Ratings based on 52 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom cornwall

close to resturants

Posted May 1, 2015
Pros: reasonable priced just what we needed at the time
Cons: no
Location: very good resturants & pubs
good comfortable stay went to thai resturant just down the street very good barman recommended it Very pleasant barman , good breakfast and pleasant staff would definatly stay there again if needed
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cheshire

Stephen was fantastic - so helpful and considerate

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Pros: Service - Stephen (don't know job title). customer service skills great- very hard working -on last thing and back in am. A Credit to the place. Food
Cons: Historic building - décor doesn't reflect this.Grotty smoking area with non working heaters.You get wet on your way to it if it rains
Location: Horrible new town area of Hemel H but pleasant old town. Close to London and attractions
Room although smallish was fine for a short stay. We ate there in the evening - excellent meal. Husband raved about the duck egg on bubble and squeak starter; home made burgers were great. Full English breakfast - Stephen offered us more tea and coffee (which makes a pleasant change from trying to catch the eye of a waiter to ask for refills) Altogether a great experience for a very affordable price - we will return!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Doncaster

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Decorating and cleanliness of the bathroom
Pleasant stay, room cleanliness could have been better, bathroom could do with a lick of paint , some wallpaper in the bedroom pealing at the corners.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom south west london

Friendly pub with bonus of rooms

Posted Apr 18, 2015
Great pub in a village with several pubs... Clean room, ample sized double room.. Large shower in a very ample bathroom.. Tea and coffee facilities bountiful.. Breakfast was made to order and very filling.. Great staff.. Would stay here again very close to Harry Potter Studio Tour
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bremen

Gemütliche Atmosphäre

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Uriger kleiner Pub, sehr gemütlich und schön gelegen. Die Zimmer sind im Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis ok. Nicht so schön waren der alte Teppich im Zimmer und der kaputte Knopf der Toilettenspülung im Bad.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

close to business location

Posted Mar 20, 2015
Pros: good price location was close to where I needed to be for the morning
Cons: should provide guidance about parking breakfast - nice, but ask for any extras when they take your order cause they dont come back!
Location: was their for business
over night site required for business trip - meets needs in terms of location. however my room was on the front of the building which meant all evening there was cars, bikes racing through the high street till early hours of the morning, no double glazing didnt help. the car park isnt really situated in an ideal place. You have to drive round the back and not from the high street which is a one way street! once you get to the back of the building your right in the middle of flats and lots of cars, so you have to park randomly - and doesnt seem safe. The hotel however opened their back gate and allowed me to park in their back garden which was secured. Not sure how this would suit if they were using it for their customers in the summer time!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Chrisfrom Worksop

Great value

Posted Jan 30, 2015 on Hotels.com
Great value. Helpful staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Howardfrom Draycott, Derby

Great vacation.

Posted Jan 28, 2015 on Hotels.com
Excellent choice, good location, plenty of other choices for food and drink. Food and drink at the Kings Arms was very good. Car parking available at back of Pub, not easy to locate.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Bed and breakfast with historical touch!

Posted Jan 20, 2015 on Hotels.com
Cosy, lovely and nice bed and breakfast with very friendly and helpful staff. Situated in the old part of the city and walkingdistance to shoppingcentre. If we are in the area again we will stay at to The Olde Kings Arms!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Alexanderfrom Sheffield

Perfect Stopover, Top Notch Service

Posted Jan 17, 2015 on Hotels.com
Very pleasant room out the back of the pub/restaurant area. Nice and spacious, a little drafty at first due to the older style building but the heating soon sorted that out. Fantastic service throughout, breakfast cooked to order, friendly advice on our planned day ahead (Harry Potter Studio Tour) and even complimentary sandwiches which was a lovely touch. Location was perfect for us, only a 20 minute drive from the studio tour the next morning and a 30 second walk from one of the best Indian restaurants we have ever dined at (The Cochin). Nice and quiet by the evening and no disturbances during the night. Would definitely reccommend and stay again!