Ratings based on 128 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent 4 star hotel with supurb pool and gym.

Posted Aug 10, 2013
Pros: The pool
Cons: Breakfast was fairly ordinary but certainly nothing wrong with it.
Location: very rural set in beautiful countryside.
Very comfortable hotel. Excellent beds. Superb large and warm pool. Good gym. Totally happy with our two night stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Aug 10, 2013
Very peaceful, beautiful setting and excellent staff and standards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Caesar from London

Pleasant and quiet countryside

Posted Aug 5, 2013
Pros: Cleanliness
Cons: Eating, lack of choice over a week
Location: Wonderful for visiting the area. Hadrian's wall , Romans and walking
Disappointed with our eating experience . The menu in all restaurants did not change daily. It was set for the season. We were staying for a week and chose to eat in Hadrian's or Duke's so that we could enjoy a drink but found we were restricted in our choice of food after three evenings. Breakfast was also chaotic as often dishes, plates, bread and basics ran out and there seemed to be panic clearing and relaying of tables by managers . Rating could so easily be improved by simple changes to organisation .
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Silver from Edinburgh

great for golfers & people who want to be isolated

Posted Aug 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
Beautiful grounds & superb golf facilities. No phone signal & barely any Wi-Fi (unacceptable for 4*). probably chose hotel for wrong reasons. However as a 4star hotel, they need to work harder. the room was just ok, had a lamp that didn't work & the mirror in bathroom had a chipped corner & also didn't light up. At breakfast they ran out of bowls & plates 2 days out of 3, which I find unacceptable, not enough staff & tables slow to be cleared, Buffet food not as good as should have been ie bacon eggs etc was frazzled & sitting in hot plate thing for far too long. Lack of fresh fruits on buffet - appeared to be mainly tinned except melon. Fruit also seemed to have been left too long as some it had a distinct "fizzy" texture in mouth, needless to say I didn't fancy having upset stomach, so had to leave it. Overall glad I got this at bargain price as definitely not worth the money - wont be back, & probably wont consider using a DeVere hotel in future.
2 out of 5
by Geoff from Hertfordshire, UK

Disappointing experience

Posted Aug 3, 2013
Pros: great room
Cons: poor quality & value food
excellent room - we upgraded to queen suite. rather rowdy wedding there at same time, so lots of noise from next door. Reception booked us into the wrong restaurant - rescued by maitre de who handled it well. Poor meal - worst fillet steak I have ever had, 50% inedible. accompanied by a very small but expensive lobster tail. people and service were good, but overall experience disappointing
2 out of 5
Recommended
by marian from newcastle

Perfect Break

Posted Jul 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
Loved our stay - yet again. Especially liked the quiz on Thursday night - good fun -good entertainment. Breakfast was back to normal standard- eggs benedict - spectacular. However the toilet rolls could be softer. Will still go again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alan from Bucks

Lovely hotel and location

Posted Jul 20, 2013
Hotel rooms were modern addition to an older building, very good quality. Breakfast was very good. Advance purchase was very affordable price. Golf on the Priestman course was very good value in the afternoon, the Huntley we didnt play as still £60 in the afternoon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Frank and Tracy from Edmonton, AB, Canada

Great getaway from the city!

Posted Jul 19, 2013
Pros: Big beautiful room. Wonderful grounds with nice walking trails. Great breakfast.
Cons: Poor wifi connection. Slow service at bar. Room needed some repairs.
Location: Hard to find but worth the drive!
We had a very nice stay! A little hard to find but well worth the drive. Room had a golf course view which was very nice. The staff was great and the breakfast was very good. Coffee and tea was superb. A little slow getting drinks in the bar but staff was very friendly. Our room had a few wear and tear items that had not been addressed like broken off towel hanger on back of the door and the toilet paper holder was loose and falling off. The window also had a broken latch and the tub was chipped in places. The Wifi was free bit had a very weak signal throughout the building. All in all we were very pleased with our stay and we will be back for sure.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lel from West Yorkshire, UK

Great hotel for relaxing in the country

Posted Jul 19, 2013
Location: Fantastic in the country, not good if you want to pop out for a meal else where on an evening. Lovely anyway.
Lovely hotel in a beautiful location. We had fabulous weather, so it does help. The staff were wonderful, friendly, helpful, with the exception of one person in the bar. Overall experience marred slightly by having to have my steak cooked 3 times in the A la carte restaurant, not something i would have expected - they did knock it off the bill and give free coffees - but it did spoil the meal, as my husband ate his and then we had to wait for them to put my meal right - 3rd time lucky! We requested a quiet room as I am a light sleeper, we booked double deluxe, but was upgraded to one of their new type rooms - fancy bedding, sky and a coffee maker. nice room, but not quiet or private - overlooked the putting green and above the Claret Jug Bar, so could hear the fans from the kitchen, no net curtain for privacy when opening main curtain, could see everyone putting and hear everyone. When checking in, if I had not asked we would have been put in a courtyard facing room, which our booking clearly states Golf view room - although room was slightly upgraded, i did check that it was in quiet location, but it was not. I did mention this on checkout. Nice room but, not quiet, a few rooms further down the hotel would have been quieter. We did not pay for the upgrade, I do not think the price is worth it. Overall experience very nice - would go back because of the location and hope the food would be better.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Liz from Glasgow, Glasgow City, UK

Great 'chill out' hotel.

Posted Jul 6, 2013
Pros: Love all the soft luxurious furnishings to settle down with a glass of wine or afternoon tea.
Cons: Garden/outdoor seating area needs some maintenance (remove the 2ft weeds)
Location: Great location for country walks, country pubs.Also went to Bamburgh Castle and the Lake District from this location not more than an hour away.
This is the second time we have been to Slaley Hall and really enjoy the different restaurants and chill out areas. The first time we did not like our room allocation (too close to supply cupboard for cleaning staff, therefore too noisy in the morning). Food is excellent and we particularly enjoy Hadrian's Brasserie. We would definitely recommend to friends and family and will go back again. This is a lovely part of the country to spend your down time in.