Ratings based on 50 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Venkantas

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom South Carolina

One night

Posted Sep 12, 2014
Pros: Mountain night without need for AC
The lodge is a good value for location and rate. The rooms are adequate but not luxurious. Nice balcony for viewing mountains.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Greggfrom Columbia, MD

Good Location but Interior Needs a Facelift

Posted Oct 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
Skylodge Lodge is in a nice location - in a woode area and secluded. Though the room was clean, the furniture was a bit worn and outdated. No air conditioning in room and wasn't stated on their website. Luckily for me, it was mid-September and not needed. Room size was good with balcony overlooking the valley of the creek below. If the furnishings were updated, I would have rated higher.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Charlotte, NC

Paradise on the Mountain

Posted Aug 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
Excellent resort. Room was comfortable and clean. The staff very friendly. The hotel amenities provided for all our needs. The location, high in the mountains, was beautiful and quiet. The Altitudes Resteraunt and Lounge prepared excellent meals and the serving staff was friendly and efficient. We plan to return very soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great, but not for everyone

Posted Jul 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
We had a great time at the Skyline, but it's quirky. The staff was great; they did everything to make our stay comfortable. The restaurant was wonderful, pricey, but no more than others in the area. Look, is this the Ritz Carlton, no, but if you don't mind putting up with some minor issues, and want to stay away from the crass commercialism of downtown Highlands, this is the place. Will go back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Jim T.from Atlanta, GA

Beautiful Setting

Posted Jul 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
I was pleasantly surprised with the hotel. I had read some less than flattering reviews. Staff was most efficient and helpful. The restaurant was quite good - with excellent food and service. Awesome breakfast! Our room was one with air conditioning, so am not sure about the ones without air. I would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Annfrom Tulsa, OK

Nice place for a quiet vacation.

Posted Jul 16, 2013
Cons: Room decor could be updated.
I was passing through town on business and just needed a room for one night. I wished I could have stayed longer to enjoy the restaurant, pool & hot tub, and wandered the grounds.
2 out of 5
by Noreenfrom Ala.

Very Disappointing

Posted Jun 28, 2013
Pros: location was pretty
Cons: Rooms need an overhaul.
Location: hiking, fishing, visiting downtown Highlands. Looking at the many falls surrounding the town.
It's listed as a lodge AND restaurant - well, the restaurant was closed first night we were there. Expedia indicates breakfast - there was NO breakfast. Expedia indicates upgraded bedding - bed was sagging in the middle. Bathroom wouldn't fit 2 people. Water pressure very low 2nd day. We were not given fresh, clean towels & facecloths. Lighting was very poor throughout. Had to drive almost 5 miles to a restaurant for breakfast. Located in a beautiful location and that's about the only good thing about the lodge, except the staff was polite, esp. the manager. If you decide to stay keep in mind some of the rooms have no air-conditioning. There was a road (hardscape walking path) part of the way to the falls but when the concrete path ended you didn't know which way to go and it looked terribly overgrown. I didn't dare walk it alone. Won't stay there again. The lodge is not as advertised.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A BIG disappointment

Posted Jun 23, 2013
Pros: The setting is very pretty. They did wash the towels. The difference between the lodge as advertised and the actual experience was striking.
Cons: Everything.
Location: Highlands is a wonderful mountain village that sits in a lovely part of western North Carolina. There are fabulous restaurants and many activities.
This is an old, dated motor lodge that has not been well kept and isn't even clean. The staff is part time. The restaurant was only open one evening and was completely empty. They advertise beautiful rooms with fireplaces in their ads but we had no fireplace and our room was shabby, dirty and dingy. There was a small box television mounted on the wall that had such a grainy picture you could barely see it. There were only a handful of guests and so if they do have better rooms, I don't know who they could have been saving them for! This place is bad news and for what you get, is wildly overpriced.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Sarah R

Horrible! Do NOT waste your money!

Posted Jun 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
This place is an absolute DUMP! The carpet is stained, the rooms are musty and moldy and it's basically a hole of disgust. There is nothing decent about this place and for the price we paid ($150), we should have gotten something far far far better! There wasn't even air conditioning or a closet and I could barely breath because of how musty is was. The sheets seemed relatively clean, but that was the only decent part about this place. NEVER would I recommend this to anyone. Don't waste your time or money staying here.