Ratings based on 42 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from West Hollywood

Do Not Stay Here unless you've run out of options

Posted Aug 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
The place was hard to find, practically impossible in the dark. Our host was not terribly welcxoming and when asked questions about the area referred me to the guest book. The room was tiny, the bed was lumpy, and the noise from the upstairs plumbing made it sound as though there was a waterfall in the room every time the person upstairs flushed a toilet.The breakfast was adequate but there was margarine instead of butter. Luckily we didn't have to share the shared bathroom as it was tiny. The place was somewhat shabby but clean. It was passable for one night but I definitely don't recommend it. For a little more you can do better in the same area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Laura from San Diego

Cabin experience near volcano

Posted Jul 28, 2013
Location: We enjoyed the café in town with casual food and live music. The Sunday farmer's market runs 6a-9a and has friendly local vendors.
My husband, two teenaged daughters and I stayed at the wooded Inn recently and had the upstairs room, a large loft and private bathroom that could have slept 5....it was perfect for a family. We were met by the caretaker who gave us a happy greeting, eating suggestions and info about the Sunday street market. We never saw the other guests and we felt like we had the entire house to ourselves. Great location to enjoy the volcano.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Martin from North Carolina

Rainforest Gem

Posted Jul 23, 2013
Pros: Proximity to Volcanoes National Park
Location: Less than 5 minutes to the Volcanoes Natl Park.
Perfect little B&B for a stay on the Big Island. Tucked away in the rainforest with ferns the size of trees, this place is ideal for anyone touring/visiting Volcanoes Natl. Park. We had the upstairs suite and it was perfect for our family of 4. We had our own bathroom, a futon bed for each teen and a queen in our separate bedroom. The morning breakfast was adequate and the coffee was fantastic!! I'd stay there again without hesitation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by HT

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by M Kuck from Cologne, Germany

Perfect stay

Posted May 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
Perfectly located close to Volcano NP. Clean room, very good breakfast and individual service. Breakfast was provided on our request at 3.30 AM! Free internet. Very helpful hosts!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Peter

A real hidden gem!

Posted May 2, 2013
Pros: Clean, charming and friendly.
Cons: Don't change a thing. Easy-going folks will be delighted. High-maintenance travelers should probably pay twice the price at the Kilauea Lodge.
Location: Kilauea, of course!
Absolutely beautiful surroundings - ferns, orchids, and high altitude tropical forest, make this setting idyllic and fanciful. A knotty-pine, two-story cabin set in the quiet residential area makes for a restful evening at this busy B&B Volcano area. The usual amenities - bedroom, shared bathroom, free WiFi, and continental breakfast - were more than adequate. Fireplace, snacks and TV are in the main lobby, which has a living-room feel. Plenty of tranquil places to read or meditate. Books and magazines are thoughtfully placed throughtout the house. Fritz, the proprietor, greeted us warmly by our first names, as if he were anxious to meet us. He was very friendly and helpful with area sites (e.i., Kilauea) and restaurants. Flashlights and bottled water are readily available in each room for nighttime viewing of Kilauea. There were, however, lots of squeaks of floorboards and plumbing sounds that were heard in the Ginger Room, which either added to the charm of this well-built house - or woke you up briefly at night. So, if given a choice, take the second floor rooms. Only stayed one night, but would have enjoyed 2 or 3 more days in this beautiful place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dan from Washington, DC

Good basic B&B close to Volcano Park

Posted Mar 7, 2013
Pros: location
Cons: all was well - just don't have expectation for a cute B&B with a posh breakfast
This is a pretty basic B&B arrangment in a residential neighborhood that is perhaps 10 minutes from Volcano National park. It is basically a log cabin type residence where the host greets you and sets yoyu up in the room and then presents a basic breakfast the next day. The place by itself is well maintained and clean and there are plenty of towels etc for use in the bath. No complaints here - - good place at good price in an area where there really aren't a lot of lodging options.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by David

B and B set up in Volcano land

Posted Mar 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
Stayed in the ginger room. A bit dusty but we were tired from adventuring through the park and the smell of cedar in the house was amazing. Fritz, one of the owners, met us, it was simple. Complimentary water and a great breakfast of fruit, toast, coffee and tea. The living room w tv and fireplace is available for guest use. Loved this place, hope to return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Convenient location to Volcano

Posted Feb 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
Friendly owners. Accomodations were great. The only issue was that because the place is heated with a wood burning stove, it had a strong smell of campfire inside.