Ratings based on 129 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from M

Hotel for people with lactose intolerance

Posted Oct 16, 2014
Hotel was no frills but clean. My main recollection was lactose free milk provided for cereal at breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Happy in Helsinki!

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: The comfort and basic effeciency and despite its size the quietness of the rooms and floors.
Cons: The buffet breakfast was interesting in making some new discoveries almost on a daily basis but the breakfast room can get crowded during the weekdays
Location: A walk behind the hotel saw us find an inland lake and park and lead to a larger harbour and outside food & craft market. Helsinki is a lovely city.
Hotel Arthur was a great find, a short walk from the central railway station and easy to find and check-in etc. The staff were all pleasant and helpful but like the Finnish people themselves a little reserved and not at all in your face. They generally won't approach you but are very helpful if you have any questions. Our twin room for 3 adults was basic but comfortable and surprisingly roomy with armchairs and floor space away from the beds. Room was a little warm with windows difficult too open but a minor critism as the outside weather was cooling during our stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Don't book - please!

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: A complete overhaul
Grubby and worn down! More of a hostel than hotel really Breakfast - terrible!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant reasonably priced central hotel.

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Arrived in the early hours - warm reception. Room hot, but we managed to open a window. Room basic but clean and comfortable, ditto bathroom. Good breakfast, and everything satisfactory.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Budget hotel right in the centre of Helsinki

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Pros: as I said location location location - internet very easy.
Cons: breakfast: eggs not freshly boiled in our opinion. Fruits were out of a can. Otherwise everything else was alright. No fridge in room.
Location: transport shopping art gallery - department stores all good
Really good. Stayed twice three times before. No fuss hotel. Trust. Easy staff. Very close to all public transport: trams, metro, central railway station. Room very large on this occasion with air con.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Over 100 years old hotel and one can tell

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Pros: Location, staff.
Cons: Maintenance, cleanliness, food.
Location: Very short walk to Parliament, Helsinki Cathedral, Main Bus and Railway Station, Theatre, Harbor with Market and Ferry and Uspenski Cathedral.
I stayed only one night with my two kids and because we are flexible and easy going natural people, we still enjoyed our night there. We stayed in room 417 and it needed some major remodeling and add-ons as well as the hallway. Room - molded caulk around shower, stained shower and window curtains and drapes - the latter may need just washing. Dirty windows and frames. Minibar, flat screen TV, hairdryer and pot with tea and coffee in the room, I wished for an alarm (or any) clock and for a latch (chain) to secure the door. The bedding was clean, beds OK, the hotel was quiet, safe, free of smells. Staff was nice, check in and out smooth, breakfast (included) was OK. Very well situated to walk to major city highlights and bus to the airport. I just expected a bit more for the price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from melbourne

close of city centre - easy check in - friendly -

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: price - rooms everything
Cons: all good
Location: very good indeed - tram - station metro
stayed here before good hotel value for money comfort is the key and location is very important also what you pay and this hotel has it all very competitive. only thing a bit hot as no air con but then it was unusually warm for late July
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Perfectly adequate.

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Elevators are fast, parkland behind the building.
Cons: Pillows aren't great.
Location: Very near buses going to airport, central enough.
Got bitten twice during the night, by a spider maybe...no screens in windows...typical for Scandinavia, it seems.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Real Helsinki Experience!

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Pros: The breakfast buffet was amazing! Included in the price of the hotel and a great value for money spent. The food overall was delicious!
Cons: There were several unusually warm/hot days and the room does not have an airconditioner, but this is typical for most of Finland. Also no laundry.
Location: Withing a few min. of every bus,train and tram you can think of. quick walk to Bays, Ocean, Cathedral, Theaters, museums, department stores etc...
Warning! This is not a luxury hotel, but rather a clean and well-kept establishment. We enjoyed ourselves thoroughly and highly recommend it to other travelers/adventurers. First of all, this hotel has a mindblowing breakfast buffet included in the price of the room. This is not to be missed. They have every kind of breakfast food imaginable from a huge range of delicious breads cheese and cold cuts to hot oatmeal with berry sauce to eggs and sausages. The dinner menu is also quite tasty. They even have a full bar. The staff and pleasant and conscientious. Don't expect a vivacious response from them... Finns are typically reserved... however all them worked very hard to provide clean and efficient service while being polite and attentive . Don't be fooled by the underwhelming hallways. Overall the hotel has a sort of seventies' look; however,the rooms were neat,clean and attractive. They included a T.V., shower and separate commode room. The wallpaper was attractive and complemented the chandelier.. yes! chandelier. The location is great. It is within a few min. walk to the main train/ bus station and central shops museums of Helsinki. However, being located on a short side street, it is far less dirty, noisy and creepy than some of the other hotels that sit right next to the train station. It has a very international flair to it. You will hear many different languages spoken by all the guests
4 out of 5
Recommended
by harmonyinthehome from Brighton UK

fine for good value, basic overnight stays.

Posted Jul 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is the third time I have stayed at the Hotel Arthur and i will continue to book it when I come to Helsinki to attend a retreats twice a year. I need a budget price and this hotel is perfectly suitable. The beds are comfy and the rooms clean and basic. The only complaint is the noise of the (air conditioning machine??)outside the back. so choose a room not facing the back if poss especially in the summer.......also it was hot this week and the windows could not open outwards enough because the heavy curtains prevented it/the humming noise ......It is only 10 min walk(I timed it!) to the central Helsinki Finnair bus stop to Helsinki airport.......all shops etc right on the doorstep. I will continue to book here because it is very good value.