Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Prague and Texas

Nice choice for pre-cruise

Posted Aug 10, 2014
We booked this hotel for a night before departing on a cruise. Although not exactly in the center, the location was easy walking distance to all the places a person needs to see in Heraklion. The roof-top restaurant and bar provides a great view, and the property is just across the street from a bus stop, so you can avoid the more expensive taxis.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice view and small lift

Posted May 11, 2014
Basically, I like this hotel. The nice location, good view from the roof bar. I found the smallest lift for all of my life. (For 3persons maximum)
3 out of 5
by George from Australia

Castello City Hotel experience

Posted Jul 17, 2013
Pros: Friendly helpful staff. Breakfast bar good
Cons: Small bathroom extremely poor bed.poor general maintenance
Bed were horrible ..Broken wooden slats An easy fix but not done Poor maintenance Non smoking room was smoky Staff great with any request Hotel position ok depending on your needs
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jasmine from Crete, Greece

Tired rooms, lack of restaurant and room service

Posted Nov 17, 2012
Pros: The friendly, helpful staff
Cons: Lack of Restaurant and Room Service
Location: Fairly centrally located but very busy, noisy streets, sometimes difficult to cross (although there are pedestrian crossings)
I chose it for the location as I needed to be a clinic about 10 minutes walk away. My room faced the front of the hotel and the noise of traffic kept me awake until 4 a.m, so guests should request a room at the rear. Unfortunately as it was October the restaurant was closed for evening meals for the winter (why is the hotel making a feature of the restaurantwhen it is only open for breakfast?) The hotel should state that the hotel cannot offer lunch or evening dinner during the winter. The first time I stayed there the resturant evening meal, which was delightful, meant that I did not have to trudge around the roads to find a place to eat. Thinking that it would be open throughout the year I booked in again last week. The result was that my friend and I walked endlessly looking for a place to eat in the evening, only to find those awful little kebab shops with the doner kebab and overcooked souvlaki on the menu. For this reason I wouldn't stay there again, but choose somewhere closer to the old harbour, which does have a couple of nice little tavernas that stay open in winter #Winter usually is from October to April in Crete). Apart from that I cannot emphasise how helpful the staff are. They made up for the rather stark room with a very small bathroom which definitely needed updating. The hotel also advertises not only a restaurant for evening dining, but room service too. This was also unavailable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Giannis

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 29, 2012 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Dork from Los Angeles, CA, USA

Decent short-stay hotel for explorers

Posted Sep 17, 2012
Pros: Location
Cons: Ambiance
Location: Easy access to and from the port and airport using the bus. Walking distance to city center.
We stayed for two non-sequential nights in this hotel, so we received two different rooms. Both rooms were decently comfy, but the beds were a little hard... there's no padding between you and the springs. The hotel is very clean, the staff is courteous and helpful, and the elevator is really really small. Good thing there were only two of us, since with our luggage no one else would fit in that thing. The rooms came with a small television, a balcony, and a mini fridge. Upstairs there was a bar/restaurant with a nice view, and the city center was easily within walking distance. There was a taxi station and bus stop across the street, making it an ideal centralized location. The first room had a balcony that led to a wall. It was not scenic at all. It was almost comical, the type of balcony you'd see in a cliched run-down hotel in a movie. I suppose it's there for smokers. The second room had a better balcony that oversaw the busy street, but the shower was waaay too small. I couldn't turn around without sticking to the curtain. And the curtain didn't do much other than stick to me, since it was too short to block water from splashing all over the bathroom. Another thing: there was this plaster wall display of a woman seemingly grieving at the tomb of her late husband, complete with a grieving child. Not quite the sort of ambiance I'd request when going on a magical Greek adventure. Decent hotel for short stops.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Luckily only one night stay

Posted Aug 28, 2012 on Hotels.com
Our reservation had a free upgrade of room, I can't imagine what we would have got in a standard room. The room had a dirty floor, the vents in the bathroom go through the entire building so you could smell smoke and other nasty things all the time. the bed was uncomfotable and you have to walk for ages to find somewhere decent to eat. Luckily we had a car so we had an amazing dinner near the port. I'm glad we only stayed one night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 10, 2012 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Castello Hotel Heraklio

Posted Jun 19, 2011 on Hotels.com
Centrally located with friendly and helpfull personnel. However is old and not so well maintained. Rooms are quite dark and quite noisy. The room service is poor. Water power in the bathroom is a problem if you want to have a shower. Possibly good for a short stay of 1 or 2 days max but definately not a good choice to spend holidays.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Pullman, WA

Good value

Posted Oct 21, 2009
The hotel is outside the city walls so that there is a bit of a walk to get into the center of things. It is an older property kept well but showing the wear and tear. The breakfast on the top terrace is excellent as well as any other food we had there and the personnel is very help- ful and friendly. It's a very good value for the money and we would stay there again.