, you will be very happy. The rooms are comfy and clean, with a good view on Kona. It is very quiet, allowing a good rest before undertaking one of the many hikes on the island. It is simple and relaxing like at home but in Hawai.