Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to port

Posted Aug 16, 2014
5/10 minute walk to port to catch early morning ferry. Breakfast really lovely excellent choice. Everything we required.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from QLD Australia

Fantastic Hotel In Heraklion

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: Everything. The turn down service. The breakfast. The roof top pool, beautiful views over the Venetian Castle and harbour.
Cons: Maybe an ironing board and an iron could be provided.
Location: The location was excellent. It was across the road from the local bus stop, so it is very easy to go to Chania, Agia Nikoloas and Elounda.
We loved staying at the Hotel GDM megaron as it was a beautiful hotel with every convenience.it was just across the road from the local bus stop, so we were easily able to access transport to other towns in Crete. The breakfasts were delicious and the staff were eager to please. We were also upgraded to a deluxe room with a spa and that was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto

The best hotel in Greece with well deserved 5*

Posted Aug 1, 2014
Pros: The staff is friendly. The rooms are new decorated, clean, bright, and, overall, very cozy
Cons: wifi signal was a problem in the room
Location: good
The Megaron is one of my favorite hotels in Greece I love everything..about this place! I like luxury and Megaron delivered!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Really a 5 star hotel! Hotel staff was amazing! Close to the city center. Amazing breakfast!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 8, 2014
I stayed at GDM Megaron at the beginning of a my trip and at the end. It cannot be more convenient to the ferry terminal, as well as to a vibrant downtown scene with great restaurants and shops. The staff was exceptionally friendly and the breakfast was to die for. Also loved the rooftop restaurant/bar.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Kalij from Australia

Experience Heraklion in comfort.

Posted Jun 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
The GDM Megaron is an excellent option when visiting Heraklion and the local sights like Knossos. It is 200 metres from the main bus station which connects you with multiple destinations and 500 metres from the old port and town. Great staff, meals and accommodation in an area of great historical and cultural interest. The hotel is a stand out in an area of Greece that seems to be struggling. Many building projects have stalled and municipal services such as garbage collection and street cleaning are woefully inadequate. We found a stay of two nights would have been adequate for our needs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Joe

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Wonderful choice in Heraklion

Posted May 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
We recently stayed at the GDM Megaron for 5 nights. It was an excellent stay in every respect. Our suite was very comfortable, included many amenities, and had a great view over the harbor. Breakfast was delicious and the breakfast room was lovely. The staff members were always courteous, knowledgeable, and helpful. The hotel's location is right near many must-see sights including the Old Harbor and the Archeological Museum. A bus station is next door with buses going frequently to Knossos and other places of interest. We were very glad we stayed at the Megaron and highly recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by LeighAnn from San Diego

Luxurious and comfortable

Posted May 7, 2014
Cons: Clean graffiti off stairs and wall going up to hotel entrance, Landscape parking area beside hotel.
Outside the hotel was a bit dated and not luxury at all, but once you step inside, it is top class. Very clean and comfortable. Wonderful friendly staff. Excellent rooms and finishings, very clean and well maintained, and the King size bed was one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in! The breakfast was excellent with freshly baked goods and cakes each day and many choices. Not to mention a beautiful location. The rooftop pool was a great selling point but was very small. Still was nice to lay in the sun on the roof in comfortable loungers with the view of the fortress and port. It was worth every penny.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Smart hotel in good location

Posted Nov 7, 2013
The hotel is modern and stylish and well located. The staff were very helpful and welcoming. The bedrooom was beautiful and luxurious. Breakfast was ok - good choice, but hot food was cold. There was an excellent homemade cookie selection! Goid value. We'd definitely go back to the Megaron.