Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alex

In a quieter area of town close to the beach.

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Pros: The friendly staff and closeness to the beach.
Cons: Everything was perfect.
Location: Beach 10 in walk away. Penguin colony 25 min drive away in Betty's Bay.
From the moment we arrived until we left the lady (don't remember her name) taking care of us from check in, giving us information on things happening close by, serving us breakfast right up until we checked out was very friendly and always had a smile. Very warm welcome. The room was very large and spacious with its own private balcony. The very large bathroom had a stand alone shower and a bath. The room was very clean as was the whole house and property. The WIFI worked perfectly in the room. We had a wonderful stay and will definitely recommend it. It was on a residential street away from all the traffic and noise of the city center. 10 min walk to the beach and a lovely beach walk on a paved walkway.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Jose from Miami Beach

Comfortable, Clean, Quiet,

Posted Dec 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
Please check the address. It actually is 19 Lang St Sandbaai, really close to Hermanus. The house is really beautiful in a quiet area, comfortable and clean rooms. It is perfect for sleeping and then go around the area for the activities. I will stay again here in my next trip!
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Rosemary

Not in downtown Hermanus

Posted Jan 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
The address for this guest house was quite misleading as it was NOT at 17 Long Street in Hermanus, but 17 Long Street in Sandbaai, a community west of Hermanus, although near the ocean, it is some distance off the main Garden Route highway. http://www.hermanus-guesthouse.com/en/hermanus-guesthouse/map-directions.php. Thanks to our having a cell phone for South Africa, we were able to contact the very helpful owner even late in the evening and got street by street directions to her place. Please clarify the location more clearly for future guests. Also note that some rooms are upstairs and there is no elevator. The breakfast selection was very good and the made-to-order hot breakfast was great.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Claire

Disappointing

Posted Nov 25, 2012 on Hotels.com
Not in a great location - 3km from hermanus. Bed uncomfortable and room noisy due to fridge. No view. Communal areas disappointing. Cooked breakfast terrible. There are better options.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Linda from Norwich UK

Great Guest House

Posted Nov 19, 2012
Pros: Everything, the friendship the rooms in fact we loved our time there
Cons: none
Location: A little off the beaten track but this added the the charm, you would need transport to visit the town
Fantastic guest house, the lady who greeted us was so friendly she organised a Whale watch cruise, she was very knowledgeable about the area recommending resturants and local food, Breakfast was fresh and very good, would love to visit again, the lady who dealt with breakfasrt could not have been nicer, we chatted for quite a while about the local food, fish etc. I cannot rate this guest house high enough
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England, UK

A friendly welcome, but basic accommmodation

Posted Feb 20, 2012
A friendly welcome, but the hotel seemed a bit dated and lacking in character. The room was basic,- although it was good to have a bedside clock. Our room was at the side and had a room called a 'balcony' with 2 hard chairs and no view. This could have been a very relaxing area if there had been comfortable chairs and some pictures and ornaments to brighten it up. I think the rooms facing the front with proper balconies would be much better. Breakfast was good and for a one night stay it was OK. The location was on a large estate and not very close to the sea.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from england

amakhosi guesthouse,close to hermanus

Posted Nov 22, 2011 on Hotels.com
excellent room and breakfasts, just outside hermanus but with easy access. very good host
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 8, 2011 on Hotels.com