Ratings based on 494 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Mauna Lani is a MUST!!!

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Pros: Everything!! The location is great for restaurants, shopping, cultural activities, and mixing with the locals!!! They have free bike rentals too!!
Cons: Lower prices, so I can visit longer!
Location: This location is perfect for all activities (on land or on the ocean)!!
This hotel is HEAVEN!!! Everything was beyond my expectations!!! The views from the rooms (and everywhere in the hotel) are photo worthy!!! There are daily activities, a delightful restaurant, a bar/lounge with eats, treats, drinks, and ice cream made on the island!!! The staff, Tovah the concierge, and Binkie the server at the breakfast buffet were PERFECT!!! Choose the Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows....you'll be glad you did!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Mauna Lani is a MUST!!!

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Pros: Everything!! The location is great for restaurants, shopping, cultural activities, and mixing with the locals!!! They have free bike rentals too!!
Cons: Lower prices, so I can visit longer!
Location: This location is perfect for all activities (on land or on the ocean)!!
This hotel is HEAVEN!!! Everything was beyond my expectations!!! The views from the rooms (and everywhere in the hotel) are photo worthy!!! There are daily activities, a delightful restaurant, a bar/lounge with eats, treats, drinks, and ice cream made on the island!!! The staff, Tovah the concierge, and Binkie the server at the breakfast buffet were PERFECT!!! Choose the Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows....you'll be glad you did!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Aunty Annie from Wauchope, NSW

Relaxo Rancho!

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Pros: Location a little remote, wasn't too crowded during my stay and the amazing musicians who played in lobby most evenings.
Cons: Leave room alone - even lanai furniture gets moved back?Don't need fresh towels EVERY day. Free parking if not using valet.Fresh milk in fridge.
Location: Plenty of tourist attractions if you like. I drove around whole island and explored. I didn't do too much else, went there to relax by beach & pool!
Loved Mauna Lani. Would stay again! THE most comfortable bed in the world, I slept so well! Staff very lovely and accommodating - my room was made up every day which was like walking into the room for the first time, every time. Was surprised they changed towels every day ( there were enough in the room for me to tie them all together and leave my room like Rupunzel)! The views all spectacular, better than brochure, pool lovely and clean, although got too noisy at times with little people. Mainly ate at Bay Terrace for dining - delicious food and drinks and all staff attentive but not annoying. They have your name and your preferences down pat in an instant, which is nice. Had a rental car so could get around at will but was disappointing that you have to pay for parking whether you valet or not, for an outdoor carpark. They provide coffee maker in room but little for tea drinkers. Guess you can only ask for tea & milk etc. but it is frustrating having to. Local shops have pretty good range, is walking distance, but hotel also has a shuttle bus to drop off and pick you up which is handy. Didn't use gym or spa. Beach staff very helpful and furniture in good condition for lazy day by the beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by PiPPo from Italy

Wonderful hotel in a perfect position

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: Location, the beach was very nice and relaxing. Room, it was big and clean.
The hotel is situated not too far from the KONA AIRPORT. It is a very big resort, offering all kind of relaxing activities. The beach is perfect and the water is very clean. The room was big and comfortable. The resort has a golf course, in addition to that it has shops and restaurants, however it is not far from other local restaurants that you can find in the Big Island. We took only one night so we didn't manage to do a lot of things, but the hotel can keep you busy and relaxed for a few days (several activities are organized by the hotel). If I'll go back to the Big Island I'll stay for sure in this hotel once more.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Glenn & Liz from SF Bay Area

Interesting People & Whales Too!

