Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Decent hotel and good value

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Stayed here for a night in Helsinki, quite a good price and not far from the centre - we walked one way and got the tram back to the nearby stop later. Clean and pleasant enough, you have to pay extra for the parking (22 Euros), but perhaps this is normal. The sauna was pretty good too - no lake to jump in of course but nice that it was included.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Decent cost effective business style hotel

Posted Jul 22, 2014
The Holiday Inn West was a typical business style hotel. Decent rooms, (ask for the ones facing the lake). We stayed over a weekend and the person working seemed alone and busy, but the staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel is not walkable to the city centre, nor ferries, but there is a metro station and number 8 tram a few minutes walk away. There is also a small mall with 2 supermarkets and a couple of restaurants, however be aware that evening meal options on a weekend both within and closeby to the hotel are rather limited. (But that is why the price is lower than those in the downtown area, I guess) The gym was decent and the shower was great, but the real gem was walking in the park area along the water behind the hotel to the "beach". On a nice day, it was beautiful. I would recommend this hotel if you are ok with taking transport to see the sights.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tom from Florida, USA

Good Holiday Inn in the Helsinki business area.

Posted May 22, 2014
Pros: Was nice and quiet. Staff was very nice and helpful.
Cons: A complimentary breakfast would be nice. The bed comfort could be improved.
Location: In business district. Metro station is close and tourist section of Helsinki is about a 30 minute walk.
Nice hotel that's about a 30 minute walk from the downtown/tourist section of Helsinki. Metro and shopping mall is close.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, dry atmosphere

Posted May 15, 2014
Hotel is sufficient as a business stay over, however rooms are very dry and stale with no opportunity to let in any fresh Finnish air. This hindered sleeping on several occasions
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 4, 2014 by Mari, Hotel Management
Thank you for your visit in Holiday Inn Helsinki West – Ruoholahti and thank you for taking the time to write a review! Please accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience and dissatisfaction you had to face in our hotel. The building is designed with a glass façade and there is no possibility to open the windows, this isolates street noise and enables very quiet rooms. Thank you again for your review. We hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon. Best regards, Mari Salonen General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Giovanni Jaramillo from Fort Lauderdale

Expensive Breakfast buffet

Posted May 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Location is within walking distance of Metro and with a mall near by. My room was very clean and staff very helpful and profesional. My major complaint is breakfast buffet was not included and the cost was 18 euros or 25 USD.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Roger Bruton from Monein, France

Round the world

Posted Apr 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great hotel ... the location is a bit grim (I'm sure it's great if you are working in one of the surrounding offices) , but you can be in the centre of the city in 10 mins on the Metro.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 14, 2014 by MS, Hotel Management
Dear Roger Bruton, Thank You for Your feedback. We are happy to hear that Your stay with us have been great. The Metro is close and it is easy to go to the city centre. Again, thank You for the feedback and hope to see You again. Best regards, Tiina Heino, Duty Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by family of 3 from australia

GREAT HOTEL SERVICE AND LOCATION

Posted Nov 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
Our family of 3 enjoyed our 3days stay. Very warm inside hotel. Atmosphere is very warm, fresh and staff were professional and friendly. Great to use their Business Office to work and print documents from no extra charge. Great to use WIFI in our rooms no extra. Rooms were cleaned daily. Excellent location, a few mins walk to M, Tram, Buses. Supermarket and McDonalds are few mins away. Only problem we faced and able to endure, is the sofabed that son used - it was not that comfy...We would highly recommend this place and we would go back to it if we do visit Helsinki again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jim

Nice hotel with good access to central Helsinki

Posted Oct 1, 2013
Pros: Staff was very helpful and professional. Rooms were clean and the housekeeping staff was excellent.
Cons: There are limited other restaurants in the area besides the one at the hotel. Rooms are a little small, but sufficient.
Location: A 5 minute walk to the Metro and then a 3 minute ride to the Central Railway Station, which is the hub of Helsinki. Two nice markets in the area.
Enjoyed 4 nights at this hotel in west Helsinki. Will definitely stay there again on my next trip.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Norm from Western Australia

Good value quality hotel close to the city centre.

Posted Sep 22, 2013
Cons: No suggestions
Location: Hotel is located close to the city with public transport close to the front door.
This hotel is used by Cosmos Tours and we had an extra night there prior to joining our tour. Although we only had two nights accommodation we found the staff friendly and helpful. Nice clean comfortable rooms and the hotel is within walking distance to the city and ferries.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sailendra

Close to beach which give pleasant view from hotel

Posted Aug 29, 2013
Pros: Facilities available at hotel
Cons: Swimming pool
Location: Metro station is close to hotel so it is easy to move around in Helsinki
Good hotel with all ambience . Comfortable stay with good sea view along with being close to heart of Helsinki