Ratings based on 85 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hilo, Hawaii

Front Desk agent & Amenities

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Front desk agent wasn't very friendly (male) misinformed me of the debit card hold which incurred me NSF fees with my bank. 1 pool not operating on a busy holiday weekend want good!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Aus

Fantastic value for families

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Pros: Great rooms, fantastic facilities, close to the best beaches for snorkeling, excellent value
Cons: Some of the timing of the resort activities could be improved - we would have liked to learn hula dancing, but 2.30pm was when we were out exploring!
Location: The best beach to see green sea turtles was 5 mins away by car, 10 - 15mins to coffee plantations, 5mins to "downtown" Kona, 15mins to waikaloa
We had a fantastic time here and could not recommend this place enough. The two bedroom apartment was very comfortable with great beds, fabulous hot tub and a kitchen with all the amenities that you need. We were out and about the whole time, but if interested, there are plenty of activities you could be part of at the resort. The one activity we did take part in was lei making which my daughter loved. We only had one issue during our stay and this was attended to promptly and efficiently. Overall, it was a fantastic place to stay and great value.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver CO

Beautiful resort

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: Large, beautiful lanai
Cons: The bed could have been more comfortable.
Location: It is pretty centrally located and short drives to most beaches and the down town area.
We were in Kona for a family reunion and really enjoyed our stay at the Wyndham Kona Resort. Our 2 bedroom condo was spacious and clean. We have a family of 6 and it worked out fine. There are 2 bathrooms and a wonderful jetted tub in the master with a separate shower. Our washing machine stopped working in the middle of a load of laundry and they came and fixed it immediately! We did not attend any of the information meetings and did not feel overly pressured to do so. I will definitely stay here again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Santa Cruz, CA

Upscale, family friendly condo

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Pros: Clean, Neat and Tidy grounds, Facilities worked and kitchen had the correct utensils. Comfortable, spacious and modern unit. Excellent for family.
Cons: Check out at 10AM is too early; Check in at 4PM is too late.
Location: Just south of Kailua-Kona, easy walk into town for dinner.
Pleasantly appointed site with neat and tidy grounds. Ground staff at work each morning to keep the place spruce. Units are spacious and comfortable, quality linens and compact kitchen. House has AC with external chiller, therefore operational noise is minimized. Lanai is large with dining table for 6 1 lounger. Lanai has exterior fan, very comfortable to sit out on. Two pools hot tubs and opposite ends of facility. Short 20min work to downtown is comfortable in the evening. Not super convenient for sand beaches. However Magic beach is 8minute drive south. Linens changed weekly. No daily maid service. Free, unlimited towel and linen exchange, but you must do it. This is a timeshare condo so expect invitations to listen to presentation. However pressure is light, especially compared to some other timeshare operations. Overall very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, CA

Excellent hotel & timeshares right by the water

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness of the facilities, staff, ample parking, great location.
I had a thoroughly enjoyable stay at the Wyndham Kona. Our suite was beyond spacious with a large living room, full kitchen, king size beds, bath tub and more bathroom sinks than we knew what to do with. The location is prime being less than a mile from downtown Kona and the infamous Da Poke Shack. Parking is ample and there's no extra charge for it unlike a number of other resorts on the Big Island. The staff was always friendly and having one of the Expedia guides on site was extremely helpful in deciding on activities, restaurants, bars, etc. For what we paid as part of our hotel & flight package, I'd happily return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney Australia

AMAZING HOLIDAY

Posted Jul 10, 2014
convenient to everything - people very friendly - facilities great - a wonderful family holiday enjoyed by all - we'll certainly be back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Nice and clean hotel

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Cons: Air freshners
Very nice only suggestion is to have air freshners in room and restrooms
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Scott B from Huntington Beach, CA

Condo - Not a Hotel

Posted Jun 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
It is always nicer having a full kitchen, and laundry than staying in a hotel. The Wyndham Hawaiian Resort is a very nice facility with a great staff. We arrived quite late due to flight delays, and the front desk was very helpful. We had made two different reservations and they found us a unit we could stay in all the way through. When we arrived at the unit it looked like someone came in used the bathroom and then complained for another unit. We didn't want to move our stuff so I called the desk. Housekeeping was closed but Rod came up and cleaned the entire bathroom by hand. That is service. Thank you guys and we'll be back
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by AJ from Conshohocken, PA

Nice hotel in Kona - Big Island

Posted Jun 15, 2014
Pros: The lanai
Location: The location is excellent for access to all roadways for you Big Island adventure. Within walking distance is access to the beautiful Kona coastline.
This is a nice, comfortable and convenient hotel on the beautiful Kona coast. The facilities are excellent - the full kitchen and barbecue grill outside allows you to prepare any type meal you desire. All kinds of shops and restaurants are nearby for your special needs. Walk to the beach -walk to town - or just unwind on the lanai. Or just hop in the car and take in the Big Island.....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kona

Good

Posted Jun 12, 2014
Very good. Everything was good and private. I liked the property and room. I also liked the service. They took care of everything really well.