Ratings based on 265 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom wellington

Nice hotel friendly staff

Posted May 26, 2015
The weather was against us this time so we are going to be there in the future and for a longer duration
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Helensville, Auckland

Quaint & authentic & completely in theme.

Posted Apr 13, 2015
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The perfect hotel

Posted Mar 26, 2015
A charming old building, filled with stuffed leather chairs, wood interior, carafes of port, and a charming little library. The room was comfortable, and the furnishings modern. Wi-fi was solid. The staff were friendly and attentive. The restaurant was very good, and the attached bar was also nice. We were very happy with our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Ruru Room perfection

Posted Mar 20, 2015
After a long drive to Napier we were greeted warmly by John at the front desk. From the get go he made sure to meet our every needs. Chloe and Chris were also fantastic. Chris was lively and provided fantastic recommendations of local wineries and local sites to see. Each room is named after a NZ native bird. We stayed in the Ruru Room: it was beautiful and cozy, with fantastic art deco touches and a luxurious bathroom. The hotel itself is equally as inviting, with a large library to peruse while helping yourself to a complimentary glass (or two) of port. We also dined at the restaurant, which was lovely and also convenient. If you are just looking for great wine/beer, head to Churchill's Champagne Bar, next to the restaurant. Must stay, with fantastic staff that are genuinely interested in the comfort of their guests.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice art deco hotel, but disappointing room

Posted Feb 26, 2015
The hotel comes with history and has excellent accessibility to the city center. Staff is helpful and easily approachable. Only problem we have is that for the price level I would expect the room to be reasonably spacious. The room I had is literally less than 20 sqm and pretty much no room to walk around after putting down out luggage. A bit disappointing given the reputation of this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hawkes Bay - Napier

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: Central location and helpful staff.
Cons: None at this time.
Location: Great pub The Filter Room Ale and Cider House.
Quaint little town, close to multiple wineries. Lots of places to shop and eat. This restored hotel has a lot of the original features with great modern upgrades like the deep tubs with jets. The bed in our room "Mockie" was like sleeping on clouds.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel in Napier

Posted Feb 20, 2015
Staff made our stay so personal although hotel was very busy. They made us feel so welcome and special.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Relaxing stay in a hotel with character well placed in the town. Very pleasant staff, helpful and courteous. The charm of the hotel is endearing, but could probably do with some rejuvenation in parts
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

nice hotel in the heart of Napier wine area

Posted Feb 16, 2015 on Hotels.com
We had a good stay in Napier, enjoying the wine, deco architecture, and coastal view. The hotel is interesting because of its history. We also had a nice dinner in the restaurant. The place is a little tired though and could use some updating.
5 out of 5
by Gavin Whitefrom New Zealand - Wellington

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 12, 2015