Ratings based on 2,565 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Spring Break vacation

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: The view from the resort.
Location: Dinning, Lagoon, Sunset Views
The Hotel location is very nice and close to all the dining places. We were a little disappointed as the resort swimming pool was under maintanice and we got to use it only on the last day of your stay. But the overall stay was good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Honolulu, HI

Good location and nice hotel.

Posted Apr 10, 2015
Pros: Good location in Kailua-Kona and nice hotel. Would stay again in future. Thank you.
Location: Close to Kailua-Kona town and shops so very convenient.
Check-in person very friendly. Nice hotel room and comfortable. Called for assistance with clogged bathtub drain and someone came right away to unclog the drain. Great service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Pleasanton California

Was there for a wedding and hotel stay beautiful!

Posted Apr 9, 2015
Pros: The views and hotel staff
Cons: Carpet could be cleaner on the patio
Location: Swimming with Manta rays, shopping, dining,
I stayed here and the room was clean great views, hotel bar awesome for sunsets-weddings here are the most amazing ever!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver,BC.Canada

Alii Tower#619 was a great room

Posted Apr 9, 2015
Pros: Location,view,staff,everything
Cons: Insulation of doors and windows
Location: Lots of restaurants and shops near by. Snorkelling rental there too.Sea walk to a good distance.
Great location,very nice staff.Spacious room.View to the evening entertainment/Luau/ from the balcony. It was very loud sometimes,we couldn't hear the tv due to bad insulation of the doors.All night we could hear the waves splashing to the rocks.Was that bad? It's depend on your taste.We were out from the room most of the time. Housekeeping was always there,even we requested different pillow and we got it in few minutes.Same happened with a blanket.The pool was under renovation but finished it in few days.Definitely recommended this place!Very comfortable bed,good shower flow.Great place to stay.Self parking was close by.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sacramento ,CA

Ocean front facility

Posted Apr 9, 2015
Pros: Location, ocean front, and view.
Cons: updating rooms
Location: lots restaurants and convenient shops nearby, farmer market (Tues to Sunday) is less 1/2 mile away.
We got ocean view from our room was super nice especially sunset. The ground are nicely manicured and decorated BUT rooms could use some upgrade!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Central CA

Spring break gateway

Posted Apr 9, 2015
Pros: Location and all accommodations are great !
Cons: I understand things need to be fixed periodically, but please choose time to repair the pool during real winter when not so many tourists.
Location: Trolley for city tour. Numerous activity desk with staff to do. Definitely Luau.
My daughter (teen, imagine how hard to please) and I had wonderful 8 days long stay at the hotel. I am glad I have chosen Royal Kona Resort despite some negative reviews. Located in 10 minutes from stores (ABC), ocean access (15 min walk) , numerous restaurants. City Trolley stops in 5 minutes walking distance (2 $ per person) - take a full 2 hours "cruise" around the town or go to Walmart , farmers market or Macy's for own shopping. Just keep in mind – room does not have microwave and utensils (bring your own). We booked partial ocean view room and that was great. However, hotel has "garden" or street view rooms that is not so fancy. I realize you are not going to stay n your room all day, however, ocean sounds much more soothing than parking lot sounds. Upon check out you can leave your luggage in storage room and browse the town, also hotel allows you to use their hospitality room (free of charge) for an hour after you already checked out - take quick shower, change, re-pack, etc. Just make sure to ask for it day before leaving. Room is very clean, plenty of towels. Hotel has pool towels as well. The only minus of our stay (and I knew about ahead of time but took a chance) – pool was closed for a week for repair. However, we used private ocean laguna (rocks/lava to enter – bring your swimming shoes) or walk to the public ocean access. Easy to get a taxi, but honestly – you don’t need it since there is public transport (ask for schedule at the lobby) or simple walk to get
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle, WA. USA

Great Place

Posted Apr 8, 2015
Pros: See above.
Cons: Minor stuff.... not really an issue unless your super picky. Small time stuff... shower caulking?
Location: Excellent food nearby, shopping nearby, attractions and tours nearby... ect...
Despite the 3.9 rating, I give it a high five and a thumbs up! I would choose to stay there again if I ever return to Kona. It is fantastic, excellent location, nostalgic charm, VERY helpful staff, gorgeous ocean view even in the "partial ocean view" we stayed in. I will be recommending The Royal Kona Resort to anyone I hear mentioning the idea of going to the big island.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Hilo, HI

No working pool

Posted Apr 7, 2015
The pool was under reconstruction and that was the main reason I picked this hotel. I came from the other side of the Island for 2 nights. I feel the web site should have at least mentioned the pool was out of order.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 5, 2015
Beautiful location and grounds. Older hotel, but very well maintained. The swimming lagoon was very nice.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 3, 2015
it was nice,nothing special it is close to everything in kona