Ratings based on 545 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nj

Wonderful

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Pros: The ponds and the. Beach
Cons: The coffee and bars were very expensive
Location: Kona village. Shops close by.
It was great. Loved all the grounds. Fish ponds all over the place. It was 20 minutes from Kona by car but we rented a car and that was fine. We had the best beach and snorkleling on the Island. Took our rental car back from Hilo on the new Saddle road and it was fine.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Great hotel and facilities.

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Great hotel, very friendly staff and service. Only complaint would be poor late room service menu. Otherwise stay was great and cheaper mountain views are just as good if not better than the ocean. The sunrise is amazing!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Beautiful hotel, beautiful beach. Great place to be.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hawaii

Truly an excellent resort experience

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: Great layout, wonderful staff.
Cons: Outdoors bar by pool needs some updating.
Location: Shops at Mauna Lani are nearby, and Waikaloa Village a fairly short drive. But why leave the resort? Plenty to do in exploring the beach & shore.
A great experience from driving up, checking in, through checkout. All of the staff were friendly, professional and attentive. Excellent facilities - loved the pool, beach & paths to wander along the shore. And a fabulous dinner at the Canoe House after a great sunset. Oceanview room was what an oceanview room should be - right over the beach with a 180deg view of the ocean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati, ohio

A great Hawaiian experience!

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Pros: The friendly staff and the beautiful beaches. The only thing this hotel doesn't have is a Luau but they provide free shuttle to the Fairmont's
Cons: The only thing my family and I would have liked is more dining options. There are only three dining options; coffee shop restaurant & the Canoe House
Location: The Shops are just about a mile up the road. The Shops has a grocery store and several places to eat. The Fairmont has a Luau
My family and I truly enjoyed our recent stay at the Mauna Lani Bay Hotel. The staff was very friendly and accommodating to our needs. My husband accidentally booked a king bed, instead of two queen beds for our family. Upon check in, they not only fixed our mistake, but they upgraded our room! We were very pleased with our room and the bathroom appeared to be newly updated. The hotel offers free boogie boards for hotel members and free snorkel gear (for four hours). They also have paddle boards you can rent. If you do decide to paddle board I recommend the lesson with Uncle George. He teaches you a great deal on how to paddle board. There are two nice beaches on this property, one directly in front of the hotel and another about a mile walk from the hotel. The pool is nicely heated and there are several hot tubs. We saw several sea turtles every day. If you're looking for turtles, I recommend walking the beach early in the morning and looking by the rocks that line the walk way between the beaches. The hotel has bikes you can use to ride to the local grocery store at "The Shops" and they also provide shuttles. The grocery store will will give you the local discount if you provide a phone number. There was plenty of space in the hotel refrigerator to store our drinks. The hotel gives you two bottles of water daily. If you need ice, you have to call for it. If you wait until 5, the pool bar has a good (good for a resort) happy hour for both drinks and food
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St. Louis

giant oasis hotel complex in a barren lava field

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: very friendly and helpful staff
Cons: reduce cost.
Location: Did not like the location. Too far away from a town.
Lovely gardens and facilities, not at all crowded. Friendly, helpful staff. Canoe restaurant on the beach wonderful. Was literally in the middle of a barren lava field, nothing to do but golf and pool activities, sand beach but rocky shore so no shoreline ocean swimming. Way too expensive for the facility and service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Quiet Elegance

Posted Aug 10, 2014
The room was lovely, the grounds and views are spectacular, there were several options for live music, the food was very good to excellent, but expensive. There is a grocery store in the shopping area on the property which provided less expensive options and snacks. There are also restaurants such as Ruth Chris on the property with shuttle bus service. If you're this far north and like Hawaiian Regional Cuisine, go to Merriman's restaurant in Waimea. It is spectacular.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

True old Hawaii Hotel

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Beautiful location, wonderful grounds spectacular ocean front room. Snorkeling A➕➕ Not so good: only two restaurant choices some nights only 55 USD Buffet available. Don't mind the price so much but quality was very average. Definitely would stay here again for the relaxing feel and location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel. Beautiful location.

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Pros: We loved the cabanas and snorkeling right outside the hotel. My husband loved the lap pool at the spa.
Cons: No
The Mauna Lani was terrific. We were there when hurricane Iselle was supposed to hit. The hotel was very prepared. The staff is above wonderful - helpful and courteous.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Fantastic resort for my birthday weekend

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: Snorkeling and other water activities, friendly staff, beach access
Cons: Food options / pricing
Location: There is a mini shopping area nearby. Take the hotel shuttle, and go to Ruth's Chris for their great HH!
I highly recommend this hotel for anyone staying at the Kona side of Hawaii's Big Island! I flew into Keahole Airport on 8/1, and it was only a 30 minute drive north on 19 to Mauna Lani (I highly suggest renting a car). The resort was easy to find, and we were greeted with a tree nut lei, glasses of juice, and a cold refreshing towel at the check-in desk. The staff was extremely friendly the entire duration of our stay and SO accommodating. The BEST part is the snorkeling (in my opinion). We rented our snorkel gear and flippers for free and snorkeled for hours. We saw amazing coral, lots of fish (go early in the morning for feeding time), and even sea turtles! We did that mainly but lots of other people were paddle-boarding and kayaking as well. The cabanas were plentiful and great to relax in during snorkeling breaks. At night, it was great to go into the hot tubs and normal swimming pools. We never tried any of their cultural activities or spa so I can't speak to that. The rooms are nice but average. I was not in my room most of the time so it didn't matter that much to me. The entire lobby is huge and open with the breeze blowing in... it feels like you're next to the ocean IN the hotel! The food is good but a bit pricey but most places there are. We went to a luau in the Marriott nearby and we could easily say that Mauna Lani was far superior as it was less touristy, not as congested with lots of children, and just felt more like a resort.