Ratings based on 231 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from md

Close to fun fall activities in Jim Thorpe

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Staff was courteous, rooms clean and had a very fine dining restaurant next to it!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 9, 2014 by RoseAnn, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for your generous feedback for our hotel and our staff. It is indeed heartwarming to know that we have met your satisfaction during your stay. I hope this could be the beginning of your regular visit in our hotel every time you are in town. Thank you very much and I hope to have you again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Great hotel, we always stay at this hotel when we come up!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2014 by RoseAnn, Hotel Management
I am glad that you enjoyed the value and the amenities of our hotel! It is heartwarming to hear of how our efforts to give you a great experience, filled with hospitality, comfort and convenience have been successful. Thank you for sharing this review.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2014 by RoseAnn, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We seek to give each guest a very comfortable and accommodating experience and we are thrilled to hear of our success in this ambition. Your satisfaction and enjoyment are very important to us. Thank you for your kind comments and 5 star rating!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 14, 2014 by RoseAnn, Hotel Management
It has been truly a pleasure to know that we have continuously met your expectations during your travels. Thank you for your patronage and we look forward to providing you again with your lodgings in the future!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Pet Friendly hotel, so convenient for our needs

Posted Sep 3, 2014
Pros: Other than the smell, everything about our stay was good. Staff was friendly, complimentary breakfast was good, and the location was very convenient.
Cons: The smell in the pet friendly rooms.
Location: Convenient to Jim Thorpe, about 15 minutes away, and easy access to the highway.
The staff was very nice and friendly I chose this hotel because it was the closest pet friendly hotel in the area. We were going white water rafting about 20 minutes away. When I called to book, I was connected to a call center and requested a pet friendly room, non-smoking. The gentleman on the line said only smoking was available. He said he would put it in the notes that if a non-smoking pet friendly room was available, I would prefer that. I assumed I was still getting a pet friendly room. However, my email itinerary stated that I had a smoking room, with no indication of it being pet friendly. Thankfully I realized this a couple of days before my check-in date and was able to call the hotel directly to change this. When we walked into the room, the smell was a bit overwhelming. I'm assuming this was a room specifically used for guests with pets. But, I wasn't able to pinpoint the smell, whether it was from previous pets, mildew, or maybe products to clean the room after pets left Whatever it was, it wasn't pleasant. We had to keep the windows open the entire stay to air it out.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2014 by RoseAnn, Hotel Management
Hello Miss Jo Anne, I apologize for the uncomfortable experience you faced during your stay in our hotel because of the overwhelming smell in the room assigned to you. I will request that this is checked and corrected immediately. I hope you will accord us another chance to make up for our shortcomings and allow us to provide you better accommodation in the future. Please call the attention of our staff if you have concerns about your stay or if you need assistance. Our staff will be happy to attend to you any time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from mechanicsville md

A Nice place to stay when you are away from home..

Posted Sep 3, 2014
Pros: Smells good
Cons: More cookies:)
Location: Cool stuff to do always
Killer free breakfast...Nice room, great cookies and open coffee bar, all the workers are real nice and helpful I have been staying there every labor day weekend for 5 years and always a pleasure so I will keep coming back
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 4, 2014 by RoseAnn, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for this wonderful review! We strive to make every guests experience great, and we love hearing when we accomplish our goals. We hope to see you again soon.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Jersey

Stinky room - not comparable exchange

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Cleaner rooms and giving the customer what they paid for
Location: Near the place we were going white water rafting - other than that know nothing of the area
When we first got in the room (double queen), it stunk of stale smoke so we requested another - they gave us one with two double beds - not queens - but no discount. Breakfast was COLD - there was no heat under the French toast and sausage - terrible. Asked not to be in a room by the thruway and the new one they gave us was right next to it. Would never stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 4, 2014 by RoseAnn, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us. On behalf of our entire staff, you have my apologies for the situations you encountered during your stay and that our services did not meet your expectations. I am sorry to hear that you had a less than favorable impression about our hotel and our accommodations.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from nj

Posted Aug 7, 2014
hotel room smell so bad.we did not have Good night sleep.never visit this hotel again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 17, 2014 by RoseAnn, Hotel Management
I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Please know at any time you may approach any of our staffs during your stay if issues do arise and we will do everything we can to quickly solve any issue to your satisfaction. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. Thank you!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montgomery Cty., PA

Would stay there again

Posted Jul 25, 2014
Pros: Great location - right off the turnpike. Had smoking rooms available.
Cons: Can't think of a thing.
Location: Very close to Beltzville State Park (swimming beach, etc) and to downtown Jim Thorpe. Also great casual steakhouse right around the corner.
Comfortable bed and (wonderful) pillows made for a good nights sleep. Rooms were nicely equipped with hair dryer, clothes iron, single-serv coffee maker, microwave, mini fridge and where I stayed, satellite TV w/ HBO. Quality self-serve breakfast with lots of variety (hot & cold) and staffed with assistant to constantly replentish. A settup of good quality coffee available round-the-clock in the lobby. All employees we spoke with were helpful and cheerful. We were glad we choose this hotel even with our tight budget - worth the price!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2014 by RoseAnn, Hotel Management
I am so glad that you found our hotel to be clean and convenient and that you enjoyed the five star accommodations and hospitality that we strive to show to each guest, during every stay. Thank you so much for acknowledging the efforts of our staff to make you feel comfortable and at home. We seek to give each guest a very comfortable and accommodating experience and we are thrilled to hear of our success in this ambition. We look forward to welcoming you back during your next stay in the area.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Noisy, uncomfortable, never again

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Noise from highway, noise from nearby rooms and people fooling around in halls...yelling, screaming, using profanities. Asked front desk to quiet them down...still noisy to midnight. Beds and pillows very uncomfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 25, 2014 by Ashley, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to reach out to us. We understand how important a quiet environment is and apologize for the noise level in the nearby rooms and people in the hallways. Your feedback helps us prevent situations such as this in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Joe from lehighton, Pa

getaway

Posted Jul 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
awesome stay will stay here again
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 15, 2014 on Hotels.com