Ratings based on 187 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from G.B.

Brilliantly Funky Hotel

Posted Sep 19, 2014
We had a brilliant stay in this quirky hotel. Great rooms and breakfast, lovely food and fabulously friendly staff who will happily help you plan your stay. Ace location (about 20min walk from central station or tram number 4 takes you directly there). Be there...or miss out!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex, UK

Tram stops right outside for central Helsinki

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: The quiteness in the room giving you a good nights sleep, the fabulous drench shower and the eccentricity of staying in a cell in a prison!
Location: Very close to the city centre, within walking distance or for the less mobile a tram stops right outside the hotel.
Wonderful hotel with great attention to detail. The rooms are virtually sound proof, we stayed at the time the World dog show was in Helsinki, so many dogs were staying here but none were heard in the rooms. The number 4 tram stops right outside the door for the city centre and walking is just a few minutes. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff who were all very friendly and polite, we will definitely be back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stockton, CA

Right near the market and port, former prison

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: Prison theme
Location: Kajatanokka, a little islet near the market, port and main shopping street. Lovely place.
This place was so cool, a former prison from 1837. Worth seeing!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Unique Hotel Well appointed

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Pros: Service was great! Room comfortable, Breakfast good, location easy to get to center at 1/2 price of the hotels in the center.
Cons: As was there only one night all was ok
Location: Appears to be somewhat remote but actually a very easy walk or Trolley ride to the center. Also on the way there is a nice Pub to eat or drink with a
I booked this as I had a Helsinki overnight with business meeting in the morning before flying back to the USA. Upon entering I was greeted by a very helpful and friendly receptionist that said welcome to prison. It was then that I realized her prison uniform and the red walls surrounding the place started making sense. This was kind of the Alcatraz of Finland! I stayed in a notorious bank robbers cell and search as I may, no loot was found! A decent breakfast was served in the Mess Hall that allowed for metal cups and plates or you could go traditional porcelain if you desired:) Room was well appointed, comfortable and actually nice for Europe and a steal at the price $99. While slightly off the beaten trail, it is only a 10 minute walk to the center or 5 minute trolley ride that stops directly in front of the hotel #4. Walked to and back from town that evening, just follow the trolley tracks:) The next morning checked out, took trolley to center, Starbucks, business meeting and a 2 minute walk to the airport bus next to the train station for a Wi-Fi equipped comfortable 25 minute ride to the airport. Easy stuff!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Not just a hotel, it's an experience!

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Definitely would stay there again. Easy walk to Viking terminal. Staff was very helpful, breakfast was great. Room was too cold and couldn't be adjusted, though.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Becca from Boston

Great hotel

Posted Jun 16, 2014
This hotel was in a great location and very affordable. It was an easy walk into the center of Helsinki and was very comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jamie from Leeds, UK

Fantastic hotel

Posted Jun 13, 2014
Fantastic hotel in a unique building which has maintained the character while providing modern comfort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nick from London

Great quirky hotel

Posted May 19, 2014
Pros: Its a prison!
Simply a great hotel - nothing to complain about was all run very smoothly and very comfortable stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Benny from USA

prison venue

Posted May 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
Was a great stay. Desk service was outstanding, very friendly and helpful. The restaurant is in the basement and has a strong prison atsmophere. Food was good. My one complaint was about housekeeping. One day, they left no clean towels, another day, the room was fiven only a limited cleaning. The desk clerks were able to get everything fixed with no problem. Overall, was an excellent hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Sasha from North Carolina

Great hotel

Posted Apr 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
Located in a former low risk prisoners which has been converted to a great Best Western hotel. The employees dress in prison attire and play the game very nicely. The restaurant is in the basement and is austere. One of the female restaurant employees was a little less than friendly but everyone else in the restaurant was fantastic. We did have one problem with housekeeping as they could never quite get the concept of cleaning the entire room. The desk people were able to fill the gap.