Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Three night break

Posted Mar 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
An old style hotel with an excellent location. Very friendly staff that were happy to go that extra mile. We were fortunate to be upgraded to a room with a sea view that really made this a trip to remember. We will probably return to this hotel next year.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Roger from Guernsey. C I.

Impressive position on the Cliff Top

Posted Mar 5, 2014
Cons: Nothing, the staff would be on to it in minutes.
We stopped here for three nights in February, this is a beautiful Hotel, and is in an Historic building, on the cliff top, adjacent to the town of Hermanus, which is known for its whales, however this was February, and the whales had all gone back to the Antarctic with their now growing young. The Hotel is part of a group of three Hotels, and we have friends who stay in all three, we have eaten in two of them previously, but this is the first time we have stayed in this hotel in Hermanus. We have not been disappointed, everything has matched up to what we expected, and the quality is very high, both of the staff, the building, and of course the food. If you want stress free accommodation close to the town, with the cliff walk, which is capable of taking a wheelchair, right outside and runs for up to six kilometers, with beautiful views, and all the other good things of life, then look no further, you have found it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Billy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Paula from London

Not quite five-star

Posted Jan 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
Rooms are large, and have beautiful views out to the ocean. But the décor throughout is tired and needs to be updated/upgraded. The bathrooms, in particular, are outdated and not up to five-star standard.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Vacation

Posted Oct 29, 2013
Pros: Location, food and service all excellent.
Cons: Hotel is old and it could use a bathroom upgrade (faucets, shower, etc.)
Marine Hermanus did a great job in making us comfortable and feeling like VIPs. They upgrades us to an ocean front room and we saw the whales from our room. Could not ask for anything more. Restaurants were excellent and the service was great. We will recommend to all our friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Janet from Kent

great hotel

Posted Oct 13, 2013
Pros: We had a suite which was very comfortable and bright. The complimentary wine and fruit was very nice touch, and fresh flowers.
Cons: Nothing
Location: It was on the coast to see the whales, lots of restaurants within walking distance and little shops.
This hotel was fantastic, close to the sea, where you could see the whales from our room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by PrueD from Australia

Lovely

Posted Sep 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
Enjoyed every minute
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Blake from New York, NY

Just ok, not worth the cost

Posted Aug 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
This is a totally fine and nice hotel. But I don't think it's worth the "premium" it costs to book this place. Great location, nice staff. Rooms are a bit "old school" in design, could use an upgrade / modernization. Certainly not a bad choice, just not worth the cost in my opinion. Seems to be lots of cheaper options that are very nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Hermanus-ite from UK

Gorgeous setting

Posted Dec 17, 2012
Pros: View and the flowers
Cons: No wifi and no one to sort it
Location: Marvellous
The hotel is in a wonderful position, but the pool was disappointing and the wifi was not working. Th staff were very pleasant
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best place to see Southern Right Whales

Posted Oct 31, 2012
At the right time of year this is a fantastic location for whale watching. Lovely hotel, great location & you don't even have to get out of bed to see the whales :)