Ratings based on 60 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Las Vegas

Very nice cottage near Volcano Nat. Park

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Pros: It is very quaint and in very big forest.
The cottage is very cozy with everything you would ever need for breakfast or a quick lunch. You were so near an active volcano, you though you could feel the heat. Five minutes from the Park entrance. At night you are only ten minutes from watching the glow of the volcano.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Ruthfrom USA

Cute cottage in a good location

Posted Jan 13, 2015 on Hotels.com
We enjoyed our stay at the Artist Cottage. Good location - close to Hilo, VERY close to the Volcano Nat. Park, and 2 hours drive to Kona (with lots to see on the way!). If you are a clean freak, this is probably not the place for you. It's like staying in someone's house, which is different than a generic hotel room. It is neat and clean, as long as you don't look in all the nooks and crannies! All in all, we really enjoyed our stay here! Lovely location, extra amenities like slippers, bathrobes, refrigerator stocked with breakfast foods, and the gas fireplace was much appreciated too!
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Dirty

Posted Dec 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Was very very dirty
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York, NY

Great Experience Near Volcano National Park

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Pros: The fact that it was the antithesis of a hotel. The Cottage looks exactly as pictured on the website.
Cons: There is a TV in the bedroom. It would have been nice to have one in the livingroom.
Location: HVNP is less than 10 minutes away. The town of Volcano is very tiny and even closer. Kilauea Lodge is worthwhile for dinner. Skip Volcano House.
After more than a week in hotels having an actual cottage with a fully stocked kitchen and spacious bathroom was such a relief. It's very convenient to Hawaii Volcano National Park and the town of Volcano. The owners, Bob and Bonnie, were extremely welcoming and warm. There's free WiFi and a washer dryer, which was a lifesaver. All toiletries that you either forgot to take or couldn't take. The kitchen has every type of breakfast imaginable, including cereals, eggs, fresh fruit, milk, coffee, tea, orange juice. This area of Hawaii can be cold and rainy. The Cottage has an assortment of sweaters and jackets to borrow. Don't buy any supplies before you see the place. It's probably already there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Fantastic

Posted Jul 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
What a great place to stay! Comfy and cozy and close to all volcano sites and short drive to Hilo. Hosts were extremely welcoming and gracious. Would definitely go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Simone Chiabaifrom Miami, Fl

Very Pleasant Stay

Posted Jun 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
My Daughter and I thought we were staying in a hotel with a cute name ''Artist Cottage'' it turned out it's a very nice cottage, very clean, with everything you need(food, drinks,coffee, nice music, fire place etc). Very close to the Volcano National Park and very very peaceful. They also have a carport which it was very convenient . It felt like we were staying at a friend's home. We were very Happy! Perfect! Boni was very nice. Thank you!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Oak GEEfrom Oakland CA

Charming cottage and hosts!

Posted May 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed for two night, would have enjoyed another week. Bonnie and Bob were perfect hosts, close enough to contact if we needed them but left us our privacy. The cottage is lovely with everything you could imagine to care for ourselves before and after our daily adventures. It's very close to Volcanos National Park and several good restaurants. Blissfully quiet and peaceful!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Which "Artist Cottages? "

Posted Apr 22, 2014
Greeted by a friendly hostess who explained everything and pointed out the abundance of food stocked we knew immediately we could not stay there so left to find new accommodations. Volcano is not an easy place to navigate. Hard street locations, no lighting and a somewhat isolated housing pattern all contribute.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 6, 2014 on Hotels.com