Ratings based on 830 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom mechanicsville

Beautiful hotel, nice location

Posted Jan 28, 2015
Pros: Expedia
Cons: Have a more affordable place to eat at the hotel.
Location: The hotel is about 1/2 way from everything so driving is a must to see the rest of the island. Black Sand Beach is beautiful - plan a visit there!
If you are looking for a 5 star hotel this is the place. This hotel offers a beautiful pool, secluded hot tub and fantastic spa. Right on the beach, you can easily snorkel and swim in a lagoon filled with sea life including the sea turtles. The only thing I didn't like about this was the prices for the food/beverage. You will easily spend $300+ a day in food if you only eat there. While that is OK sometimes, honestly the food wasn't that great for the price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Hawaii

Nice hotel for a wonderful weekend

Posted Jan 26, 2015
The Fairmont Orchids is my favorite hotel in Big Island. It is elegant and it has charm. The staff is super efficient, very kind and they spend a lot of attention to resolve your needs and requests. The property is amazing and the hotel is the best place to relax. Very nice room, super clean bathroom, a lot of attention on details. For sure, a hotel to visit again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom calgary

not long enough

Posted Jan 22, 2015
Pros: great facilities and staff food was amazing ... everything really
Location: close to shops tommy bahamas and truths chris ( not that you have to leave to eat)
took my family here for a nice little 4 day get away, and it certainly wasn't enough! we stayed on the gold floor and it was absolutely worth the price. stacy and the girls were fantastic a eager to fulfil every request! the beach , bars and food where perfect great servers
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom R

Great, balanced resort on the quiet Big Island

Posted Jan 21, 2015
Background, I've been on every island in Hawaii and stayed at almost every top resort in the state. First off, the Big Island is not my first choice (Maui or Kaui), but I'm not one that can sit in a resort all week. Morning excursions/sightseeing or golf/fishing, 11-5 at pool/beach, night out for great dinner and shopping...repeat....that's my ideal vacation. The Big Island lacks the variety of sights worth the drive, and everything 2 hrs plus away. Volcanos are cool (no you won't see lava, not allowed near it), the mountains are pretty, but you get bored of staring at an endless sea of lava fields. Hilo is a dump, don't bother the drive. The resort was the bright spot, Its smaller version of Grand Wailea. No where near the pool complex but it's decent, the cabanas are awesome, and the best wait staff for cabana/pool/beach loungers. Very attentive and kind. Also, the best valet service of any Hawaiian resort HANDS DOWN. Valet here, self parking is a walk and these guys are fast and awesome. The grounds are what reminded me of Wailea, very tropical, beautiful and lush, but here nothing is too far of a walk. Browns was best meal the whole week, Orchid Ct has killer breakfast buffet, avoid Noorios, every part of meal was bad. Spa was just ok but nice. Get room in north tower, south tower is blocked by trees, rooms are clean and tasteful. I was weary after an iffy stay at Maui's Fairmont KL, this property is far better in every way. Not the 4S but lot less money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco, CA

Nice Hotel, close to the beach

Posted Jan 8, 2015
Pros: The decor was comfortable and up-to-date.
Cons: The gardens were lovely, but being a gardner and appreciating flowers, the grounds, while lovely and well kept, could be improved with more flowers.
The Fairmont Orchid is an amazing hotel with tremendous views and a small, but lovely beach. The staff was wonderful and the service always fabulous. The rooms were just the right size and the views were awesome. Some of the downsides of the resort was the expense. I got the feeling that mostly people of wealth or those whose expenses were being paid by their companies were the majority of clients. On top of the already high priced rooms, a resort fee of $25 was added daily to pay for parking and internet and a few other amenities most hotels offer free. The restaurants were very nice, but very expensive. The breakfast buffet was lovely, but at $70 for two with tip, very costly for a middle-class income. The other restaurants were also lovely, but very expensive. In as much as The Fairmont Orchid is somewhat isolated from nearby towns and restaurants, one is compelled to make due with the Hotel Deli if you don't want a large Visa bill when you get home and don't want to drive for 15 minutes or more for something more moderately priced. While I loved the staff and the hotel, after a day or two of $200 or more for food, while appreciating the views of the blue green ocean, I was thinking of places and ways to reduce the added cost. If money is no object, The Orchid is for you. If you are on a budget, caveat emptor.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2015 by Fairmont Orchid, Hotel Management
Aloha! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back very soon!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Newport Beach, CA

Good hotel but needs updating

Posted Jan 8, 2015
I've stayed at the Fairmont Orchid three times now, with three stays at various other high-end hotels in Hawaii in the past twelve months. While I had a very high opinion of the Fairmont previously, I have to say that this third stay has made me realize that the Fairmont is in real need of updating. My chief complaints were that the room service food was always overcooked (until we made a point of it, after which time they got it right), an elevator near our room was out of service for five out of our seven day stay, they closed the only decent hot tub (leaving an overheated, out of the way hot tub), wifi was intermittent at best, and the building generally looks run down - there's a patchwork of paint from prior repairs, peeling paint all over, and a general power-wash needed. Fairmont Orchid still has a great location - you simply can't beat their lagoon - but in comparing it with other luxury hotels I'd now rank this as average. There are less expensive hotels with much more going on for kids, and there are equally priced hotels with much better facilities for adults. They need to re-open the old hot tub, freshen up the hotel throughout, and add new activities for both kids and adults to keep up with the competition.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 23, 2015 by Fairmont Orchid, Hotel Management
Aloha Heath, thank you for taking the time to post your review. It is concerning that your recent stay felt short of your expectations; please accept our sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced. We truly value your feedback, and appreciate your suggestions for ways we can improve. We strive to maintain the highest levels of service, and quality in all areas, and will continue to do so by enhancing our services and updating our facilities to ensure a superior experience for our guests. Thank you so much for choosing The Fairmont Orchid; I hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Staten Island, NY

Beautiful hotel. Well situated. Landscaping lovely

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Location: Able to go to Mauna Kea, about an hour and 20 minutes away. Rode to Waimea and various state sites along the way.
Water features in landscaping provides for auditory comfort and soothing sounds. Staff were happy and helpful. Spa amazing. Food terrific. What else can I say?
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 23, 2015 by Fairmont Orchid, Hotel Management
Aloha June, Mahalo for your kind review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and our beautiful island. We look forward to your next visit!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London UK

Excellent hotel close to the beach

Posted Dec 27, 2014
Pros: The location which was next to the beach and just about everything.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Close to Mauna Kea observatory 10,000 feet elevation
Staff were friendly and helpful throughout our stay. I have nothing negative to say we had a great time the hotel facilities were excellent as was our room. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone, they even put on a shuttle service to local restaurants.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 1, 2015 by Fairmont Orchid, Hotel Management
Aloha Karen, Mahalo for your kind review, we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the near future. Aloha!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Kona

CHRISTMAS

Posted Dec 27, 2014
We spent Christmas Eve & Christmas day at the Fairmont. The hotel was festive and the food was delicious. You couldn't ask for a better place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 1, 2015 by Fairmont Orchid, Hotel Management
Aloha Barbara, Mahalo for your kind review! We are delighted you choose to stay with us for the holidays and hope to welcome you back very soon! Mahalo!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Excellent Hotel - but expensive.

Posted Dec 26, 2014
Pros: Beds, decor, staff.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Beach, golf, relax.
Best hotel in the Big Island. Extremely kid friendly, with gorgeous architecture and decor.