Ratings based on 2,071 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mount Clare WV

So beautiful

Posted Oct 2, 2014
Pros: The beauty.
Cons: Not a thing.
Me and my sister had a wonderful time on the big Island of Hawaii. I did everything around the Ocean. My sister did the tours around the island. The Royal Kona Resort couldn't had been anymore beautiful than it was. The worst part was leaving.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Huntington Beach

Nice hotel close to beach, shopping & eating out

Posted Sep 28, 2014
Pros: same as above
Location: All tours for different activities are within walking distance to board.
Comfortable, clean, within walking distance of everything (shopping & restaurants). Bar area over looking the water (good place to watch the sunset)
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Just OK

Posted Sep 25, 2014
The location was awesome, probably couldn't be better if staying in downtown Kona and looking to get around, but the hotel was kind of... Dingy. I'm not terribly high maintenance, but the room felt old and dirty. Might just be the kind of old you really can't get to feel clean? Could use a facelift.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Good facility right on the ocean

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Pros: The setting was great.
Cons: Wait at front desk was often long.
Location: Close to town with lots to do.
We really liked all the different places there were on the hotel grounds, pool, salt water lagoon, gardens, lots of areas to sit and enjoy the ocean.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location and views

Posted Sep 22, 2014
We upgraded to an ocean view room which was just brilliant! The balcony was great. The location was good - about a 5 minute stroll to the nearest shops and about 10 minutes to the main town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Thomas, OK

Beautiful location; fair price

Posted Sep 20, 2014
Absolutely LOVED the hotel location. We had a ocean view room & what a spectacular view it was to wake up to every morning!! Hotel staff was super friendly and were very good about having the room clean and ready for us every day after we would get back from our day trips. The only complaint I have is the uncomfortable beds. If you like your mattress super firm, then this is right up your alley. My wife and I did not. We were both hurting bad enough by around 5-7 am every morning that we could no longer sleep. It worked in our favor, with everything that we had planned, that we weren't sleeping in. But was still hoping for a little more comfort with such nice hotel. Other than that, was very pleased overall with our stay. Though, if making another trip to the same island, we'll probably see about booking a different hotel on account of the beds.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Hawaiian Jewel!

Posted Sep 19, 2014
This is a resort that makes you feel like you are in hawaii, not like you Are in a boutique hotel. We fell in love with this place because Of its charm. There was a hot water issue but they attended to it When we notified them of it. If you like to listen to the surf crash on the rocks while you eat and sleep keep this place in mind. If you are looking for hawaii this is it!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 16, 2014
It was very bad. The room was not clean and are not friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Two nights on Kona

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Pros: Location and views
Excellent location with stunning sea views.Many activities and restaurants nearby to cater for most needs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Nice hotel with sea views

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Pros: Location, room size and sea view (not expected).
Cons: Plates, cutlery and wine glasses in room.
We booked a room electing not to pay the extra for sea views but did get great view if the setting sun. Room was comfortable but the kitchen area lacked basic crockery, cutlery and wine glasses.