Ratings based on 475 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Mauna Lani Bay Hotel - Good Value

Posted Apr 21, 2014
We found the hotel quite beautiful. Our room was was very nicely decorated and clean, with a beautiful pool and ocean view. While not inexpensive, the hotel was a good value considering our rate included a buffet breakfast each morning. The hotel staff we exceptionally friendly and welcoming.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Arindam from Seattle

Service is class apart!

Posted Apr 19, 2014
Pros: Staff customer service, amenities, coffee shop, ocean view rooms, housekeeping service
Cons: Pool bar service.
We checked into the Mauna Lani for a week of R&R. Our flight was the last one for the day and by the time we checked-in it was about 11:30 PM but were greeted with as much pomp and attention as prime time. The valet, bell clerk and the reception staff were exceptional. The room was cozy for a family of 4 but we knew that coming in and frankly it did not bother us very much. The room was an Ocean View category and due to the late hour could not quite get a good view outside. The next day we asked to be be upgraded or moved to another room and they made that happen within minutes; to a higher floor with exceptional view of the ocean. The manager, Eric spent 30-40 min giving us a private tour of the property and very valuable suggestions about how to optimize our sightseeing time given this was out first trip to the Big Island. Their concierge service was truly remarkable, they suggested a very good tour of the Waipio Valley and couple of restaurants (Lava Lava & Tommy Bahamas) that were completely in alignment with our choice of ambience and surroundings. Every member of their staff had a smile on their face and appeared ready to jump in to support us in any way shape or form. Couple of areas where the hotel might pay attention - pool service bar staff and menu (limited choice, staff always not available) and the bird activity in the restaurant which frankly really is part of the ambience of the island. Overall a trip to remember and cherish for a long time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Pros: beautiful location, compact, nice grounds.
Cons: Quality of food and selection
Location: noting to do near by unless you have a car
nice hotel, too expensive, poor quality of food, not a very good selection,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle area

Tropical Paradise! Wonderful Staff.

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: Everything! Breakfast buffet is perfect. Beautiful setting and fantastic food!
Location: Workout facility was also fantastic. Tennis courts, gym, 3 lane lap pool, etc.
Hawaiin culture was evident from our first day! Friendly, warm, helpful staff. Dedicated to preserving the natural habitat of sea creatures. The Hawaii Revealed guidebook was right on the money: Mauna Lani does have the most "tropical feel."The sea pools are beautifully weaved throughout the resort. Our daughter wanted to visit the Honus and the other 75 species multiple times a day! It was a highlight of our stay! Without asking, the staff upgraded us to an ocean view room! Fantastic facility inside and out! Gorgeous beach. Many Hawaiin cultural activities/events. Live music every night!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Mauna Lani is a MUST!!!

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Pros: Everything!! The location is great for restaurants, shopping, cultural activities, and mixing with the locals!!! They have free bike rentals too!!
Cons: Lower prices, so I can visit longer!
Location: This location is perfect for all activities (on land or on the ocean)!!
This hotel is HEAVEN!!! Everything was beyond my expectations!!! The views from the rooms (and everywhere in the hotel) are photo worthy!!! There are daily activities, a delightful restaurant, a bar/lounge with eats, treats, drinks, and ice cream made on the island!!! The staff, Tovah the concierge, and Binkie the server at the breakfast buffet were PERFECT!!! Choose the Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows....you'll be glad you did!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Mauna Lani is a MUST!!!

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Pros: Everything!! The location is great for restaurants, shopping, cultural activities, and mixing with the locals!!! They have free bike rentals too!!
Cons: Lower prices, so I can visit longer!
Location: This location is perfect for all activities (on land or on the ocean)!!
This hotel is HEAVEN!!! Everything was beyond my expectations!!! The views from the rooms (and everywhere in the hotel) are photo worthy!!! There are daily activities, a delightful restaurant, a bar/lounge with eats, treats, drinks, and ice cream made on the island!!! The staff, Tovah the concierge, and Binkie the server at the breakfast buffet were PERFECT!!! Choose the Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows....you'll be glad you did!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Aunty Annie from Wauchope, NSW

Relaxo Rancho!

