Ratings based on 42 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Very nice hotel, but breakfast spoilt it

Posted Apr 28, 2014
I have been to this hotel a few times and it has always been very nice, rooms are clean, staff are nice and the Friday night music is very good, but the drinks are very expensive. The breakfast has recently been changed and not for the better, the tea is in a glass which makes it to hot to hold, and the bread is now sourdough, which is rock hard and the also gave me the wrong type of eggs, but everything else was very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel :)

Posted Nov 30, 2013
On arrival we were asked if we'd been made aware that a dj would be playing that night - we weren't but it turned out we couldn't really hear it anyway (our room was 2nd floor). Girl on reception wasn't terribly helpful but all other staff very helpful/friendly. Room was lovely, very clean and warm. Overall a very pleasant experience and a good nights sleep :) breakfast was much better than expected - we could choose anything from the menu and had tea/coffee/juice available, we were told there would be a continental buffet and anything extra would be charged so very night surprise. We would definitely stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Donna Greenfrom London

Hertford House

Posted Nov 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
Stayed here on a Sat night. Was aware of the bar and nightclub in the basement so not a problem with the expected noise.Im sure the doormen do their best to disperse the crowds at 2.30am but it was noisy. to be expected on the high st though. Hotel itself was lovely, bar really nice (far too busy in the evening though) and great location. breakfast (room service) was fab! would definately return to this hotel. Great place to party too...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Susanfrom Bristol

Excellent Location

Posted Nov 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
Right in the heart of Hertford, Room was lovely, good size, comfy bed, good cleanliness. Staff were pleasant and helpful
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by geezer63rdfrom Borehamwood

FIne for a night out

Posted Oct 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
Didn't use many hotel facilities outside of the room. Room was good, clean as expected. Bed was comfy and warm. TV ok. Bathroom and shower were good. I was out late for the evening and so didn't get back to hotel room until late. Noisy area as exactly in town centre bar area. No good if a light or early sleeper but fine for me after a couple of beers. Fine for a night out but not a quiet get-away. No surprises at all, good clean and functional. Parking in multi-story is free overnight and on Sundays
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Allison

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Super gemütliches Hotel mit tollem Ambiente

Posted Oct 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
Ich gehe immer wieder gerne in dieses Hotel, wenn ich in der Nähe auf Montage bin. Super gemütliche Location, in der man sich wohlfühlen kann. Bar, Chop House sowie Freiterrasse laden zum Verweilen ein. Die Zimmer haben auch Wohlfühlcharakter.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by katie

Excellent place to stay!

Posted Sep 16, 2013
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Perfect central location!
I stayed with a friend on a night out we had a brilliant expence and will defenatly be back again! Staff were fantastic and rooms in great condition!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Steve

Superb location

Posted Sep 16, 2013
Superb hotel. Great location. Staff gave top notch customer service. Our room was very clean. I would defo stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Andrewfrom London

Beware the nightclub downstairs

Posted Sep 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
By far the biggest issue was the fact that the lower floor(s) of the building are a nightclub apparently run by the hotel. So even though I was on the 3rd floor using earplugs and with a very noisy fan on, I was still kept awake by the nightclub noise until 2 or 3 in the morning. My other comments are as follows: This hotel really is rather bizarre. It is as though someone who knew how to run a high-end hotel set it up, but then left the place in the hands of his/her teenage children. The rooms are lovely and comfortable, but slightly fraying around the edges (e.g. broken fan in my room that was both noisy and had a broken switch on it). The service was friendly enough, but slightly inept. On check-in, the clerk didn't know how to read the hotels.com confirmation and tried to charge me extra money. Also, when I requested the WiFi password, they provided me with one that was slightly wrong from memory, rather than checking, resulting in two calls down to front desk to get the right one.