Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by John from Ottawa, ON, Canada

Great place if you're travelling by train!

Posted May 30, 2012
Pros: Location, location, location...
Cons: The noise level outside
Location: Perfect for those traveling by train
The best feature of this hotel is the proximity to the main train station. It is located just across the street from the railway station and makes for very easy access and just-in-time boarding of your train. The included breakfast was quite acceptable though not luxurious by any means. You can either dine inside or walk out to an open-air balcony weather permitting. There is plenty of shopping in the area and many restaurants and bars of varying quality and price. The only downside of this hotel for us was the noise level outside although one should expect this from a hotel located in the center of the downtown core and surrounded by busy city streets, traffic and trams.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 7, 2011 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Pennington, NJ, USA

Vaakuna - excellent location in Helsinki

Posted Jul 24, 2011 on Hotels.com
I have stayed at Vaakuna a few times before and always enjoy my visit. You cannot beat the location, the airport bus stops right in front of it and so is the railroad station. It is also a short walking distance to all shopping and major sights in Helsinki. I had a small single room which was very comfortable but with no view. Ask for rooms overlooking the railroad station on the top floor, they have a great view with even a small balcony. Breakfast is included and is very good although this time I thought the dining room was a little untidy since many of the tables had not been cleaned up fast enough. Overall very good value for the money!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Excellent modern hotel in the center of Helsinki.

Posted Jun 21, 2011 on Hotels.com
Directly across the square from the historic railroad station. Perfect location, accomodating staff, great breakfast included, publich computers in the lobby. Hotel is modern and rooms are large (more American than European in character). Helsinki is an expensive city. Rooms at this hotel were reasonable given the quality. I would recommend this place.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from DUBAI

cevahir hotel in IST

Posted Nov 23, 2010 on Hotels.com
THE LOCATION OF HOTEL IS NOT BAD BUT IT A LITTLE FAR FROM SOME COMMERCIAL OR ENTERTAIMENT PLACES AND ALSO REGARD ENTERTAINMENT INSIDE THE HOTEL I CAN SAY NOTHING AT ALL, THE POOL IS LIMITED TIME DURING A SPECIAL HOLIDAYS BY VERY TOUGH ROLES. THE HOTEL RECEPTION DOESNOT VERY WELL ENGLISH AND NOT AWARE OF THE LOCATION OF THE CITY BREAKFAST ISNOT SUITABLE BY THE GRADE OF HOTEL
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, PA

Sokos Vaakuna in Helsinki - a great location

Posted Aug 18, 2010 on Hotels.com
Stepping into the lobby of this hotel felt like stepping into a Connery-era Bond film. The furnishings are 1950's, but still very, very elegant. The room was on the small side, but also tastefully decorated. I did not investigate the flat-screen TV options too much, but it all seemed to be extra-charge on-demand entertainment, which I wasn't thrilled with. Still, you're not in Helsinki to be in the room. The Vaakuna is conveniently located across the street from the central railway station, which is also where buses from the airport will drop you off and pick you up. Behind the hotel is the Mannerheimintie and the northern end of a shopping district. It is also a short walk to the sights of Senate Square or to Market Square to catch a tour boat. Breakfast is included, but I had to check out before service opened. Still, in the lobby, I was able to pick up a tasty (cold) breakfast sandwich of lettuce, tomato, cheese and a cold-cut to carry away with me. The elevators are very small: two people with large rolling luggage will pretty much fill them. They are fast, though. The guest room floors are laid out in a deceptively large open-triangle plan (with rooms on the inside and outside), with the elevators near one apex. If your room is on the far side of the triangle, as mine was, it feels like you're walking forever to get there. All in all, I found the proximity to the rail station and buses a great convenience when catching a 6am bus for the airport. For a quick (one-night) stay in Helsinki, it was definitely worth it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 9, 2010 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Edmond, OK

Posted Jul 7, 2010 on Hotels.com
Breakfast was absolutely wonderful. Choices that were unbelievable, and more than enough food. Sauna was great as well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from North Bay Village, FL

Vaakuna in Helsinki rocks!!

Posted Jun 9, 2010
I had a great time; the hotel and city are super nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Phila., PA

nice hotel

Posted Aug 5, 2009
Great breakfast. Nice staff. Good choice. Highly recommend. Asked for coffemaker for room and received it promptly.