Ratings based on 47 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London UK

Great relaxing break in lovely surroundings

Posted Sep 25, 2014
Pros: see above
We booked a short break as we were in need of a good rest and this was the perfect place to go. Staff were lovely, food good, room fantastic, service excellent. With it's own really safe beach - wonderfully designed and engineered to make bathing pure fun. Good swimming pools. We particularly liked the fact that there was no need to carry cash around, free wifi (I needed for business), and reserved beds and 'cabins' on the beach for all rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Slice of Greek paradise right on the beach!

Posted Sep 24, 2014
Absolutely amazing holiday! The staff at Knossos gave a service that was second to none and made us feel so welcome and ensured we were well looked after. I have never known such friendly personable staff and was not surprised to learn the majority of them were locals to Heraklion who took great pride on their work and making guests feel like royalty. The restaurant staff were the best I have ever encountered in Greece and I have been everywhere! Knossos Beach Bungalows and Suites I cannot wait to return to your waterfront paradise next September!! ps. Don't be put off by the planes overhead when you first arrive as they quickly fade into insignificance as you are absorbed by the island feel of Knossos. Trust me! 10/10 *****5 STARS***** Thank you to all the staff who made our stay unforgettable and for the sunrises and sunsets I will never forget!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Blackpool

Very nice beach hotel, great service

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Pros: The service - everyone was helpful and friendly. The Swell Restaurant - very good and were very helpful when we requested room service.
Cons: Wifi was very poor in the rooms. Very limited English channels. Bar service around the pool would be nice.
Location: We went to Santorini for a couple of days which was wonderful. Saradi beach is a short taxi ride away, a lovely little beach and delightful taverna.
On arriving at midnight we were warmly welcomed and informed that the hotel had upgraded us to half board (we prefer to explore and eat in different places but this was a nice touch) and were invited to the restaurant for a plate of selected meze which was much appreciated after the journey. Initially we had booked the beach bungalow but this was quite small, basic and spartan so after the first night we upgraded to the junior suite. The bungalows do tend to have a better view of the beach as the junior suite is set back and only offered a partial view. All the rooms were very clean but there is a dramatic difference in the quality of furnishings and furniture between the the two types of rooms, the suites are much bigger and have very modern fittings including indoor and outdoor power showers. It was not clear until we arrived that the 4 poster beds on the beach are only available if you book a suite, some are located in rather rocky areas which are also very difficult to access and hard to get onto as they are very high off the ground, you need one near to the hotel rooms. The beach was clean, in some areas there is seaweed but this was easily avoided, sometimes the sea can be quite rough. The Swell Restaurant offers a high standard of food which was delicious and varied. Throughout our holiday the staff were all very friendly and helpful, particularly the guest relations staff who recommended some other local beaches/restaurants and arranged a trip to Santorini for us
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay. Beautiful beach and facilities!

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: The beach and the common areas! The building were beautiful Greek style. Great breakfast.
Cons: Is expensive to go the center by taxi.
Very nice place, we enjoyed it! It's good to rest and go to the beach Nice interior hotel common areas Beautiful view
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Scott B from Connecticut

Room with a view

Posted Jun 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
I had a great stay here. I was traveling for business and the conference hotel was oversold, so I found this place on hotels.com. Great room, upgraded to a suite. The view was beautiful, but the room was awesome, great showers - inside and an outside shower that was in a private garden. I would stay there again in a heart beat!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Liz B. from USA

It was OK

Posted Jun 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
My husband and I spend 3 nights at this hotel. We checked in pretty late after travelling from another island, and the room that they put us in had ants and another unknown bug crawling around, including on the bed. I called the reception and they said they would send the maid to clean the room, but I pushed for a different room and they did oblige. The second room was satisfactory. The bed was horribly uncomfortable, felt like sleeping on wood. We slept on top of the comforter to try and provide some extra padding. The location of the hotel isn't the best, it's about a 25 euro cab ride from Heraklion, but I think the reason people choose this hotel (myself included) is because it is on the beach. The views are pretty amazing and sunsets are very picturesque. The only downside to the beachfront location is that it is very close to the airport so you can hear planes taking off at certain times throughout the day, I did not mind this much but could see how others would. The reception staff isn't great at English, and offered no suggestions on activities or tours of the area that were available. We ate at the hotel restaurant one night which was amazing, some of the best food we had in Greece.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ron from Germany

Crete

Posted Jun 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Outstanding Hotel with lots of services. Remote, but short taxi/bus to town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rob from London

Well chuffed

Posted May 25, 2014
The private beach was great. Sandy and gentle slope into the sea. Looked even better from the private balcony. Room was comfy and cleaned everyday. All the staff were very nice and happy to help and the overall condition of the hotel was great too. The food in the restaurant was good with plenty iof choice. Hotel under flight path but this did not both me not noisy at all. Not much to do locally but regular bus right outside. Definitely worth upgrade to beach front
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Carlos from Toronto, Canada

Lots of potential

Posted Oct 18, 2013
Pros: Ocean view
Cons: Internet service in rooms, microwave, up-to-date information on nearby beaches.
Location: Some restaurants and tourist shops around
Hotel is spread out so depending on which room you have, it may mean quite a walk from your room to the lobby/restaurant (about 400 steps if located to the far right of the hotel). Lack of internet in the rooms may make this quite bothersome when needing to plan your activities. Breakfast buffet is SUPERB and the ocean view during the morning is quite stunning, but the dinner buffet is not as good. Hotel beach is not great but it is very well groomed. The facilities for onsite activities are few. One tennis court in ok condition, a tiny, very tiny mini-golf and small children playground. Staff is accommodating and helpful but in our experience they lack the knowledge regarding beach conditions on the island, to the point where we were sent to a 'good' beach that was a dump and trashed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Neil from London, UK

Top Quality Hotel and Service

Posted Oct 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel could not be faulted for location - it could not be closer to the beach. We stayed in a Junior Suite which had a terrific terrace that overlooked the beach (not directly on it unlike some rooms - it was a row back) but it also had a bathroom that was as large as some hotel rooms we have stayed in. The room comes with a day bed and loungers on the beach for your exclusive use. We travelled with our four month old daughter, and this was perfect in our situation. The level of service from all staff was exemplary and a credit to everybody. The only drawback is that the local area is a bit lacking - if you go all-inclusive I can imagine this wouldn't be a problem, but we were B&B and wanted to enjoy a greater variety of meals out (we wanted to avoid buffet style meals with our young daughter). Highly recommended otherwise though.