Ratings based on 527 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

It is a nice without sand beach hotel

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Personals, Cleanness, Pools
Cons: Access to water
Location: Location is fantastic and there is a mall very close but not walking mall, it's almost 1 mile away.
Every My Family (My wife, my daughter and I) have been in this hotel for 9 night on July 2014, everything is 4 star but the hotel does not have any useful beach to sit and get relax on it! It's so strange being in an almost 5 star hotel without any beach around, which you could have touched water. So, in order to just touching water you need to use CAR ! :(
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 21, 2014
If your looking for a romantic getaway, this not the place. There are tons of kids running around jumping in and out of the hotel tub from 8 am to 8 pm.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hidden fees

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: The pool
Cons: Prices
Paid for hotel through Expedia. Sheritan has a 30 dollar fee for internet use, yoga and the use of their parking lot, whether you like it or not. They don't ask if you need parking or if you want to do yoga, you just getted charged for it. And for the prices they charge, you should not have to pay any add'l fees for parking and internet use. Yoga classes are not everyday. I don't feel that there should be a 30 charge for services you do not use. No beach access. Stay was very disappointing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alberta, Canada

Quiet & Relaxing

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: The pool is beautiful and pretty big. Rooms were comfortable.
Cons: Not much for purchasing snacks during the night in the area. Not a lot of options for breakfast. A small convience store would have been great.
Location: It is a distance away from the main area of Kona but it does have a Trolley. The trolley comes around just over and hour.
Beautiful Property! Manta Rays were a highlight at night watching them from Rays on the Bay. Very relaxing!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Not great but not bad a little dated. Game room needs to be revamped.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kauai, Hawaii

OK but disapointing.

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: The night time bar area atmosphere and view of the ocean. However, you have to know that Mantaray's don't come every night.
Cons: For the price of a average resort, it should have a free continental breakfast.
Location: Absolutely do not leave the island without driving to the top of Mauna Kea and WATCH THE SUNSET AT 14,000 FEET. You don't need 4x4, but be safe.
For a resort it wasn't what I expected. The overall major things were there of course, like big pool, great ocean view but as a big resort some of the details were missing. In my opinion a continental breakfast is free and they never mention a price so be warned that there is no free breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

A good base to explore the Big Island

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: Kona coffee in room, the in-room mini-fridge, quiet air conditioning in the room and the view at sunset.
Cons: Self parking closer to hotel, too much valet parking not being used. Soft close doors on rooms to stop the noise of them being banged shut.
If you are looking for a lively hotel close to shops, restaurants and bars, this place is not the place for you. What it does deliver is a good base for exploring the island a short drive from numerous beaches, restaurants and shops. There is a bar and restaurant on site but they close at 10pm, hence this not being a lively hotel. Our hotel room was clean, comfortable and adequate for our needs, especially with the mini-fridge, as you can stock up on your favourite tipple if you want to drink past 10pm. We opted for a mountain view room, I was pleased that we did, as it was in a quiet location not directly overlooking the pool or the restaurant/ bar which I think could be a little noisy due to the hotel being family friendly, although the waterslide in the pool is for children and adults alike. The Manta Ray watching in the evening was a little misleading as you can't really see the Manta Rays from the hotel as they are feeding underwater too far away, you would need to be out on the sea to get a good look. The setting for the hotel is very picturesque, don't let the ugliness of the building put you off from staying in this hotel, the staff were friendly and polite and our stay on this island was very pleasant indeed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from washington state

Beautiful location. Hotel grounds were gorgeous!!!

Posted Jul 14, 2014
The location is beautiful . The staff was very friendly and helpful. We had beautiful ocean views and mountain views from our room. The Hotel was not too far from town, but just far enough to not be contested .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Nice and quiet...

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Nice resort to bring the family but need to be updated.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Great location and beautiful grounds and surrounds

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: The views and grounds
Cons: The housekeeping could have been better, one day the rubbish was not removed and bottled water which is included in the fee was not left on 3 days
Location: Locations is a bit out of town but shuttle bus available from hotel.
The grounds and views are beautiful. Great pool and relaxing spaces. We liked that the hotel was in a quiet area. The restaurant was nice with good food and with great sunsets and views. It was great to heave the trolley bus from the hotel to get around. The resort fee of $30 a day is misleading and the price of the room should be advertised up front.