Ratings based on 586 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from nyc

Very nice hotel, beautiful view.

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Pros: Far away enough from the other hotels. But close enough to get to beach and restaurants
Cons: Paint the resort a different color. Tan color a little to dull.
Location: Everything was accessible if you had a car. Which I did . I loved the location.
My wife and I were very happy here. Excellent staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

not that close

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: the view
Cons: es
Location: the location is kind of far from the town, rent a car if you stay here
good experience
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Good View from the Hotel. Nice experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Had a great time

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Pros: Beautiful grounds, comfortable rooms, great pool, trolley to town, friendly staff, green program. Manta rays at Rays on the Bay.
Cons: Lower resort fee. More attentive restruant staff. Cheaper food. Better restruant hours. Don't put holds on credit cards.
Location: About a 15 min drive from town. Close to Keahou Bay for snorkle, kayak, dolphins, mantas. Farmers market and luau.
Stayed at the Sheraton Kona for two weeks in August 2014. The grounds are beautiful and well maintained and the pool is spectacular. Overall, staff was friendly and helpful, but restruant staff need to be more attentive. Food at the hotel is pricey. The green program is a great idea and a good way to save some money. Hotel is nice but far from town. Resort fee too steep.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hawaii

Happy 13th Roxie*

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Family had a super time. Kids really enjoyed the game room and all it had to offer.Great memories Thank you Chris the vallet Mike at the pool bar and Victoria at the front desk also Troy for helping with our room keys.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

SHERATON KONA

Posted Aug 16, 2014
We had a nice time at the Sheraton, although we where not there a lot, I think even though our stay was short it would have been nice just hang out at.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Piedmont, CA

Good hotel, wish it had a beach

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Location: Hotel is located about 10 minutes from Kona. There is a nearby shopping center with everything you need. Hotel rents bikes, kayaks and other things.
We are SPG members, so I believe that our rooms were probably bigger and more newly renovated than the rest of the hotel. It looked like they had a separate wing for SPG members. We had a double oceanfront room and it was quite nice. Plenty of room, small refrigerator which worked well, lots of dresser and closet space. Loved Ray's on the Bay. I have noted some mediocre reviews, but I think this may be from people not used to the cost at hotel restaurants. We thought the food was excellent at Ray's and the view could not be beat. Definitely book for a table before sunset. Music was also surprisingly excellent. The hotel pool was good. One part is basically inside the structure of the buildings, so mostly shady. The other was in front so it was always sunny, so you could choose which you wanted. Never a problem finding a chair. Kids loved the slide. All in all, highly recommended.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NYC

Terrible place - avoid

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Pros: Manta rays
Cons: Start with sound-proofing the rooms, removing all the LED lights, fix the internet. Cancel parking and resort fees & improve dining options.
Worst branded hotel that we've stayed in for over a decade and we had immediate comparisons with 10 other Sheraton, Crowne Plaza, Holiday Inns & Hiltons on this trip. It's a huge 1980s resort hotel in major need of renovation. Rooms were noisy due to large gaps under the doors, full of light (from non-working internet router & super bright TV and aircon LEDS). Food was dire with slow, overly-friendly "service" and limited food options (although we couldn't even get a meal when we arrived on our first night as one restaurant was closed and the other booked up). And the resort and parking fees are totally unjustifiable. The only positive is watching the manta rays feeding at night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Perfect hotel lots to do, staff was friendly and large water slide right next to ocean. My room was spacious with a private balcony overlooking the mountian. Only complaint is the walls were very thin.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Don't stay here

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Pros: Absolutely nothing (except the bed was nice)
Cons: Room quality for sure. Needs a complete renovation.
Location: Not much. Had to drive 15 minutes to Kona for decent restaurants.
Room quality terrible,old, outdated and the ceiling dripped on our heads in bathroom. Slider very difficult to open/close. Twice out of three times no pool towels available. Always told maybe in an hour or so until some available. Apparently guests were allowed pool visitors with a lot of profanity being said as well as small children eating in or near the pool water. Air conditioning never got below 75 even if we set it lower. The elevators took forever to get to you. One positive was the bed was super comfortable. I won't stay here or probably at another Sheraton again. We pre-paid for this room for a week and left after 3 days. Never offered any money back.