Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Hampshire

village location

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Pros: In nice village location
Cons: Rooms should be updated, very tired. Options should be given for cooked breakfasts, such as poached, scrambled or boiled egg for a lighter option
we were disappointed with our room, very small, more suited to a single rather than double. We accept that the building is old and that contributed to the uneven floor but trying to sleep in a bed that slopes one way is not conducive to a good nights sleep. The bed could be modified perhaps to make it more comfortable and level. It was so bad my husband considered sleeping in the car! We were surprised at the lack of choice for a cooked breakfast, no option was offered for anything other than 'full English'
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Suefrom London

Convenient, in a very pretty High Street.

Posted May 11, 2014
The receptionist was very kind and accommodating, allowing us to check in early to change for a wedding. Breakfast was enormous and sustained us for a 7 mile walk on the Downs! The bed was showing its age but was fine for a one night stop.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Mickfrom Rotherham

A trip into to 80's

Posted Feb 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
A nice pub, however the rooms are very dated and floor was softer than the bed. Breakfast only starts at 8am luckily I was given some bread and jam as a replacement.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Stephenfrom Hampshire

Pleasant friendly staff

Posted Oct 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
This hotel/pub was very welcoming with low beams and an old historic feel. Ample car parking and a nice garden all go with the location in this Historic village setting. Due to the time of year and the fact I stayed on a Monday the hotel was not busy, but the staff were all very attentive and made me feel welcome. my room was on the front of the premises and although the road was busy this didn't stop me having a good nights sleep in a comfy bed.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Wouterfrom Breda

Warm en armoedig

Posted Sep 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
Het hotel ziet er gedateerd uit. Een stoel ontbreekt op de kamer, maar er is wel een kruk aanwezig. De badkamer zag er ook erg oud uit, deze was wel schoon. Ondanks dat de verwarmingen op de kamer uit stonden, was deze toch heel warm door de verwarminigsbuizen die er doorheen liepen. Het geeft me geen veilig gevoel wanneer ik spullen voor een brandblusser zie staan.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by J &Jfrom Salisbury

Great Location

Posted Jul 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
Generally a comfortable stay with friendly staff,would have no hesitation in staying there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Brianfrom Hampshire, UK

A good stop-over.

Posted Jun 4, 2013
Pros: The beer & home made bread rolls
Cons: The A272 outside our bedroom window.
Location: Very nice rural area.
The decor is very amateurist & in need of repainting professionally. The staff, service & meals were excellent, & that alone would attract us back when in the area again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Jum

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Pfairch50from Chatham

Basic

Posted Apr 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
Staff were really nice and helpful. Nice hotel but the room was a bit basic for £75 (more like a bed and breakfast). Basic furniture (only 1 bedside table), television blurry and lost signal in the middle of MOD, shower only a sprinkle, window jammed open 1 inch (good job the really cold weather was 2 weeks before). Slept well though. We had to leave at 7.30 so they gave us a packed lunch (which was nice) but my wife asked for cheese as she is veggy and got ham.