Ratings based on 68 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Value for money.

Posted Oct 16, 2014
Pros: Spotlessly clean.Handy position.Value for money.
Cons: A few more items in the coffee and tea selection.
Location: Close to the gallery/museum,shares the street with beautiful Art deco buildings and Mr D's for dining.Fun shops to explore on the same street.
Stayed for 2 nights with our daughter. Nice to see her bed made up with her extra towel etc..so often this doesn't happen e.g The Taupo Hilton! Had fun walking the street and exploring the local shops and galleries. Lots of cafes nearby and lovely architecture. The hotel restaurant wasn't busy and lacked atmosphere so we didn't eat there. The hotel is very clean and great value for money. Overall a great stay even with an odd comment from the man on the front desk- couldn't believe we'd come to Napier as a destination. Easy to explore Havelock North and Hastings from here if you're driving.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Relaxing

Posted Jun 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
Thoroughly enjoyed my stay...I would thoroughly recommend a stay here
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Fuzzy Monkies from Christchurch

Great Location

Posted Jun 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
Lovely renovated hotel - well the foyer and restaurant was. Our room was meant to be a garden view as per the Hotel.com booking form but the only view we had was overlooking the limited carparking (I didn't question the booking as at the end of the day its just where you sleep). The room was clean and spacious but small things had been neglected like having a coat hook on the back of the door or wall to hang up shirts/dresses etc. The bathroom was an excellent paraplegic bathroom but as neither myself nor my partner had a wheel chair and the hotel wasn't at capacity it seemed like a waste for us to have it. There was no hand towel rail holder so we used the ironing board that was in the bathroom as a towel holder. On return from being out & about the room was always tidied and the bed made. We ate at the restaurant once for dinner - there were 3 menus each different which was confusing which was a slight oversight re making sure the same menu was in the room and in the restaurant ie the menu my partner ordered off said pastry wrapped beef but it did not come with pastry and then when ordering dessert I noticed that it was a different meal on this menu. All said and done it was a fantastic meal and amazing dessert. The hotel owners were lovely. Price was great from Hotel.com and the location was at the end of the strip mall so convenient to shopping and restaurants. Clean & handy what else could you ask for.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Jennym from Auckland

Great place and excellent location

Posted Jun 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
Everything was perfect except for the road noise. Bed was so comfortable, room very clean and well presented. Hosts were very friendly and helpful. So close to the parade, easy walk and loads of cool caf├ęs just metres from the door. Would certainly stay again when in Napier.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Janelle from New Zealand

Nice quiet hotel

Posted Apr 28, 2014
Pros: Quiet room, very comfy bed, good sized room.
Cons: Fix the sign on the outside, makes the hotel look run down with broken neon lights. Need more parking, we had to park on road
Location: close walk to restaurants and shops, farmers market on saturday.
My partner and I were only there one night and arrived quite late, so was perfect for us. Ideal spot close to restaurants so didn't have to drive anywhere and bonus of having the farmers market right outside on saturday morning!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Margo from tauranga

Very nice

Posted Apr 28, 2014
Very comfortable friendly hotel, close to everything!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by revampnzgirl from Hamilton

Great location but nothing special

Posted Apr 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Viceroy hotel is in a great location, easy walk to everything, but the cost of the room was expensive for what you got. Yes it's been renovated and the rooms were nice (and soundproof!) but at over $150 a night, the water pressure was terrible and all the showers I had went hot and cold. There was no sky TV, and there were about 10 carparks for 30 rooms, so we ended up with street parking. I would stay there again, but only if the rooms were cheaper. The staff were all friendly which was appreciated.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to city centre

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Nice comfortable hotel. Very little little parking available, and the parking that was there was very cramped and hard to fit car into. Also Tv only had freeview. For $130 a night i would have expected sky. Also they didnt replace the milks in the fridge so we had no milk the next day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Lori from CT

A very comfortable, quiet stay

Posted Mar 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
great location, clean and spacious room, friendly management , and easy laundering facility. Wifi also worked well. The Viceroy is a great affordable option for visiting Napier.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 7, 2014 on Hotels.com