Ratings based on 115 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful beach

Posted Oct 20, 2014
We stayed for a little over a week in December. The beach is absolutely beautiful. I spent a lot of time snorkeling. It was an amazing experience for me. One time, I saw a sea turtle and swam with it for about 20 minutes. My only complaint was the staff at the beach who rented out equipment and moved the chairs, etc. Some of them were obnoxious. There is a nearby sister hotel called Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel. As a guest of Mauna Kea Beach Resort, you can use their facilities as well. This little secret was not told to us by the staff. We learned it from another guest, who seemed to have been a long-time regular guest. Many of the hotel guests were elderly people. We were happy about it, since that made the hotel a quiet place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Northern California

Nice resort on a beautiful beach

Posted Sep 26, 2014
Pros: Right on a beautiful sandy beach. The staff was very courteous and friendly. The ocean front rooms are large, and very comfortable.
Cons: The resort is nearly 50 years old. It has been well maintained but has somewhat of a dated design.
Location: The resort is 30 minutes from the Kona airport and a major highway that connects to other highways anywhere on the island.
We had a great ocean front room overlooking one of the most beautiful beaches in all of Hawaii. The hotel staff were all very friendly. There was a nice selection of resort restaurants. I definitely would consider a return visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel!

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Very relaxing, beautiful place. Hotel staff was really great and helpful. One of the most beautiful, quiet beaches on the island.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SF

Nice hotel on a beautiful beach

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: beach location, privacy, new renovations, spacious nice rooms. A five day stay is ideal.
Cons: dining experience needs a big change.
Location: Beach, golf and tennis on site without anything nearby without at least a 10-15 minute drive
Mediocre high priced food with just acceptable service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful, incredible location, elegant

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Location: It's situated in the most incredible part of the island
Beautiful, elegant, beautifully restored -maintaining the original character of the building - most beautiful beach of the island, perfect staff, very nice rooms, wonderful art collection. Great café on the beach. Gluten-free options. Instead, The main restaurant is painfully expensive and doesn't really fit in a place that is elegant yet understated. I certainly recommend it. I see myself going back for a longer stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

R & R

Posted May 28, 2014
Went with friends for pure R & R. That's what we got. The hotel is a bit understated and the staff is not overbearing so it's really easy to kick back and relax. They are there when you need them, but not in your face. The shopping on site is not the best. One of our group needed a new swimsuit and found the options limited. Breakfast was the best of the meals at the site and there is not a real fine dining option at the hotel. The beach there is perfect also. Smooth sand, warm and clean water. Snorkeling pretty lame unfortunately, you have to go elsewhere. Beware car rental rates in the area! The golf operation is flawless. Great course, great pro shop staff, etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Steel722 from Summit, NJ

Wonderful Beach Hotel

Posted Apr 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
Had a great stay at Mauna Kea ... upgraded to beachfront, rooms were stylish and spotless, the beach was beautiful and the location worked well for efficient access to activities and awesome off-resort restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Golf
by Cheryl from Los Gatos, CA

Understated elegance

Posted Mar 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
We like the remote feeling of the Mauna Kea. We enjoy the golf and the ambiance of the hotel! We will be back. The staff is very cordial and friendly but not intrusive. Lovely spot.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good place for elderly

Posted Mar 9, 2014
Stayed with my girlfriend for 3 nights. Expected a romantic get away, but the hotel was old. They have tried to refurbish the rooms, but they looked like they were painted by a few children and put fake wood laminent on the floors. Many elderly folks that have been vacationing there for years. Very nice beach though. Maybe a good option for those with kids. Four Seasons a much better option for those in there 20's through 40's looking for a romantic get away.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Jonathan from New York

Beautiful. but spend money on view, not food.

Posted Feb 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel and the beach are absolutely stunning. If aesthetics and design are important to you, you will be in heaven here. The service is also very friendly and accommodating. We were expecting a luxury experience so were prepared to spend some money. That said, here are some tips on how/where we would spend that money if we were to come back again: --- The room is very comfortable and well kept. However, we had a "golf view", which we figured would be quiet and peaceful but was in reality looking out over the parking lot. So our dreams of hanging out on the spacious lanai were seriously curbed by the sounds and looks of arriving guests and groundskeepers. (the extra lanai off the bathroom was completely indiscreet given this location). If we come back again we'll definitely pay the extra money to get an "ocean view". ---- The other thing to watch out for is the price of the meals. The food is not bad by any means, but can get so expensive for what it is. In particular we regretted spending so much money on the "Clam Bake", which was in reality just an average seafood buffet at one of the hotel's restaurants. We much preferred our dinner at the same restaurant the next night for about a third of the price. Our best meals occurred when we took the trouble to drive to Waikoloa or Waimu. --- All in all, we enjoyed our stay and would come back here again.