Ratings based on 237 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pricy for what you get in my opinion.

Posted Jan 24, 2015
Pros: Grounds nicely mowed. Very friendly bfast crew! Tasty macadamia nut waffles. Great scenery and waterfall view.
Cons: Upkeep and repairs are needed on rooms, buildings and grounds. Do not charge additional fees for use of paddle board or kayak on pond.
Location: Quite remote with a 20+ minute drive to town. Hilo is a bit lacking as well, except for public beaches (lots of these). Few local style restaurants.
A bit surprised upon arrival with no consistent staff to help guide guests. Very relaxing grounds if a retreat style experience is what you are looking for. A visitor joined us on the lanai one evening which made us worry about the practice of leaving the lanai door open in guest rooms as a way to keep it cool (no A/C).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Oakland, ME

Posted Jan 17, 2015
Pros: Secluded and low key. Very relaxing.
We loved being right on the river with not only one but four waterfalls. The trails to the bottom of the main falls were challenging but doable. Wish we had planned to stay longer. Innkeeper was not intrusive, but was pleasant and hospitable. Breakfast on the deck over looking the falls was delicious (both the food and the setting).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cincinnati

A private waterfall experience

Posted Dec 31, 2014
Amazing property with private waterfalls, beautiful landscaping and gardens. A very unique experience. And the owners are great hosts. We stayed in a room on the 2nd floor that was comfortable and overlooked the garden. Ask for the Falls view room. Breakfast is in the home kitchen overlooking the falls. Do be prepared to be one with nature (insects, mosquitoes etc) though repellent is provided. You can swim near the waterfall though my wife and daughter could only manage a few mins given how cold the water was. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom canada

Thanksgiving 2014 at Kulaniapia

Posted Nov 29, 2014
Pros: The hosts and the property.
Cons: It wasperfect
This Inn has it all. A beautiful drive thru local farms to get there, approx 15 min. From Hilo. A magnificent property with a waterfall, which lulls you to sleep. The inn is organized for people who love B & B's, but cherish their privacy. Our room had everything we wanted, king bed, tv,Internet, and even a welcoming small basket of fruit and macadamia nuts. The property has two trails which you can use and you can go for a swim in the pond at the base of the falls. Finally,the breakfast is the best we had on the island. It has just about everything you may want to eat I should also add that the hosts invited all their guests to join their friends and family, free of charge for Thanksgiving dinner. We did not know this when we booked. It was a first for them,and we could all see all the work required to pull this off. It was a total success and the food was so delicious. Thank you for such a generous offer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom minneapolis, MN

Hotel by the falls

Posted Nov 7, 2014
Pros: View of falls
Cons: Drive to resort is down narrow road....best done the first time during the day.
Absolutely beautiful place to stay! You can see the falls from a few rooms, but hear them all night long, which was a relaxing way to rest. Some may find the loud noise uncomfortable, but we loved the sound! There is a beautiful walking path down to the bottom of the falls with groves of various bamboo along the way; this can get slippery and muddy though if it has just rained, so watch your step,but don't pass it by. Staff very attentive to needs; had a hearty, great breakfast. Would definately stay here again; one of the highlights of our time on the Big Island!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Laguna Niguel

Hilo getaway

Posted Nov 6, 2014
Pros: The location near the waterfall and the bamboo garden and walk to the waterfall.
Cons: Check in service could be improved but I understand that they are busy.
Location: This is about relaxing in the middle of nowhere.
We stayed at the Harmony House. The owner is a busy guy who built the houses on the property. Electricity is Hydroelectric so they are off the grid. The houses are well built. There is a beautiful walkway to the bamboo garden which leads to the waterfall. The location is about 10 minutes from Hilo. The frogs are a bit loud but this is true of the Big Island in general. Breakfast was good. If you are looking to be pampered, this is not the place. The proprietor is a busy guy and so no one will be waiting on you. The check in is a bit automated but it works. We were lucky because it had been raining and the waterfall was spectacular.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boise, ID

Your own private waterfall!

Posted Oct 30, 2014
After reading many complimentary reviews and seeing amazing pictures of the property, we were wondering if the reality could possibly measure up. The Inn was even better in person! The property is gorgeous, everyone we met (staff and guests) were incredibly friendly and gracious, the free yoga was very relaxing, and the macadamia nut waffles were delicious. We talked to locals on the other side of the island about paddleboarding in the private lagoon and they couldn't believe it. We think we sent you some customers from the Body Glove tour in Kona (their employees), Lenny. Mahalo!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by JMOfrom STL

Fabulous!

Posted Oct 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
Wasn't sure what to expect but WOW was this place gorgeous! Very comfortable and relaxing...the staff was amazing! My only complaint is that we only stayed one night (passing through). Love, love, loved this place! If we are ever on the island again we will stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Fremont, CA

Can't beat location and (breakfast) at these Falls

Posted Oct 26, 2014
Pros: (1) The Falls (2) THE FALLS (3) Great breakfasts (4) Helpful staff
Cons: Rooms could use a remodeling but that's just being picky if you want the perfect island spot.
Location: About 15 minutes west of Hilo and about an hour from Volcano. Good base camp for east side of the island activities.
We stayed in the Hibiscus room. This room is really nothing to write home about as its a bit cramped even for two people and there is nothing especially nice about the room, bed or bathroom UNTIL you consider that it sits right in front of the falls. You can just wake up in the morning and take one step outside and the falls are right there...absolutely rare experience. The property is very well kept including the trails around the falls. The breakfasts are top notch and it provides a great time to get tips from the staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Helenfrom Stockholm

Beautiful

Posted Oct 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Wonderful scenary in the surroundings. Nice jogging and bathing under the waterfall. A complementary yoga class was a good start in the morning.