Ratings based on 1,579 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland Ore

Nice resort by the ocean

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Very clean and well maintained hotel from the grounds to the rooms, top notch all the way. Wether you want to lounge around the pools or become a beach bum, this resort has every spot covered. If sitting by the water isn't how you want to spend your day, you have access to multiple water activities: SUP, snorkel, and many more.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Nice hotel on beach

Posted Jul 11, 2015
This hotel is beautiful with all resort accommodations. Buuuut it's far from everything...if you want to go to other restaurants or bars, don't stay here. Meals are super expensive. Other than that, everything else was great - Steps from the beach, has its nice pool area. It has other activities such as snorkel gear rental for free, yoga on the beach for a fee, etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 8, 2015
It was nice being so close to a friendly beach that my kids can swim in. The water sports rental facility was nearby too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel on the beach..

Posted Jul 7, 2015
Pros: The staff was excellent. The room and facilities were also very good.
Cons: I wished the bar and restaurant stayed open past 11:00 pm.
Overall experience was outstanding! We enjoyed snorkeling and traveling to the volcanoes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix

Perfect vacation!!!

Posted Jul 3, 2015
Pros: The food and the beach
Location: There are a lot of activities you could sign up for at the beach from snorkeling, glass bottom boat trip to the coral reefs, to paddle boarding
I have no complaints. The grounds were kept impeccably clean and the rooms were clean and the beds very comfortable. They only had one restaurant on site which we thought would be an issue but every dish that was served; the buffet, the room service and even the a-la-carte menus were so delicious. The food at the sunset luau was the best I've had in Hawaii. Kudos to all the chefs. We were so glad we picked it over the Hilton because it was the only hotel with beach access and just a short walk from the pools. The waves were so gentle that our 4 and 7 yr olds could swim and snorkel in the ocean. Granted, there may be more fun things to do at the Hilton especially for the kids but we went to Hawaii for the beaches. Besides, when we visited the Hilton to do the Dolphin Quest, we were amazed at how gigantic it was, just the walk to the dolphin cove from the lobby was exhausting. Call us lazy, but we just don't like any kind of stress on our vacations. The Marriott was just perfect for us because everything was within walking distance and stress less. We had a great and relaxing vacation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from N.C.

Tropical paradise!

Posted Jun 30, 2015
We really enjoyed our stay. The facility was beautiful. The beach was relaxing and the ocean sports located there gave us fun activities.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Another Marriott failure

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Pros: Location and amenities
Cons: Air conditioning, mini frig and electrical outlets.
Location: Visiting Kona is convenient and since this hotel is near Saddle Road, you can also quickly get to Hilo.
this hotel is strategically located with access to the ocean as well as pool amenities. The only problem was the comfort of the room itself. This was the second Marriott we stayed in during our trip to the islands. In both cases, we couldn't get the room cool enough, despite setting the thermostat on 65. The mini frig in the room also would not get cool enough giving us concern that the room was getting enough power. very limited electrical outlets made charging cell devices challenging. The hotel itself is very nice although the restaurants were seriously overpriced for the meal you get. We found ourselves dining in Kona instead.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from B

Great View from any room-Awesome Hotel

Posted Jun 27, 2015
Service was perfect, wouldn't have stayed any where else
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel

Posted Jun 25, 2015
Pros: It was a nice hotel to stay in overall. they had a very nice pool area and the hotel was pretty nice. It was also pretty central to many things.
Cons: My only complaints would be that the restaurant has outrageous prices even for Hawaii, so just go a block away to Queens Market to eat and that they c
It was a nice hotel to stay in overall. On the positive side, they had a very nice pool area and the overall hotel was pretty nice. It was also pretty
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Bad service; small rooms

Posted Jun 19, 2015
Pros: The lobby was very nice.
Cons: Improve customer service and change out hotel management.
Location: The hotel is in a resort district that requires you to travel about 15 to 20 miles to the nearest town.
I have stayed in hotels around the world and am currently a Marriott Gold Rewards member. This hotel provided the worst service I have encountered in my 48 years on this earth. There are plenty of hotel and resort options in Hawaii; I recommend selecting another option. The service is bad - the front desk is managed like a car dealership. The rooms are very small and at the end of the day multiple additional charges are tacked on to your bill. There are much better options in Hawaii that provide better rooms, better service and at a more reasonable price without costly add-ons.