Ratings based on 154 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 1, 2014
Due to a food allergy, we needed a hotel with a kitchen. The room was clean and comfortable and the kitchen had the needed cooking and eating utensils for some good meals. I'd definitely stay at an Extended Stay America again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 6, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. I'm so pleased to read that your room with its fully-equipped kitchen met your needs. The staff and I are proud to have provided you with a clean and comfortable place to prepare your own meals. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you in the future, should your travels bring you back to our area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom chicago/hillside

Bring your own

Posted Oct 29, 2014
Hotel was just ok. Picked it due to kitchen. Carpet had a smell & our toilet got stopped up. They only give u a packet of dish soap. They provide pots & dishes but I still suggest you Bring your own dish soap, dish towels, paper plates, plastic cups, plastic utensils, bleach, body wash and dry towels. Also, disinfectant spray to spray down door knobs, light switches, phone, bedding & everything else just due to the fact hotels hold a lot of germs. This is a hotel that people stay in for long periods of time for reasons such as fire, home less.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 4, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. I am so disappointed that your carpet had an odor and that there was a plumbing issue with your toilet. Please accept my apology. To uphold our company's high standards, we will inspect our rooms more thoroughly moving forward. Thanks to your feedback, we can continue to work on providing an exceptional stay for all of our guests. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay America. We hope we have the opportunity to see you again in the future.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by taylorfrom hillside

Posted Sep 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
bed hard as a rock, towels rough as sandpaper, no coffee pot in room, n cups in room, no hair dryer in room. the only good thing was the airconditioner work great.ohh and the elevator was out of service. and the brreakfest to go well you need to let it go it was horrible no choices.....
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hmmm, I don't know about this one....

Posted Sep 26, 2014
Pros: The coffee was nice.
Cons: I'm sorry to say, but MOST things need improvement. Staff, cleanliness, room locations... etc.
Location: There is a shopping center near by and a walking trail about a mile away!! The Prairie Path was amazing!! And I gave Target SO MUCH MONEY that week!
When I arrived, I had to wait for about 10 minutes before anyone came to the desk and when someone finally came to the desk she didn't greet me. She did not make eye contact, she just walked past me and said... "she'll be right with you." OK... That's fine. I was too tired by that time. The first room I went to was kind of dingy and the toilet wouldn't stop running. I had to change rooms... The second room, still dingy with this HORRIBLE smell to it BUT at least the toilet wasn't running!! I wasn't able to get much sleep because my room was situated by the stairs and elevator and EVERY TIME someone opened the stairwell door, my room door reacted with such pressure! It was off putting. Though you have a kitchenette, you have to order EVERY utensil and plate that you need. They DID NOT have a water or ice machine and when I asked a maintenance person where was it? Her reply was, "we don't have one and I don't know why we don't have one." Overall, I'm glad I was only there for 2 nights! It made me all the more grateful to go back home!! Though, there was 1 very pleasant staff member... I can't remember her name, starts with an M.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 8, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the feedback about your stay at our hotel. We appreciate the kind comments about the coffee and the walking trail nearby; however, we apologize that you had a problem checking in. I am also sorry that you had a problem with noise in your room and that you disliked having to have the dishes and utensils delivered to your room. Your comments were reviewed by the staff, and we will discuss them during our next meeting to make sure your experience is not repeated. We continually work to improve our hotel, so I really appreciate you providing us with your feedback. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels. We hope we have the opportunity to see you again in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Tinafrom Chicago

Great price

Posted Sep 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
The room was nice, the hotel towel were very rough! Overall I enjoyed what little time we spent in the room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 1, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. We are glad to know that you were pleased with your stay overall. Still, please accept our apologies that your linens were rough. I will share your feedback with our purchasing department, as your comments will be useful to us as we work to improve. Thank you again for posting your review. I do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any of our other brand locations, in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by taee

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Luisfrom Boston

Extended hotel

Posted Sep 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
Guesses were not the best kind of people, no house keeping, breakfast is a joke. I won't stay in this hotel any more in my life
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Renatofrom Novi

Bad smelling

Posted Sep 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
We had to change our room because of cigarette smelling (although it was a non-smoking room). The breakfast was just for to go and just few things
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 31, 2014 on Hotels.com