Ratings based on 63 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Very nice cottage near Volcano Nat. Park

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Pros: It is very quaint and in very big forest.
The cottage is very cozy with everything you would ever need for breakfast or a quick lunch. You were so near an active volcano, you though you could feel the heat. Five minutes from the Park entrance. At night you are only ten minutes from watching the glow of the volcano.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Julie from Irvine

Nice folks

Posted Apr 12, 2015 on Hotels
Pleasant stay. I enjoyed listening to the rain on the cabin roof overnight. It was a great location near Volcano National Park. Good advice on our arrival - to go see the lava glow that we would've ohterwose missed. They were accommodating of our two children and even brought over homemade cookies! If you're looking for resort or business-class chain hotel, this is not for you. if you're looking to hike around the volcanoes, see some cool art, and stay in more comfortable accommodations than a national park with the rest of your family, this fits the bill nicely.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Das B&B ist auf einem absteigen Ast

Posted Feb 28, 2015 on Hotels
Bei dem B&B bei Bonnie und Bob handelt es sich um ein freistehends Haus (Condo). Wir waren 3 Nächte dort. Wir waren erstaunt zu erfahren das wir unser Frühstück selber machen mußten, bei einem B&B erwarte ich normalerweise ein Frühstück serviert zu bekommen. Dafür war der Kühlschrank sehr voll mit Lebensmitteln, leider auch teilweise schon abgelaufen. Es gibt keine Spülmaschine, so muß man das Frühstücksgeschirr auch noch selber spülen. Kinder kosten 20 USD zusätzlich pro Kind/Nacht. Volcano war sehr kühl (63F), erst am 2ten Abdend hat Bob uns des Gasofen angemacht. Sonst friert man heftig, zweimal kam auch kein warmes Wasser zum duschen. Bonnie hat uns sehr herzlich begrüßt und auch verabschiedet da kann man sich nicht beschweren, leider ist das Haus und auch die Vermieter schon etwas älter ggf. liegt es daran das die Unterkunft nicht so sauber war. Messer oder Geschirr waren teilweise schmutzig, staubig und im Haus roch es muffig. Das Haus ist schön und liebevoll eingerichtet es gibt auch sehr viele nütliche Dinge im Haus, doch leider ist das Objekt auf einem absteigen Ast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Ruth from USA

Cute cottage in a good location

Posted Jan 13, 2015 on Hotels
We enjoyed our stay at the Artist Cottage. Good location - close to Hilo, VERY close to the Volcano Nat. Park, and 2 hours drive to Kona (with lots to see on the way!). If you are a clean freak, this is probably not the place for you. It's like staying in someone's house, which is different than a generic hotel room. It is neat and clean, as long as you don't look in all the nooks and crannies! All in all, we really enjoyed our stay here! Lovely location, extra amenities like slippers, bathrobes, refrigerator stocked with breakfast foods, and the gas fireplace was much appreciated too!
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Dirty

Posted Dec 28, 2014 on Hotels
Was very very dirty
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Great Experience Near Volcano National Park

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Pros: The fact that it was the antithesis of a hotel. The Cottage looks exactly as pictured on the website.
Cons: There is a TV in the bedroom. It would have been nice to have one in the livingroom.
Location: HVNP is less than 10 minutes away. The town of Volcano is very tiny and even closer. Kilauea Lodge is worthwhile for dinner. Skip Volcano House.
After more than a week in hotels having an actual cottage with a fully stocked kitchen and spacious bathroom was such a relief. It's very convenient to Hawaii Volcano National Park and the town of Volcano. The owners, Bob and Bonnie, were extremely welcoming and warm. There's free WiFi and a washer dryer, which was a lifesaver. All toiletries that you either forgot to take or couldn't take. The kitchen has every type of breakfast imaginable, including cereals, eggs, fresh fruit, milk, coffee, tea, orange juice. This area of Hawaii can be cold and rainy. The Cottage has an assortment of sweaters and jackets to borrow. Don't buy any supplies before you see the place. It's probably already there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 18, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Fantastic

Posted Jul 21, 2014 on Hotels
What a great place to stay! Comfy and cozy and close to all volcano sites and short drive to Hilo. Hosts were extremely welcoming and gracious. Would definitely go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Simone Chiabai from Miami, Fl

Very Pleasant Stay

Posted Jun 2, 2014 on Hotels
My Daughter and I thought we were staying in a hotel with a cute name ''Artist Cottage'' it turned out it's a very nice cottage, very clean, with everything you need(food, drinks,coffee, nice music, fire place etc). Very close to the Volcano National Park and very very peaceful. They also have a carport which it was very convenient . It felt like we were staying at a friend's home. We were very Happy! Perfect! Boni was very nice. Thank you!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Oak GEE from Oakland CA

Charming cottage and hosts!

Posted May 25, 2014 on Hotels
We stayed for two night, would have enjoyed another week. Bonnie and Bob were perfect hosts, close enough to contact if we needed them but left us our privacy. The cottage is lovely with everything you could imagine to care for ourselves before and after our daily adventures. It's very close to Volcanos National Park and several good restaurants. Blissfully quiet and peaceful!