Ratings based on 849 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Everything was great. Clean rooms, big breakfast, close enough to city center.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 23, 2015
bien bien bien bien bien bien bien bien bien bien bien bien bien bien bien bien bien bien bien bien bien bien bien bien
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Canada

Very Nice. High Five!

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Pros: I liked the efforts made to convert the space from a prison to a boutique hotel. The marketing component is also very interesting
Cons: As indicated previously, the hotel restaurant should develop more vegetarian meal options.
Location: The hotel is on the island and is easy walking distance to shopping and historical areas. There is a nice mix of commercial and residential use
A colleague mentioned that there were a number of hotels near where our meetings were being held. One was the Katajanokka Hotel. It was a smartly re-designed use of former prison space. My room was furnished with modern and good quality items. My room had a small bathtub that was welcomed after a long walk around the city in the cold February Helsinki evening. Internet was acceptable. Common use areas were nicely designed. There was a breakfast included that was more than sufficient to get you on your way. Evening meals offered limited vegetarian options. I understand that Finland is a meat nation. More vegetarian meal options would be welcomed to the menu. Staff were respectful and professional.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Sehr originell: Altes Gefängnis dient als Hotel

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Pros: Sehr nettes Hotelpersonal.
Location: Das Hotel liegt ca. 10-15 Gehminuten vom Zentrum entfernt. Wer will, kann auch die Tram Nummer 4 nehmen.
Wir waren für zwei Nächte in diesem Hotel. Sechs Personen aus unterschiedlichen Ländern waren von dem Konzept begeistert: Ein altes Gefängnis wurde zum Hotel umgebaut. Die "Zellen" sind durchaus wohnlich, auch wenn man die Fenster nicht öffnen kann... Das Frühstück ist reichhaltig und wird standesgemäß (wahlweise) in Blechnäpfen und Blechbechern angeboten.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 10, 2015
Kurzbesuch in Helsinki. Das Hotel hat sehr viel Flair un Charisma, das Personal ist sehr freundlich und hilfsbereit. Ebenfalls positiv ist das Frühstücksbuffet. Sehr vielfältig und reichhaltig. Einziger Kritikpunkt, sollte man unbedingt einen finden wollen, ist das fehlende mehrsprachige Fernsehprogramm.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Hong Kong

Great Hotel

Posted Feb 9, 2015
Cons: more flexible time for sauna.
Location: 5 mins walk to Viking terminal.
Great breakfast, prefect location to the Viking line. Acceptable distance to city center, convenient and easy to locate.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ihan kiva

Posted Feb 3, 2015
Hienot puitteet mielenkiintoisessa miljöössä! Aamupala oli hyvin perus; tämäntasoisessa hotellissa odottaisi jotain extraakin aamiaispöytään. Kuntosali onnettoman pieni.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Erikoinen ja kokemuksen arvoinen, erilainen hotell

Posted Jan 31, 2015
Pros: Hyvä
Cons: Uima-allas
Erittäin hyvä vaihtoehto ns. Perushotellille. Peruskorjattu vankilan henkeä kunnioittaen, silti kaiki nykyaikaisen hotellin mukavuudet huomioiden!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Former Jail Converted to Gorgeous Hotel

Posted Jan 10, 2015
Pros: I liked best: the hotel's central yet very quite location; the 'jail' theme of the hotel was witty, sophisticated and in general well done.
Best Western Premier Hotel Katajanokka, a former jail, resides in the center of the island Katajanokka. Connection via tram/streetcar to the centre of Helsinki is very good; a foot walk to the centre does not take more than 15 min and lets one explore the beautiful neighbourhood as well (especially the orthodox church and all of the restaurants at the base of its rocky hill). The transformation of the former jail to a modern, cosy hotel has worked particularly well. The staff is very helpful and friendly. Rooms are well-equipped (including a bath tub, very important for a winter's stay), cleaning service is fast, thorough and respectful; and the breakfast provides a large variety of food items, both international and Finnish. I would always go back to this hotel for my next trip to Helsinki.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Timo

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 24, 2014 on Hotels.com