Ratings based on 867 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Relaxing time

Posted May 21, 2015
Pros: Love the floating yoga class. The pool was wonderful as well. Hotel staff very friendly and helpful. Rooms clean and well appointed.
Cons: Weak Drinks.
Our stay was fabulous. Enjoyed the amenities and exploring the island.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Tokyo, Japan

期待以上でした

Posted May 16, 2015
記念日の旅行であることを事前にお伝えしたところ、初日の夕飯はレストランのオーシャンフロントの席を予約してくれていて、champagneとケーキのプレゼントというおもてなしをいただきました。 ホテルのプライベートビーチではアオウミガメと遭遇。夜は水際までマンタも来ました。 滞在中、日本語スタッフの方も親身に相談にのっていただきました。 最高の経験ができました。ありがとうございます。
4 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom niigata、japann

非日常を味わえる素敵なホテル!

Posted May 13, 2015
広大な敷地にプールの周りにコの字状に配置された素敵なホテルです。 スタッフは名前を覚えてラストネームで呼んでくれます。 客室&設備は特段すばらしい物ではありませんが、快適です。 宿泊したのは、クラブオーシャンでした。5泊しました。 6階で一番の高層です。眺望はすばらしいです。 毎日、最高の夕日が見られます。 日常の喧噪から逃れて大人のホテルライフを楽しむには最高のホテルと思っていましたが、 週末の土曜~日曜午前は、不快な時間となってしまいました。 若い子供連れの夫婦が多くプールサイドは喧噪にあふれていました。 最初は、アダルトオンリーなのかと思う位、50代以上の宿泊客ばかりでしたので静かでした。 このクラスでも子連れ客が多いのかとガッカリしました。 あと、若いラーパー風の三世帯(子供含め10人位)がプールサイドでうるさくて困りました。 私たちは早々に部屋に戻りましたが、ホテルはお客を選べないんですね。 次回は、フォーシージンズかなと思いました!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom North Yorkshire UK

A welcoming beach-side hotel

Posted May 6, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff, beautifully appointed, waterfalls and Koi pools in the grounds. Offer facilities to swim, snorkle, cabanas, massage, food and more.
Cons: Cost. The luxury that they offer comes with a high price tag and very little is included in the room charge, so even breakfast is an extra charge.
Location: Erupting lava, viewing the night sky through telescopes, sightseeing by helicopter, botanical gardens, island history geographically and culture
We chose to stay in this hotel for our golden wedding celebration. The experience lived up to our expectations and beyond. From the first welcome given to us after a long and tiring flight, throughout our two week stay to our leaving we have only praise for the hotel and its staff. We had chosen a garden room and these look out onto waterfalls, idyllic during daylight but too noisy for us to sleep by, so we requested a change our first morning and the front desk staff worked to find us suitable accommodation, letting us view rooms. The room we preferred was not immediately available so they moved us twice to give the best stay they could. Concierge staff helpfully guided us to tours that we felt we would like to undertake and each one of these proved to be really good value for money (see below). We had a hire car (highly recommended) and did our own exploring several days. The hotel put on a Lu’ua, giving the history of the islands in song, dance and tableau with foods from the original islands, we cannot rate this highly enough, it was amazing. Massage could be had in a variety of places and we chose a beach-side couples experience, very enjoyable. Hawaiian live music to dine with and dining in several different restaurants and cafes on site, although Browns was very expensive. Turtles come up on the beach to sleep and a specific light attracts a large manta ray in each evening to feed, drawing photographers. Our stay ended with a personal call from the hotel director.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2015 by The Fairmont Orchid Hawaii, Hotel Management
Aloha, and thank you very much for sharing details from your recent vacation at the Fairmont Orchid. We truly enjoyed reading your review and learning about your wonderful experiences both on and off the resort. We are truly delighted to know that your special anniversary celebration was memorable, and we hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco Bay area

