Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place to stay

Posted Feb 23, 2015
It was later when I got to the room, it was quiet and clean
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alberta, Canada

Stayed overnight for work related reasons

Posted Jan 30, 2015
Pros: new
Cons: access signage, drove past entrance first time
Location: High Prairie, Northern Alberta. Small community, few restaurants, nice 3D movie theater
Comfortable, very clean room. Pleasant staff. Always stay at this hotel when I am travelling for work.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, AB

Wanted to like it but just couldn't

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Pros: The free breakfast was quite good, it had a good variety of options. The room was also spacious, clean and seemed to be newly renovated.
Cons: better customer service, better training of staff,
Location: There is a restaurant and pub right next door. Basic, but good enough.
While the room itself was quite nice..clean, relatively comfortable, renovated..the hotel overall was extremely poor. First, I checked in and arrived to an unclean room with no bedding. A maid rushed over to clean it but I had to stand awkardly in the hall waiting for her to finish for 10 minutes. Second, the wifi did not work, which was an issue as I was on a work trip. I called the front desk to ask if they could fix it and the response I received was "Oh um..I don't really know how to fix it. I guess you are out of luck." Then, about half an hour later I heard rustling at the door only to have the woman from the front desk burst into my room unannounced. Apparently she had forgotten she had booked someone into the room and was trying to get another guest in. A bit awkward standing in your pajamas as two unknown people burst into the room.. I had read (and ignored) negative reviews about the place online. I wanted to like the hotel...I really did. But when event after event goes wrong, I can't say I'd recommend it to a friend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton

Business visit to High Prairie

Posted Oct 31, 2014
Pros: Rooms, fitness equipment, business centre and pool
Cons: Better continental breakfast items. Hotels like Super 8 got you guys beat. Egg beater scrambled egg and sausage don't really cost you folks that much.
Location: The town has all amenities and there are many local recreation and tourism attractions
I have stayed there several times. It is the best hotel choice for High Prairie. I am concerned that the front desk people don't know who Expedia is??? They said I didn't have a reservation even though I showed them my printed Expedia confirmation for the hotel. I hope that I am not about to be double billed once through Expedia and once through them. The rooms are nice, the pool is great. The continental breakfast could be a bit more i.e. eggs and bacon and not stale bagels and croissants. Though they have no smoking signs everywhere it was apparent that someone was using the elevator and a storage area on my floor as a smokers lounge (Keep an eye on your hallway cams) The folks working there are all trying very hard and give you good service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Business trip

Posted Sep 12, 2014
Pros: The room
Cons: The Breakfast
Location: Satisfactory
Everything about the room was great, but, the continental breakfast was weak, with no clean up or replacing missing food items.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from a

Newer hotel and very nice

Posted Jul 7, 2014
The only thing I would have liked was a bit more in the breakfast line. The hotel staff were polite and we loved the water area/pool. The price was a bit high but you get what you pay for
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 24, 2014
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Know the Expedia deal in High Prairie, Alberta

Posted Sep 16, 2012
Pros: Clean, easy access from the major highway
Cons: Staff/customer relations were greatly lacking
Location: High Prairie is near many historic Alberta locations pertaining to early settler, First Nations, Metis, points-of-interest (e.g., Grouard, McLennan).
Decent, clean 'cookie cutter' Alberta quasi-inn hotel. Room was clean. It had a pool/waterpark which was clean and attractive for a family stay. I had an unpleasant, unprofessional check-out experience. It was the first time I learned there are at least two types of Expedia transaction arrangements. One is the type I've always previously used where one pays online and that is the end of the transaction, save for a c.c. pre-authorization on any hotel incidentals. The second, of which I didn't know and which I learned in a most unpleasant way, is where Expedia makes the booking but the customer is responsible for payment at check-out. When I was told this by the front-desk clerk, I was sure I'd pre-paid, she said 'no way, we've been burned before on these Expedia things.' When I indicated I sought to clarify with Expedia's customer service line the front counter clerk became visibly irritated with me, clearly annoyed I wouldn't take her word. It was clarified. I did pay. Hotel needs better staff support/customer relations training and/or Expedia needs to make the booking itinerary layout much more clear #bolded/highlighted# in booking itinerary that payment is not prepaid and due by customer at check-out.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mike from Vancouver, BC, Canada

A Pleasant Surprise

Posted Jul 30, 2012
Pros: Restaurant pub attached to hotel with entertainment.
Cons: No complaints
Location: Close to the highway
Everything you need from a room and a little more. No complaints. I would recommend the Peavine Inn to all. A pleasant surprise in a small town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

hockey weekend

Posted Jan 10, 2012
front desk could have been a little more friendly. pool was enjoyable.