Posted Mar 4, 2014
Pros: Very well-trained staff, so service is consistent in every area at any time of day. Staff is empowered to make policy decisions on the spot.
Cons: Move it a little closer to California, so the flight isn't 5 hours. Seriously, I have no complaints.
Location: Kona side of the Big Island offers limited opportunities beyond the developed resorts, but a short drive gets you to a varied array of activities.
We planned to use the hotel as a base of operations for off-site activities, but ended up hurrying back from excursions to hang out with the many interesting guests we met at the poolside bar and adjacent restaurant. The staff are expert in fostering conversations which are entertaining and informative without being opinionated. Many guests are long-time returnees and the staff knows them by name and interests, so they can be social catalysts. We had repeated "small world" revelations with only one or two degrees of separation. It was amazing! The setting is perfect and the accommodations everything you would expect. The food is excellent in each of the many venues. We even found our best snorkeling on the property! And the whale activity, easily visible just offshore, was an added bonus. We will return and become another of the "regulars".
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Don from Portland, Or

Wonderful hotel on the beach with swimming pool

Posted Feb 21, 2014
Pros: See the above
Cons: Can't think of anything
Location: Trip to Mauna Kea to see sunset at the summit at 13,00 feet and the stars at 9000. Volcano national park. 4 good restaurants a 5 minute drive
Marvelous location, right on the beach, separate entirely from other properties. Grand restaurant also on the beach with included luscious buffet breakfast. Large rooms, almost all looking out over the water, all with lanai.Large swimming pool and three just completed hot tubs. Spa with large workout room included, short walk away.Good snorkeling from the beach. Staff uniformly pleasant sand cheerful. We have travelled all over the world and this is one of the most complete , enjoyable and relaxing hotels we have ever stayed in!! It is somewhat expensive - about $500 daily including the Hawaii taxes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Thomas from south carolina

Classic Hawaii Experience

Posted Feb 20, 2014
Pros: Style, nighttime quiet, comfortable bed, nice lanai, lovely grounds
Cons: Pool is nice but notas impressive as some North Kohola Resort competition Room towels could be a little more absorbent, a trivial complaint.
Location: Beaches, resorts, shopping, sight seeing...volcanoes, Hilo, WAimea...coffee and macadamia farms, Mona kea observatory, South Point, lots of places
Beautiful location, hotel ambiance - quiet elegance, friendly staff, lovely room If you want to get away and relax , this is the place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by paul from redondo beach

NIce hotel at the beach

Posted Feb 19, 2014
Pros: location, staff
Location: whale watching close buy ditto hilocopters and , golf corses are excellent
great time, good location, excelent staff. Friendley , especially the pool bar and bay terrace. Right on the beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Alberta Beef from Camrose Alberta

More of Mauna Lani

Posted Feb 17, 2014
Pros: Rooms were some of the nicest I have stayed in. Landscaping is top notch with all the ponds full of turtles, fish and the occasional shark.
Cons: Pool area was very generic, Swimming area at the beach wasn't very nice to swim in. Too rocky and rough.
Location: Snorkeling, Shopping, Whale watching and catamaran tours, golfing on a world class course. Kona is 40 minutes South.
We are in our 40's and felt like kids compared to all the 65+ guests. Pool: 4/5 it was a basic pool that was nice to cool off in. Rooms: 5/5 huge bathroom area, big balcony, large rooms. Beach: 3.5/5 beach was nice but not very good for swimming as the lava rock and all the waves just off shore made for better snorkeling than swimming. I did like all the hammocks to lounge in on the beach. All the equipment (snorkel/ longboards, etc) and towels were free. We found better swimming beaches by walking to private beach to the south and the other resort beach to the north. There are turtles laying on the beach everywhere around here. Some of the best whale watching from shore takes place here. Hotel: staff, food & drinks were great, free bicycles to tour over to golf course or to the shopping plaza to get a bite to eat and do some shopping. beware of wild goats:)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

love to stay at Mauna Lani. perfect for relaxing

Posted Feb 14, 2014
wonderful place to stay for relaxing. staying at beach everyday is such a wonderful thing. and it is the best place to watch sunset love the whole environment too. very open place with great sun light and it makes you feel happy the service is excellent as expected