Ratings based on 73 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Hotel Cumulus Kaisaniemi, Helsinki.

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: Friendliness of English speaking staff, cleanliness of rooms and central location.
Cons: The only let for this hotel was the impossibly small bathroom/ shower /toilet room, which made the use of it, a daily ordeal !
Location: The hotel is very central and ideally situated close to all local amenities e.g. station, city centre shopping, market square, bars, restaurants etc.
We thoroughly enjoyed our recent stay in Helsinki. The Cumulus Kaisaniemi, is ideally situated, next to a tram stop and Metro station, with a very well stocked super market as part of the metro station complex. There is plenty to see and do in the city and surrounding area, so much so, that we ended up running out of time and not being able to fulfill all the items we had listed on our itinerary. As my son lives in Helsinki, we will have no hesitation in returning for future visits.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aberdeen, Scotland

Good hotel close to main public transport hub

Posted Aug 1, 2014
Pros: Said it all in the previous box.
Cons: For us the hotel meets our needs perfectly and we see no requirement for additional facilities.
Location: Close to 1] train & bus stations for getting around Helsinki and beyond 2] numerous museums, galleries & restaurants 3] ferries & cruise ships nearby.
This is a good, inexpensive hotel with friendly & helpful staff. It is located in the city centre near to the main railway and bus stations. The ease of access from the airport has been another factor that has made it our choice of hotel when visiting Helsinki. We have stayed on four separate occasions in recent years. We will be visiting Finland either later in the year or early 2015 and we intend to stay in this Cumulus hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Great affordable Helsinki hotel.

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Pros: Location. Can't beat an easy walk to the airport bus.
I really think I got lucky with this hotel. It is an easy walk from the train station (where the airport bus also departs/terminates). The staff are quite nice, the breakfast is ample, and there is even a sauna, albeit without any beating you with birch twigs. I would easily stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Excellent city centre location

Posted Jun 6, 2014
Family of three used this as a base for a two-week stay. Very adequate buffet breakfast and plenty of eating facilities on neighbouring streets for later in the day. Superb transport links very close to hotel which is also within easy walking distance of main station, post office and principal shopping district. As city centres go, this was value for money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by pacioli from Brisbane Australia

Great hotel

Posted Jun 3, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: In room tea/coffee making facility would be good. Replace the doona with a sheet in summer.
Location: See above. Jump on tram 3 and ride its big loop. Be careful about which harbour your ship leaves from. Tram routes MIGHT change daily.
This hotel is closer to the train station than maps indicated and was right next door to the metro. Trams stopped outside the hotel door. The room was very good and breakfasts terrific. I cannot speak highly enough of this hotel. its staff and its location .
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2014 by Agneta, Hotel Management
Dear pacioli, Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you feel you received great service. I will pass your kind words to our staff. Thanks again for staying with us. We hope to see you soon again in Cumulus Kaisaniemi Helsinki. Best regards / Kari-Petri Hovi, Hotel Manager / Cumulus Kaisaniemi Helsinki
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in the centre of town

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Pros: Location, great breakfast
Cons: Better ventilation in the shower room
Location: Art gallery, Stockman's department store, harbor, boat trips, lutheran church
Great location close to the central station. Room nice and tidy.
3 out of 5
by Patrick from Inverness

Conveniently close to the nicer part of the town

Posted May 27, 2014
Pros: The proximity to all parts of the town, and the helpful staff.
Cons: Ventilation and cooling of bedrooms.
Location: We had appointments in the university, a dinner arranged at the Swedish Club, a service at the Orthodox Cathedral, and a trip arranged. All on foot.
Whilst the accommodation was very ordinary, the staff were pleasant and helpful. The (twin) room was rather cramped and much too hot. Breakfast was good. The hotel has a very good location, close to the railway station, and within easy walking distance of all parts of the old town, and close to the university.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2014 by Agneta, Hotel Management
Dear Patrick, Thank you for taking the time to review Cumulus Kaisaniemi Helsinki. We certainly do our utmost to make the stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you found our service pleasant. I will pass your kind words to our staff. All guest rooms have an individual control panel to adjust the heating & air conditioning. I 'm sorry that we could not quite meet your expectations regarding the guest room. Your valuable comments have been noted and will be documented for our future improvements. I do hope we will have the pleasure of having you as our guest again. Sincerely, Kari-Petri Hovi Hotel Manager Cumulus Kaisaniemi Helsinki
3 out of 5
by Sandy from uk

short break 5 days

Posted May 21, 2014
Pros: Handy for transport
Cons: Breakfast, Wi Fi played up, safe also played up
Location: very central
Hotel ok,but bit gloomy, breakfast not as good as other hotels in Helsinki
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2014 by Agneta, Hotel Management
Dear Sandy, Thank you for staying with us and for taking time to write us a review. Your comments are very important and allow us to improve our product and service continually. Your commets will be noted for our future improvements and we hope that should your travel plans bring you back to Helsinki we will see you again. Best regards, Kari-Petri Hovi, Hotel Manager / Cumulus Kaisaniemi Helsinki
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by skesalahti

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Susan from California

Close to train station and city center

Posted May 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel was pleasant, convenient and quiet. I prefer a cooler room and was able to get the temperature adjusted satisfactorily. Friendly service.