Ratings based on 43 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kelly from Calgary

Great hotel for families

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Clean hotel with exceptionally friendly staff. Beds were very comfortable and many choices for complimentary breakfast. Free cookies, popcorn and fruit in the lobby was very nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by norm from vancouver

Nice, clean, friendly, very good breakfasts.

Posted Jun 15, 2014
Pros: Staff were friendly, helpful and sincere.
Location: Close to other restaurants etc
Nice, clean, friendly, very good breakfasts, very good pool with water slide. Good value for the money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Travelling Gran from Halifax

Getting hospitality right

Posted Jun 14, 2014
Pros: The staff.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Good pottery and art galleries, near restaurants, near Okotoks, the next town which is more urban.
This hotel has pleasing services, nice views, and good amenities at excellent prices. We should support this community which is recovering from major floods in 2013.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Marvin Flaterud from Calgary

Breakfast

Posted May 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
Was not very good
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 9, 2014 by Sharmane, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of The High River Super 8. I apologize you found our breakfast not very good I will certainly investigate this with my team. We are constantly updating our breakfast with new items including gluten free selections.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Karen from Edmonton, Alberta

It was okay...........

Posted May 5, 2014
Pros: Location - lobby smelled like popcorn!!!!!
Cons: Clean behind the furniture.
Overall the room was fine. It was nice to have a choice of hard and soft pillows on the bed. My bggest concern was that when I pulled a chair out of a corner to sit at the table, the corner where the chair had been was thick with dust. Please move things and clean behind. The bed wasn't very comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 8, 2014 by General Manager, Hotel Management
I am sorry to hear that you experienced a issue in your room with cleanliness. I have spoken with my housekeeping department and were addressing this issue. I have also spoken with maintenance department about the bed comfort. I hope that in the future you return and we can have the opportunity to provide you with legendary customer service and cleanliness.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Paula from High River

Convenient

Posted Apr 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Was very happy with all the services provided plus the friendly staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 5, 2014 by Sharmane, Hotel Management
We appreciate your wonderful review of the High River Super 8. I am pleased to hear you found the staff friendly and were happy with your stay. We look forward to having you again in the future.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

OK hotel with free breakfast and pool with slide

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: Free breakfast. Clean pool and clean rooms. Choice of soft or firm pillows. Popcorn and water in the entry.
Cons: Larger eating area. Less light in the rooms when sleeping- need blackout curtains or at least curtains that block the light from outside better.
Location: Great location near lots of fast food choices and sit down restaurant across parking lot. Across from No Frills grocery store. Just off Highway 2.
Stayed here one night passing through High River. Having stayed previously at the Ramada I would have to say this is definitely a step down from that. Room and bathroom was clean as was the pool. We were there on a Friday night and the pool was deserted which was surprising so my kids had a great time swimming and on the slide. Big complaint about my room was the amount of light when sleeping. Microwave faces bed and I had to get up in the middle of the night and unplug it as light from display was driving me nuts. As well, the light from the parking lot lights created so much light in our room with the curtains closed that I thought it was sunrise at 2am. We were on the first floor and I liked having the outside door to the parking lot to load up our luggage in the am. Breakfast was typical continental fare with a waffle maker and they also had some french toast and bacon in a warmer. Coffee seemed very weak to me. Looked like tea in the pot and they kept running out. Definitely need more seating area in the breakfast area. We had to leave as soon as we were done eating to accommodate people who had no where to sit to eat. Breakfast area where food is laid out is very crowded. Staff were generally friendly and had no issues there. I would stay here again if I had to but it would not be my first choice of a hotel in High River. You definitely notice the $10-30 price difference between the Super 8 and the Ramada.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 23, 2014 by General Manager, Hotel Management
While we are not as new as the Ramada we still like to offer our guests the same great service and complimentary items such as cookies, popcorn, and deluxe continental breakfast. We are presently addressing the issue with our curtains and are expecting an order any day now of new window treatments and bedding. I am pleased to hear you found our staff friendly and enjoyed our pool. We would like to have you return in the future so we can have the opportunity to change your mind.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, easy place to stay passing though

Posted Apr 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
I read something about kitchenettes, but only had a microwave, coffee maker, and fridge. Otherwise, everything was great. Comfortable, good free breakfast (including breakfast burritos, eggs, bacon, fruit, waffles, yogurt, etc.). Room was comfy and there is no evidence of last summer's flood in the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2014 by Sharmane, Hotel Management
Thank you for your wonderful review I am pleased to hear you enjoyed the deluxe continental breakfast. We were very fortunate to not be affected by the 2013 flood it allowed us to help and support our community. We do have kitchenettes available upon request for your future stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by barb from lethbridge

High river super8

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: Quietness
Cons: The hot tub was closed on both occasions I stayed here. The pool water and pool area were cold to the point of unusable both times.
Location: The location is good. It is High River post flood, nothing to do.
Room was comfortable and quiet. However dirt had accumulated in the bathroom corners and soap scummy dirt was around the tap. The bed was comfortable. The breakfast was okay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 1, 2014 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your stay was. I apologize for any cleanly issues and the hot tub being down for maintenance issues. I was pleased to hear you found the room comfortable and quiet. I hope you choose to stay with us again in the future so we can have the opportunity to wow you with our legendary customer service.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by kurt

noise

Posted Mar 10, 2014
Pros: clean and courtesy of staff
Cons: see above
too many pickup trucks idling at 6am. it was warm 8 celcius and these morons thought they had to idle for over 1 hour also room fridge was so noisy that i had to unplug it
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 13, 2014
Thank you for your review. I apologize about the early morning noise I will certainly bring this to my staffs attention. I was happy to hear you found our staff friendly and the Super 8 High River clean. Sharmane Waddy General Manger