Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by vgml from Sydney, Australia

Management problems

Posted Jan 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
We have stayed in many fine hotels across South Africa and we envisaged that this hotel would be no different...but it was. The room itself was satisfactory but we were deceived as we were told, and it clearly stated in writing, that we had an ocean view room. When I took this up with management there was absolutely no care taken to see what else was possible for us within the hotel. It didn't end there. We actually would have had water glimpses if the car parking spaces were not directly in front of our room. Also because of the security issue we were concerned about being on street level with absolutely no precautions taken to see that the guests would be safe. Add to this that the phone in our room didn't work...thankfully we didn't have something to report. The staff were not helpful and this was obvious on so many levels. Breakfast was sub standard and because it was raining and the outdoor tables could not be used, there was not enough room inside for the guests and many who had breakfast included on their room rate had no alternative but to go elsewhere for breakfast. I hate to be the bearers of bad news but I am trying to safe others from staying at this Hotel. Harbour House 2 stars.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jo from Kent, UK

Great position overlooking the sea.

Posted Dec 1, 2013
After having a dreadful flight experience thanks to British Airways, it was lovely to receive such a warm welcome and excellent service. The hotel is of a very high standard but quite small and friendly. The main positive being the staff who couldn't do enough for us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bruce from Seattle

Excellent Hotel a short walk away from whale watch

Posted Oct 22, 2013
Pros: Location, room size and amenities
This hotel is perfect for whale watching. The cliff walk to see the whales is a very short walk from the hotel and the whales come in really close. The staff was attentive and recommended good places to eat nearby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Malcolm from Sydney NSW, Australia

Great stay

Posted Aug 17, 2013
Enjoyable stay- great location, comfortable room and good breakfast selection
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by LB from Manchester

Lovely hotel

Posted Aug 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
Lovely hotel, nice rooms very clean. The staff are very friendly and it is in a great location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by KeithF from London

Central, great sea views

Posted Jun 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
We very much enjoyed our brief stay at the Harbour House Hotel. Staff were very welcoming, the room was excellent and the location central and scenic. Minor quibbles are that breakfast was not included in the room rate (but there's a great open-air breakfast bar just across the road!), and that wi-fi should be accessible for free in the rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mags from Dubai" UAE

Great hotel in Hermanes

Posted Apr 27, 2013
Pros: Local is perfect, rooms are very comfortable and staff are great.
Cons: Difficult to find I. He dark!
Location: Dubai, UAE
We had a problem finding the hotel initially so called the hotel for directions. The concierge came out to look for us - above and beyond what we would have expected. Bedroom was very comfortable. Location is great and the staff all very accommodating. If you are looking for a great place to stay in Hermanes, then look no further.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Richard from Santa Rosa, CA

Great beach hotel location

Posted Mar 28, 2013
My wife and I stayed for one night this March 2013. If we would have known earlier what a nice place this is we would have stayed another night. The room was very clean and the hotels location is right on the beach. There are restauants nearby and the location is very central. The breakfast was good and fresh. This is a very well kept property and if we visit Hermanus again we would stay here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by trevor and sandra

unbelievable location, just right

Posted Feb 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
Big mistake,.....! only booked for one night wish we had booked for longer. excellent location and personnel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel in a prime spot

Posted Feb 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
It's a lovely hotel in a perfect spot in Hermanus. Great room and a great rate. Well worth it.