Ratings based on 101 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Raleigh

Days Inn Hickory

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Pros: Staff
Cons: some much need TLC I needed. Moving the ashtray away from the front door would be appreciated.
Location: Convenient from I-40, close to Corning. Hams is a good sports bar.
The Hotel is fine. Facilities are tired, wall paper in hallway is peeling and the walls in the bath room are discolored. The fan in the bath room was very loud when the light was turned on but it drowned out the running water noise from the dried out seal in the tub or toilet. The staff is very nice and helpful, free breakfast is hot if not too imaginative, too much sugary pastry for my taste. It will help when both sides of the toaster works. Overall the hotel is clean, safe and adequate. For the price, it is not awful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Jim's review

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Great value, close to dowtown Hickory, Minor League Baseball. Very attentive staff
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hickory, NC

Smelly, dirty flea bagger

Posted Jul 19, 2014
The elevator smelled, the lobby and corridor were dirty. The room had stained carpet, drywall sparkle slopped on the ceiling and wall above the shower, and there was a smell of dirty laundry in the carpet. Will not stay there again. Woman serving breakfast gave me dirty looks when I arrived at 5:55am. She proceeded to drag her feet and didn't have the main breakfast out before I had to leave for work at 6:15. Never again!!!!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tennessee

I guess you get what you pay for with this hotel.

Posted Jun 30, 2014
hotel was cheaper then some of the other area hotels and must say i now see why. rooms were not very clean and requested a wake up call but never came. will not choose this hotel again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

CLOSE TO WHAT I NEEDED

Posted May 19, 2014
Pros: BREAKFAST BUFFET
Cons: NEWER TOP BEDDING
Location: I WASN'T THERE FOR THAT
THE BREAKFAST BUFFET WAS MORE THAN I EXPECTED! THE STAFF WERE GRAND.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean, but worn out

Posted Apr 30, 2014
Overall experience was OK. However, the carpet and fixtures are dated and need an upgrade.
3 out of 5
by John from North Carolina

Get what you pay for

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Pros: Saved me about $90 versus staying at a competitors hotel (two rooms), breakfast was nice.
Cons: Major overhaul and updating of fixtures and interior decor of entire hotel.
Location: Access to I-40, Pizza Hut, Waffle House
Having needed a room the next day, we proceeded to book what was available and reasonably priced. We found this hotel next to the airport (expecting noise) which we were willing to work with. Upon check in, I found not one person at the desk or on the floor for that matter. After waiting about 5 minutes, I finally did see someone who was working at the hotel. Make a long story short- rooms not ready (3:50 arrival), unable to accommodate two rooms together, out-dated furniture and uncomfortable bed.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rooms require updating, Old faded carpet.

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Needs updating. Lobby OK rooms need updating. Would not stay again unless updated
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Waffles!

Posted Mar 30, 2014
We chose to stay here because of their low prices and free breakfast. My favorite part was the waffle maker... I love waffles! Delicious :)
2 out of 5
by jessica from little river sc

great breakfast and manager

Posted Mar 11, 2014
Pros: the manager. he really cares about his hotel and helped us find a solution to our issues
Cons: the friendliness of the staff and some cleaning issues
Location: the mountains aren't that far away from the hotel and it was good for what we came to the area for.
when we checked in; there was candle wax on the bed skirt and floor. we found a pill from where housekeeping didn't vacuum properly. when we tried to say hello to housekeeping staff they just walked right by us. the front desk staff was good. we did let the hotel know about what happen and the manager called us promptly and was very upset about our experience and he is taking care of the issues that we had. i will be going back to stay there in may. the manager was very polite and helpful i give him, the front desk, and breakfast 5 stars