Ratings based on 189 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful setting!

Posted Mar 19, 2015
Nesteled on hill above rain forest with wonderful views, sunsets and access to private beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful views from the hilltop down to the beach

Posted Mar 12, 2015
Pros: The views, the pool, our suite.
Very friendly reception and room staff, beautiful grounds and lovely views from everywhere. Lovely swimming pool and good spa facilities with excellent massage.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Canada

Georgeous hotel with disappointing service

Posted Mar 11, 2015
Pros: Everything in this hotel is designed to create a feeling of peace and serenity.
Cons: Service needs attention. Certain staff members have unpredicable ways of problem solving.
we stayed at Villa Caletas on March 2, 2015. The hotel has breathtaking views over the surrounding hills. I loved its tropical Victorian design. The infinity pool and surrounding areas are amazing. The beds are comfortable, our room was very cozy and had everything to make us feel as if we were at home. The service however, is another story. We arrived to the pool by 15:00, the guy there infomed us that there was only one towel left, which was not quite enough for two people. No attempt to problem solve or call for extra towels. We went into the pool and he started tiding up the chairs and collected a few leftover towels from the chairs. I assumed they were going to be sent to be washed. When we got out of the pool, I went to see if he has received additional towels and he handed me one. For my surprise the towel was quite wet, I handed it back to him. There was a moment of mutual discomfort and silence before he grabbed another towel. This one had dried a bit better in the sun from the previous user. There was no point for further discussion, the situation was quite hopeless. Later in the evening there was an issue with the temperature in the minibar in our room, it took 45 minutes and another call to the reception before someone came to check. This could have been OK if it was not bedtime.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Tampa, FL

Loved it!

Posted Mar 8, 2015
Pros: It was beautiful, clean and friendly
Cons: Everything was fabulous.
Location: We went into Jaco and toured around, as well as Manuel Antonio National Park
It was very relaxing and everyone was friendly and helpful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom fort worth, tx

no bar open!!!

Posted Mar 7, 2015
Pros: rooms, view, staff, location, privacy
Cons: keep bar open... it's a beautiful bar... and they close???
Location: beautiful spot on top of a mountain with private beach which takes a shuttle to get to.
One of the most beautiful hotel locations I have ever been to. and one of the friendliest! However, I am puzzled on why their was no bar open on a Saturday night. At 8 p.m., after dinner, we attempted to have an after dinner drink at the bar only to find it closed. For what one is paying to stay here, that is unacceptable. And when we tried to have a drink, we were shuttled out of the way into the pool room where we had no interest in staying. Part of going out is to have conversations with othter guests and share experiences. We were not allowed that. To me this is a major knock on staying here. Apparently they want your money but are unwilling to provide the amenities needed for a first rate establishment. And once you arrive you become somewhat captive due to the drive down the mountain and into town. Other than that, I truly enjoyed staying here as the staff and rooms are excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto, ON.

Room with a view

Posted Mar 5, 2015
Pros: Location, location, location!
Cons: The restaurant tries too hard - food is ok but they would be better off simplifying the menu and using more local flair and flavour. No daily specials
Location: Tarcoles River and its crocodiles or try the super pataconnes at Los Crocodillos by the bridge. Carrara National Park and the Scarlet Macaws.
Excellent location with stunning views - watch the sunset from your bed or the hammock on your verandah - truly relaxing and soporific. Its well worth the track to the beach whether on the shuttle or hiking down. Beach is rocky but gorgeous - very quiet and secluded.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 1, 2015
Cons: Food needs significant improvement; it does not nearly match the level of hotel
Hotel/room is beautiful! Could not have been improved!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A truly unique Hotel

Posted Mar 1, 2015
Location: Jaco beach is about a 15 minute drive from Hotel. Typical beach village. Interesting shops.
My Husband and I had a truly wonderful experience staying 2 nights at this Boutique Hotel. It is set in the most breath taking surroundings in Costa Rica. The decor is unique and the staff are superb! The Hotel has it's own private beach with transport. We will definitely return for a much longer stay. I have traveled extensively through Europe in my time, but have never stayed in a place that gives you that overwhelming feeling of wanting to return!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom S.

Wonderful stay. Beautiful views .

Posted Feb 24, 2015
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom San Antonio, TX

Perfect Second Honeymoon

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Pros: We enjoyed everything about this hotel and would highly recommend it to travelers seeking a peaceful vacation in a beautiful setting
My husband and I selected Villa Caletas for our Valentines Day wedding anniversary based on many positive reviews. We were not disappointed! The photos do not do the hotel justice - the long drive up the hill to the hotel had breathtaking views and the daily sunsets over the ocean were spectacular. We stayed in the standard deluxe room with a gorgeous view of the ocean. The rooms were clean and nicely appointed with antique furniture. Although many reviewers seem to recommend the villas, we loved staying in the main building and not having to walk up the huge hill to go to the pool and restaurants. Upon advice of the concierge, we booked a private terrace to celebrate our anniversary. Incredibly romantic, great service from our waiter Reiner and amazing food. Some tips for fellow travelers: if you stay here, you should rent a car instead of paying expensive tour and taxi fees (but be aware of potentially high insurance fees - shop around and check CPW coverage with your credit card company). We strongly recommend the nearby Carara National Park over Manual Antonio - less touristy, less expensive, same animals to view plus scarlet macaws, free parking and only 15 min drive. We recommend hiring a guide ($25pp). In a 2 hour tour, Antonio helped us spot sloths, howler monkeys, capuchin monkeys, macaws and several other bird species.