Ratings based on 36 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by bob from b

Very good

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Nice large room, friendly staff, good price... that's a win in my book! Only downside was I struggled with mobile reception, but as is free wifi I used Skype instead.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A from Bedfordshire

Posted Dec 16, 2013
Pros: Convenient for staying at after party at Whistling Duck
Cons: More bar staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nik

Pleasant stay,

Posted Dec 2, 2013
Cons: The price could be lowered.
A nice hotel although a little costly, the room was spacious and the bed comfortable. Staff were pleasant and the hotel in all was nice, including the bar and lounge area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Marilyn from Derby

Lovely village location, so close to London

Posted Dec 1, 2013
Pros: Warm room, plenty of free parking Good food, served efficiently Lovely king sized bed
Cons: Carpets looking a bit tired, but overall we were well pleased
We stayed overnight after visiting our son in Hertford. Cannot fault the hotel, staff or restaurant. The staff were welcoming and friendly and the restaurant prices very fair. We will definately use it again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Geoff from Waterloo

very good service

Posted Nov 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
The Hotel was very clean and the rooms were comfortable, The hotel staff were very friendly and the food in the restaurant was lovely, very nice breakfasts too. Very quite location good for breaking a trip, very quiet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by JF from Oxford

Posted Oct 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
Ideal location for us, just off the main road in a quiet village location. Room was absolutely fine, plenty of space, comfortable and well presented.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by businesstraveller from Sussex

Could be a lot better

Posted Oct 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
The room was clean, comfortable and modern, but step outside and it's tired. Felt like it could do with some love and investment. The food was hit and miss too, despite being virtually the only diner in the restaurant it took a while for my main course to arrive. The starter of creamy garlic mushrooms was served on what seemed a stale bread roll (I was hungry, I ate it) though the surf and turf was fine. The dessert though was frankly the worse thing I've ever had in a restaurant. The creme brulee. Tasted of absolutely nothing and had the consistency of over thickened wallpaper paste. It was obviously made well in advance (seemed like weeks!) then topped with sugar and toasted. Breakfast was a similar let down, the bread for the toast was just the cheap plastic variety. Really? Not even some seeds? The scrambled egg was meagre and a suspisciously bright yellow, on top of unbuttered toast! Why do hotels do that? I had to scrape and butter it myself. Anyway, it was aqequate overall, but it would be so easy to make it much better. I'll not return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean and friendly hotel

Posted Sep 30, 2013
Very clean and comfortable hotel , breakfast too expensive at £10.75, and a taxi drive away from any shops etc. all in all good hotel