Ratings based on 108 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SF

Nice hotel on a beautiful beach

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: beach location, privacy, new renovations, spacious nice rooms. A five day stay is ideal.
Cons: dining experience needs a big change.
Location: Beach, golf and tennis on site without anything nearby without at least a 10-15 minute drive
Mediocre high priced food with just acceptable service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful, incredible location, elegant

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Location: It's situated in the most incredible part of the island
Beautiful, elegant, beautifully restored -maintaining the original character of the building - most beautiful beach of the island, perfect staff, very nice rooms, wonderful art collection. Great café on the beach. Gluten-free options. Instead, The main restaurant is painfully expensive and doesn't really fit in a place that is elegant yet understated. I certainly recommend it. I see myself going back for a longer stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

R & R

Posted May 28, 2014
Went with friends for pure R & R. That's what we got. The hotel is a bit understated and the staff is not overbearing so it's really easy to kick back and relax. They are there when you need them, but not in your face. The shopping on site is not the best. One of our group needed a new swimsuit and found the options limited. Breakfast was the best of the meals at the site and there is not a real fine dining option at the hotel. The beach there is perfect also. Smooth sand, warm and clean water. Snorkeling pretty lame unfortunately, you have to go elsewhere. Beware car rental rates in the area! The golf operation is flawless. Great course, great pro shop staff, etc.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good place for elderly

Posted Mar 9, 2014
Stayed with my girlfriend for 3 nights. Expected a romantic get away, but the hotel was old. They have tried to refurbish the rooms, but they looked like they were painted by a few children and put fake wood laminent on the floors. Many elderly folks that have been vacationing there for years. Very nice beach though. Maybe a good option for those with kids. Four Seasons a much better option for those in there 20's through 40's looking for a romantic get away.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by KAREL from Houston

Nice hotel at Kohala Coast,avoid breakfast

Posted Feb 23, 2014
Cons: Breakfast .Avoid rooms directly facing noisy pool .
Location: Restaurant Merriman's in Waimea /10 miles / ,avoid Roy 's
Nice hotel , close to beach,great art, pleasant staff
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Eaten Alive

Posted Feb 20, 2014
Unfortunately our "0cean View" room was obscured by a dense garden planted next to our balcony so we had a nice view of palm leaves and ferns. The moisture from the garden watering was a great breeding ground for Mosquitos so we got eaten alive every time we tried to kick back on the balcony. Hotel was "full" so we couldn't get a room change, or so they said.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful building and location

Posted Feb 13, 2014
Pros: The building and Asian art displays. Very tall in case of Tsunami. If I were a golfer, I would love playing on this course, great for morning walks.
Cons: The general activities, music events, and the liveliness of the place. Food prices need to be more realistic or invite a three-star chef to cook.
Location: Not too far from Hilo near the active volcano area, and some quaint small villages in North Kohala, or Waimea. Beach parks nearby merit a visit.
The building, studded with magnificent Asian art, is a very pleasant surprise. In the evenings, though, it is as dead as a mortuary. No people around except at the restaurants, and no activities of any kind. Average age of the customers may be over 65, although a few honeymooners could be sighted. The beach is gorgeous, but not more so than most beaches in Mexico, that are more lively or even noisy sometimes. Waves were reasonably small most days, but the red flag was always displayed by the lifeguards (to keep the elderly customers alive, I presume). Food was quite acceptable, and the fish fresh, as expected in Hawaii. But the prices were extremely high for their very simple preparations. Food was much better in several gorgeous eateries in Honolulu or in little ethnic places in Kona. The Luau was exceptionally good, the pig very tasty, and the polynesian men in charge extremely hard working and efficient.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Elegant hotel with a beautiful beach.

Posted Jan 15, 2014
Pros: I loved the beach! We boogie boarded, swam and snorkeled steps from our hotel room.
Cons: The food and drinks are extremely inflated however that will not change.
Location: This hotel is not located near much but if you don't want to explore the island then this resort has all you need.
Had a great time on the beach swimming, snorkeling and relaxing. The staff was attentive to our needs and made our stay a fantastic one.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Paul from Toronto

Great place to unwind

Posted Dec 3, 2013
Pros: The setting and the service. Best beach we saw.
Location: Bit of a drive(100 miles) but access to the volcanoes from Hilo is a must do. We did a bike and a helicopter tour.
Good resort hotel, nice setting and great service.