Ratings based on 679 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Paso Robles California

superb location

Posted Dec 12, 2014
nice location however the mattress should have been replaced it was so bad I got a back pain it took me two days after coming home for my back to be ok.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Dallas, TX

Excellent hotel and resort

Posted Dec 5, 2014
A beautiful hotel resort right on the beach with friendly staff. The rooms were spacious, clean and little details were well thought. The beach was a great place to snorkel. The nearby beach club, 10 mins walk along the beach, or a free shuttle ride,was a better snorkeling place with some colorful corals. The towels, paddle boards for the kids, snorkel gear were all free. The beach visits ended with a visit to the hot tub, then over to the bar for some Mai Tais. My wife spent an evening at one of the hammocks on the beach. We also took a bike (free ride in the evening around the beautiful golf course. Don't skip and the historic site hike next to the hotel. The short 10 min hike is next to a lava tube (collapsed) and We could also get into a cave where pre-historic family lived. Breakfast was good but pricey, but so are other hotels around here. We mostly ate out at the Waikoloa village or the mall area. Overall, we had no complaints with the place and were sad to leave after 4 days.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Santa Barbara

FALLEN ON HARD TIMES

Posted Dec 5, 2014
Pros: beach
Cons: service, restaurants, attitude of the night check in personnel
Disappointing experience at the Mauna Lani which is a shadow the great hotel I had stayed at twenty years previously. We checked in late at night and found all restaurants closed and room service only providing cold food. The front desk suggested we drive to the nearby supermarket and buy food there. In the end we managed to get a pizza at the strange hotel bar, half coffee shop, half bar but the barman was jovial if somewhat casually dressed. We checked out the next morning and moved to the Mauna Kea nearby. I have to commend both the Mauna Lani manager and Expedia for refunding us our unused prepaid nights very expeditiously. The Mauna Kea is a step above the Lani but there is quite a price difference.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Washington DC

Paradise on earth

Posted Nov 30, 2014
Pros: Liked everything!
Cons: Food menu at the pool bar could be improved to add more healthy and elegant options.
Location: The green sand beach is a must!
My husband and I spent our 10 days dream vacation in Mauna Lani Bay Hotel in November 2014. I am a very picky customer. However, there is not much to say here. Everything was excellent. Spotless clean large room. Even though we went for the cheapest mountain view, we have not been disappointed at all, the view was fantastic. I would say that any view from this hotel would be fantastic. The hotel staff was courteous and helpful, and (which was important for my full relaxation) not annoying offering their service. The beach and pool area were also very clean and cozy. Cocktails at the pool bar are very tasty and so strong, that you wont need a second one:-). The food at "The Canoe house" restaurant located at the hotel was outstanding. There are also plenty of dining options near by. We would highly recommend "The Blue Dragon"- a night club type restaurant with great food and entertainment, located about 10 miles north from the hotel and the "Fish Hopper" restaurant in Kona. There is also a nice shopping center within walking distance from the hotel. I have to emphasize, that the resort is located such that the weather at the resort is always excellent regardless of the fact that it may be cold and raining within just 10 miles from the resort. Highly recommend!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom tokyo

最高のバケーション

Posted Nov 30, 2014
Pros: 清潔感、開放感、立地
Cons: 客室のトイレが日本式のトイレのように快適だとより嬉しいと思う
Location: 施設内にあるフィッシュポイントなど
こちらのホテルで家族だけの結婚式をあげました。一生の思い出になるとても素敵な式になりました。スタッフの方の対応はとても親切で丁寧で心地よく、ホテルは古いですが、リニューアルされていたり、修繕がされていたり、毎日隅々まで掃除がされているので、とても清潔感があり快適にすごす事ができました。 いくつかあるプールも温水で日中でも夜でも入る事ができ、またすぐ目の前に広がるプライベートビーチもベットやパラソル、ハンモックが用意されており、毎日快適に使う事ができました。一番狭いツインルームでもかなりゆったりした広さがありました。広大な敷地内には、スパや運動施設、観光名所もたくさんあり、フロントでレンタルできる自転車を利用して、楽しく事ができるので、退屈することもなく、また時計も見ず、毎日太陽と月とともにすごせる心身ともにリラックスできるバケーションを過ごすことができるホテルでした。またぜひ滞在したいとおもいます。
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 30, 2014
Great time, every single employee we encountered was fantastic. I felt guilty for being so waited on! Would reccomend to anyone I liked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle

Great place for a family of 4

Posted Nov 29, 2014
Young girls ages 7 and 9 swam and swam. Great facilities, super nice staff, and easy living. First time on the big island; more arid than we thought, but good news is the weather was 85 everyday. Grocery close for snacks/breakfast food. Tommy Bahamas was better than we thought, Monstera was great. And the Mauna Lani breakfast and lunches were good too. We will be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom CA

Amazing experience

Posted Nov 26, 2014
Pros: Beach
Location: Free snorkel with Activity package
Room was fine. Beach was Awesome. Food was pricey but decent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom co

Great family or couples get away

Posted Nov 25, 2014
Family friendly and if you're without children, very romantic. Super beaches close by.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom yellowknife

Beautiful property, pricey food

Posted Nov 25, 2014
Pros: Grounds, spa, fitness centre, room with lanai, historic foot paths
Cons: lower price of food
Location: Mauna Kea visitor information centre (45-minute drive) Dining in Kawaihae, macadamia nut tour in Kawaihae, Puukohola Heiau historic site
Amazing property with tropical fish ponds and turtles. Beach was calm (protected by a reef) and saw many tropical fish while snorkelling in four feet of water. Atrium was amazing. Food was good at Canoe House. We spent a lot of money on food at the coffee shop and pool restaurant ($30-40 for lunch alone). Food was not worth that price. The hotel offers many activities and fitness classes for a nominal fee. Fitness centre and spa are beautiful and well equipped.