Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by Mandy from Near London, UK

Beware - this is an all-inclusive resort and not really 5 star

Posted Aug 26, 2010
We were disappointed with the Aldemar Knossos, which isn't deserving of its 5 stars. On the plus side, our room was very good and the grounds and swimming pools spacious and beautiful, and staff helpful. The pool slide was fun and the beach restaurant for lunch was spot on. We chose this hotel as it was 5 star with different restaurants and bars. We soon discovered that about 80% of the guests were on an all-inclusive plan - something we strive to avoid. We prefer to pay for quality rather than quantity, and do not enjoy buffets. So the bars were busy and the poor staff run off their feet trying to give decent service to the many drinkers trying to get their monies worth of booze. We had to suffer the same busy bars and consequentially bad service, AND pay 5 star prices. There was only 1 a la carte restaurant open to us at any one time. Unfortunately the whole length of the beach is rocks which start just at the edge of the sea - my husband is a little unsteady on his feet and we couldn't get him in the water (even with beach shoes) as its so rocky. Such a shame as the sea was a delight once you were in. The pools are all salt water which I hadn't realised either, and the sun beds white plastic, with plastic type canvas - not something you'd normally see in a top notch hotel. No bar service to the sun beds or assistance with sun beds etc. I know this will sound picky to some people, but we only managed a week's holiday this summer and we really wanted a good one.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Milano, Italy

Nice but not wow

Posted Aug 28, 2008
Overall Knosses Royal Village is a nice beach resort set in a beautiful garden. It is perfect for a family vacation, whether travelling with small children or teenagers. On the plus side I would mention the bungalows (ground floor have nice terrasses), the huge slide (a total winner with our kids) and the small beach off the cliff, great for snorkeling. On the neg side, the hotel does overbooking and we had to spend the first night in another hotel, bungalow having "technical problems". We were there in August and the hotel was extremely crowded. We had to get up at 8 am to "book" a lounge chair by the pool, by 8:30 there were none left. The food (buffet for all 3 meals) is plentyful and the quality good, but not outstanding. And quite repetitive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London

Very Nice Family Vacation

Posted Jul 29, 2008
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here, it is ideal for families. We went with our 2 year old son. The rooms are a good size, the baby cot was big which was great as our son is quite tall. Due to a very good layout of the hotel and many pools, you really don't feel that you are staying in such a big complex, which is nice. I agree with other reviewers that this is not a 5 star, probably a low level 4 star in terms of service and decor but it has everything you need. The woman who runs the mini club is very nice and even though our son is only 2, he could use the facilities as long as we were present. The baby disco at night was very entertaining. There is a lot of shade around the pools for those trying to get out of the direct sun and the water slide was fun. The buffet is ideal for children who are picky eaters as you can try out many different things. I would definitely recommend this hotel for families.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Great Resort

Posted Oct 23, 2007
We really enjoyed the resort. The beach, the pool, and the ambiance were first rate. The food was average, but the value of having the food plan (breakfast & dinner) was very high given the location. It was very difficult to find. Recommend no car unless necessary to explore.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by couple from Cheshire

Beautiful location, wide-ranging facilities, extremely helpful staff

Posted Sep 30, 2007
We aren't the easiest family to please - specific needs include easy access for our son who uses a wheelchair, and dietary restrictions for a father with high blood pressure and hypercholeserolaemia. The hotel were amazingly responsive and helpful on both counts - allowing us to use a different restaurant to the main one (which has steps to access) and preparing a special platter of food daily immediately after we arrived.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by couple from Manchester

Excellent service - high price for water

Posted Sep 21, 2007
This hotel is labeled as 5 star, which it does not deserve based on the facilities in the room or the comfort of the beds, but if you're staying here you probably will not spend too much time in the room. On site pools and facilities are very good, though maintenance is needed in places. Not a good place from which to tour Crete, as access is difficult along narrow roads. Not really suitable for the disabled - too many steps - but the staff are really helpful. The food and service is very good. Overall the hotel is very good but, as we wanted five star rooms, to tour Crete, and we have a disabled son, we should have stayed elsewhere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London

Would definitely return

Posted Aug 28, 2007
We went to the Aldemar Knossos Royal Village after reading a positive review in The Daily Telegraph and I really can't praise it highly enough. The location is beautiful with it's own private beach, we opted for a room with a sea view which I would highly recommend. Even though the hotel was pretty much full we always got a good spot on the beach or by the pool. The food was very good in all the restaurants on site and I would not agree with other reviewers who said the food was not always hot enough - it was fine when we were there. The service was really first class and we were so struck by how friendly all the staff were and they all seemed to have a really genuine love of children. All round a great place to go - especially for families.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Hampshire

Fantastic Hotel

Posted Jun 8, 2007
Really lovely hotel, amazing food, I am a vegetarian and there was plenty to eat. Friendly staff and plenty to do, the waterslide is great if you have kids. Drinks/food are expensive a cocktail costing 8 euros.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from expat in Munich

Dinners were a bit of a zoo

Posted May 8, 2006
This hotel offers buffet meals and you can opt for any or all of the meals when you reserve. We quickly tired of this routine because they serve hundreds of people every meal and, while they did a good job, it is a big challenge to please hundreds of people for three meals a day. If you get there early, your table, chair, and the floor around you is clean.