Very nice, very expensive

Posted Apr 30, 2015
Pros: The room was spacious, well appointed, and very comfortable.
Cons: Chaise lounges around the pool need to be replaced. (Fairmont manager, go next door to Mauna Lani Hotel. They have really nice lounges)
Location: Rent a car, or spend a lot of dough on tours. Not much to see on the Kona side. It is a different world on the other side of the Island.
It is a very nice place. There is no "WOW" factor. The grounds are wide open grass areas. The pool is good size, but the sunbathing area around the pool has a couple of issues. There are not enough umbrellas for people to sit under, and the plastic strap chaises are old and worn. The cross bar under your rear is really uncomfortable. Everybody is constantly squirming around to try to find a soft spot. They definitely need to be replaced.The restaurants are good, but expensive, though, it is expensive everywhere on the island. Foodland Organic Grocery store is near by, and is a great place to buy daytime food and drink. The rooms are very nice. The beds were extremely comfortable. All of the staff is very nice, helpful, and pleasant. Would I recommend this hotel. Yes, because it is a Fairmont, and they have a high standard of service and accommodations. You pretty much know what your going to get. It wasn't my favorite Fairmont. We live in San Francisco and that is a beautiful Fairmont. I think if you go to the Orchid, you will have a wonderful time. Just bring a pile of money.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 8, 2015 by Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, Hotel Management
Aloha and thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at The Fairmont Orchid. It is disappointing that we did not entirely meet your expectations, but we very much appreciate your positive and constructive feedback, which will be used to improve. I do hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

落ち着きのあるホテル

Posted Apr 23, 2015
Pros: 全室セパレートシャワーになっている。防音効果が高い。ビーチが遊びやすい。大型ホテルではないので、騒がしくなくゆっくりとくつろげる。
Cons: 食事
Location: ホテルからのロケーションはとてもきれいです。特に夕日が。周辺の観光名所はマウナケアとキラウエア火山です。
巨大なホテルが増える中、規模も丁度よく、ゆっくりとくつろいで過ごせるホテルだと思いました。ビーチが入り江になっているので、強い波が来ることもなく、シュノーケリングで楽しい時間を過ごせました。部屋も全室セパレートシャワーになっていて、バスルーも広く使いやすいと思います。庭もきれいで、芝生の上を歩くと足に柔らかく、芝が当たってきます。 ただ、食事は正直美味しくなかったです。日本食のレストランは利用していないので、その店の味はわかりません。 でも、ハワイ島に滞在するのなら、また泊まりたいホテルです。
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco

Just another resort!

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Pros: We liked the breakfast terrace, we enjoyed the beach. House keeping was efficient and discreet. The hotel provided good quality soap and shampoo.
Location: The helicopter flight with Blue Hawaiien was outstanding !
We paid for a partial ocean view which should have been labelled garden view. The resort is fine but it doesn't have any charm and it could be anywhere. It doesn't make you feel in Hawaii. The buffet breakfast is overpriced: $32 per person ! So are the 2 restaurants. Our room was adequate and comfortable and the room cleaning was perfect. However, the room was very standard with nothing to make it special or memorable. Just a room in a big resort. As a couple on a honeymoon, this hotel did not fit us. The majority of the clientele were couples with children.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Fairmont Gold Reigns Again

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Pros: Nothing. It was the prefect balance between the pretentious Four Seasons and the other hotels.
This was our second trip back to the Orchid. In-between we tried a trip at the Maui Fairmont and loved it-at a price. The room, beaches, and food were better in Maui, but there too many people and the whole island did not seem very Hawaiian. It also was very pricey. Now, to the Fairmont Orchid. Like our last trip, it was amazing. We have young kids, so we stayed on the Gold Floor, which gave us the benefit of low key breakfasts and afternoon snacks instead of the expensive restaurants at every turn. The staff on the Gold Floor were the best. Whatever you wanted, they would get it for you. The Orchid is amazing. The grounds include a bay for the kids to snorkel, longboard, and swim in shallow water so the moms can actually relax without acting like drones over their kids. We also booked many trips on the ocean. They blew away the trips on Maui. We used Wild Hawaii Ocean Adventures for two of those trips and swam with dolphins, sharks, reef fish, and pilot whales. WHOA was the best operator we have used in Kona. We also did the Manta Ray Dive/Snorkel. The first time, we used Kona Diving Adventures, which had a small boat but had really great customer service, The second time, we used Kona Honu Divers, which had a bigger boat but average (at best) customer service. We have previously used Jack's, but wouldn't use them again. We are still waiting for a Kona operator to step up to the level of Maui's Ed Robinson Adventures.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Asheville

excellent location close to beach and lovely pool

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Pros: location, food, amenities and spa
Cons: nothing
We have been frequenting this hotel yearly and are never disappointed. It is almost like coming " home". The staff are always helpful and the facility is beautiful
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2015 by Fairmont Orchid, Hotel Management
Aloha! We are delighted that you have made The Fairmont Orchid your home away from home on Hawaii Island! Mahalo for your kind review, and for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to your next visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom LA

Excellent location and staff

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Great experience, excellent location with very professional and courteous stafff. Sandy beach a bit small, activities a bit limited, but very good facilities and relaxing environment