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Pros: Location a little remote, wasn't too crowded during my stay and the amazing musicians who played in lobby most evenings.
Cons: Leave room alone - even lanai furniture gets moved back?Don't need fresh towels EVERY day. Free parking if not using valet.Fresh milk in fridge.
Location: Plenty of tourist attractions if you like. I drove around whole island and explored. I didn't do too much else, went there to relax by beach & pool!
Loved Mauna Lani. Would stay again! THE most comfortable bed in the world, I slept so well! Staff very lovely and accommodating - my room was made up every day which was like walking into the room for the first time, every time. Was surprised they changed towels every day ( there were enough in the room for me to tie them all together and leave my room like Rupunzel)! The views all spectacular, better than brochure, pool lovely and clean, although got too noisy at times with little people. Mainly ate at Bay Terrace for dining - delicious food and drinks and all staff attentive but not annoying. They have your name and your preferences down pat in an instant, which is nice. Had a rental car so could get around at will but was disappointing that you have to pay for parking whether you valet or not, for an outdoor carpark. They provide coffee maker in room but little for tea drinkers. Guess you can only ask for tea & milk etc. but it is frustrating having to. Local shops have pretty good range, is walking distance, but hotel also has a shuttle bus to drop off and pick you up which is handy. Didn't use gym or spa. Beach staff very helpful and furniture in good condition for lazy day by the beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by PiPPo from Italy

Wonderful hotel in a perfect position

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: Location, the beach was very nice and relaxing. Room, it was big and clean.
The hotel is situated not too far from the KONA AIRPORT. It is a very big resort, offering all kind of relaxing activities. The beach is perfect and the water is very clean. The room was big and comfortable. The resort has a golf course, in addition to that it has shops and restaurants, however it is not far from other local restaurants that you can find in the Big Island. We took only one night so we didn't manage to do a lot of things, but the hotel can keep you busy and relaxed for a few days (several activities are organized by the hotel). If I'll go back to the Big Island I'll stay for sure in this hotel once more.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Glenn & Liz from SF Bay Area

Interesting People & Whales Too!

Posted Mar 4, 2014
Pros: Very well-trained staff, so service is consistent in every area at any time of day. Staff is empowered to make policy decisions on the spot.
Cons: Move it a little closer to California, so the flight isn't 5 hours. Seriously, I have no complaints.
Location: Kona side of the Big Island offers limited opportunities beyond the developed resorts, but a short drive gets you to a varied array of activities.
We planned to use the hotel as a base of operations for off-site activities, but ended up hurrying back from excursions to hang out with the many interesting guests we met at the poolside bar and adjacent restaurant. The staff are expert in fostering conversations which are entertaining and informative without being opinionated. Many guests are long-time returnees and the staff knows them by name and interests, so they can be social catalysts. We had repeated "small world" revelations with only one or two degrees of separation. It was amazing! The setting is perfect and the accommodations everything you would expect. The food is excellent in each of the many venues. We even found our best snorkeling on the property! And the whale activity, easily visible just offshore, was an added bonus. We will return and become another of the "regulars".
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Don from Portland, Or

Wonderful hotel on the beach with swimming pool

Posted Feb 21, 2014
Pros: See the above
Cons: Can't think of anything
Location: Trip to Mauna Kea to see sunset at the summit at 13,00 feet and the stars at 9000. Volcano national park. 4 good restaurants a 5 minute drive
Marvelous location, right on the beach, separate entirely from other properties. Grand restaurant also on the beach with included luscious buffet breakfast. Large rooms, almost all looking out over the water, all with lanai.Large swimming pool and three just completed hot tubs. Spa with large workout room included, short walk away.Good snorkeling from the beach. Staff uniformly pleasant sand cheerful. We have travelled all over the world and this is one of the most complete , enjoyable and relaxing hotels we have ever stayed in!! It is somewhat expensive - about $500 daily including the Hawaii taxes.