Ratings based on 513 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

lovely hotel

Posted May 30, 2014
Pros: just about everything
Cons: Bay Terrace restaurant needs improved chef snorkeling suffers from coral bleaching, global warming snorkeling equipment can't be kept after 5PM
Location: ideal location, many activities within a 1/2 -- 2hour drive
excellent in every way, peaceful surroundings, beautiful grounds, excellent service, excellent accommodations
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Olulu from Seattle

Best place to stay in this area!

Posted May 6, 2014
Second time and we will be back! Love it... but please bring back more fish to the ponds in the hotel - yellow tangs and surgeons are gone! It would be nice if you could rent floaties or at least have air pumps to assist with personal floating devices. My parents and friends visited as well and fell in love with this place. Expensive, but well worth it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great property

Posted May 4, 2014
Nice place to stay if you are hopping around the islands. It has plenty of views and one of the few beaches that you can swim @ on the west side.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by ed and ling

Great experience.

Posted May 4, 2014
Pool and beach was gorgeous. Room was modern, clean and laid out nicely. Views and walking paths on the grounds were down right beautiful. Service and personnel were excellent. As a bonus, mini market on grounds was perfect. Great selections of food and drinks and reasonably priced. Definitely recommend staying here. Location is also ver good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Stacey

Friendly 4-star resort

Posted Apr 30, 2014
Cons: Need liners for ice buckets
Location: Historic fish ponds and petroglyphs on grounds Snorkel the coral reef, 10 minute walk from hotel's main beach
Nice rooms, upgraded to Ocean View room with balcony. Highly recommended, enjoyed it more than stays at nearby Fairmont or Hilton. I put an extended review on TripAdvisor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Mauna Lani Bay Hotel - Good Value

Posted Apr 21, 2014
We found the hotel quite beautiful. Our room was was very nicely decorated and clean, with a beautiful pool and ocean view. While not inexpensive, the hotel was a good value considering our rate included a buffet breakfast each morning. The hotel staff we exceptionally friendly and welcoming.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Arindam from Seattle

Service is class apart!

Posted Apr 19, 2014
Pros: Staff customer service, amenities, coffee shop, ocean view rooms, housekeeping service
Cons: Pool bar service.
We checked into the Mauna Lani for a week of R&R. Our flight was the last one for the day and by the time we checked-in it was about 11:30 PM but were greeted with as much pomp and attention as prime time. The valet, bell clerk and the reception staff were exceptional. The room was cozy for a family of 4 but we knew that coming in and frankly it did not bother us very much. The room was an Ocean View category and due to the late hour could not quite get a good view outside. The next day we asked to be be upgraded or moved to another room and they made that happen within minutes; to a higher floor with exceptional view of the ocean. The manager, Eric spent 30-40 min giving us a private tour of the property and very valuable suggestions about how to optimize our sightseeing time given this was out first trip to the Big Island. Their concierge service was truly remarkable, they suggested a very good tour of the Waipio Valley and couple of restaurants (Lava Lava & Tommy Bahamas) that were completely in alignment with our choice of ambience and surroundings. Every member of their staff had a smile on their face and appeared ready to jump in to support us in any way shape or form. Couple of areas where the hotel might pay attention - pool service bar staff and menu (limited choice, staff always not available) and the bird activity in the restaurant which frankly really is part of the ambience of the island. Overall a trip to remember and cherish for a long time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Pros: beautiful location, compact, nice grounds.
Cons: Quality of food and selection
Location: noting to do near by unless you have a car
nice hotel, too expensive, poor quality of food, not a very good selection,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle area

Tropical Paradise! Wonderful Staff.

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: Everything! Breakfast buffet is perfect. Beautiful setting and fantastic food!
Location: Workout facility was also fantastic. Tennis courts, gym, 3 lane lap pool, etc.
Hawaiin culture was evident from our first day! Friendly, warm, helpful staff. Dedicated to preserving the natural habitat of sea creatures. The Hawaii Revealed guidebook was right on the money: Mauna Lani does have the most "tropical feel."The sea pools are beautifully weaved throughout the resort. Our daughter wanted to visit the Honus and the other 75 species multiple times a day! It was a highlight of our stay! Without asking, the staff upgraded us to an ocean view room! Fantastic facility inside and out! Gorgeous beach. Many Hawaiin cultural activities/events. Live music every night!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Mauna Lani is a MUST!!!

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Pros: Everything!! The location is great for restaurants, shopping, cultural activities, and mixing with the locals!!! They have free bike rentals too!!
Cons: Lower prices, so I can visit longer!
Location: This location is perfect for all activities (on land or on the ocean)!!
This hotel is HEAVEN!!! Everything was beyond my expectations!!! The views from the rooms (and everywhere in the hotel) are photo worthy!!! There are daily activities, a delightful restaurant, a bar/lounge with eats, treats, drinks, and ice cream made on the island!!! The staff, Tovah the concierge, and Binkie the server at the breakfast buffet were PERFECT!!! Choose the Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows....you'll be glad you did!!!