Ratings based on 715 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SC

Over night stay

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Pleasant. Food and drinks expensive, but Hilton Head over all is expensive. Unless you are a golfer or a beach nut, not much to do.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location! Loved easy walks on the beach.

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Cons: There was no vent in the bathroom, so it got steamy.
Had a great time. Thoroughly enjoyed eating breakfast while watching the wave spray in the morning sun.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

OK hotel on the beach

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: close to beach. the porch and lil food shack had decent food and great service. the bar area and service was also great.
Cons: clean carpets. stop the parking for outsiders. chairs closer to the water. room service coming at the same time instead of being sparatic.
Location: a lot of shopping, restaurants, golf courses, mini golf, water sports, tours, plenty to keep all busy.
I'm an avereage 6'. Feet hung over the double bed every nite. Pillows have no substance what so ever and never got a good nites sleep. Wondered why every day we found sand in our shower even though we cleaned our feet down by the pool even after being in the ocean. I realized it had to be the carpet. Parking when we arrived on Sunday was terrible only to find out they allow others to park during the day and charge them $5 Friday nites and $30 on the weekend taking away parking for those who stay at the hotel and take day trips as we did. Unless your willing to use their chairs next to the volley ball courts for free you get chanrged about $30 to use the ones on the beach closer to the ocean. Lounge chairs at the volleyball courts always faced towards the courts and never towards the ocean or sun and had to be turned every day to get sun. Funny once I turned them others did the same. Hotel never got the hint. Rained one late afternoon so we went back to room. Found room service was never there earlier as other days so we had no clean towels and then they nocked on the door and were annoyed I said the couldn't come in to clean the room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2014 by JKnudsen, Hotel Management
Hello JP, Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a thoughtful and thorough review. We truly appreciate your feedback, as it helps us identify areas we need to improve. We are sorry to hear you were displeased with the comfort of the bed and pillows in your room. We know how important a restful night’s sleep is, and we apologize for any inconvenience or discomfort you experienced. We are also sorry the carpet in your room wasn’t properly cleaned prior to your arrival. We apologize that your room didn’t receive the high standard of housekeeping service we strive for. We regret any inconvenience or frustration you experienced with parking; we aim to offer all our guests ample, convenient space. We appreciate your helpful suggestion about the orientation of our beach chairs, and we’ll take that, along all your feedback, under careful consideration. We’re happy you enjoyed our beautiful, convenient location. We are looking forward to several exciting improvements, and we hope you come back to enjoy them. We’d love an opportunity to win you over!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Georgia

Better than expected!

Posted Aug 24, 2014
I was very hesitant at first, because Holiday Inn is not well known as a "5 star hotel". We were wanting a beach front hotel that was not in comparison to a motel 8. This hotel ended up being above and beyond what I anticipated. SO many incredible things this hotel has to offer....tiki bar, live music, wrap around pool, outdoor/indoor restaurant, a specific children's pool, a swing and fountain area, very clean hotel rooms, the front desk was more than polite and accommodating. The rooms even have a Locking safe box to store your stuff! My only complaint is that some of the hotel rooms, the ones that do not face the beach, do not have balconies. Therefore the room feels very stuffy...My towels and even bathing suits were hanging in the bathroom for well over 24 hours and still were just as wet as when they were used. Other than that, excellent! I will be returning again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 31, 2014 by JKnudsen, Hotel Management
Hello Jordan, Thank you for the review! We’re absolutely thrilled our Tiki Hut, live entertainment, beautiful pool, open-air restaurant, activity area, clean rooms, and dedicated team exceeded every expectation. We’re happy you found our in-room safes convenient, and we sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you experienced due to humidity in your room. We will take note of your concern and do our best to remedy it, as we look forward to exciting improvements. Your mention of a return visit is the best news of the day! Your loyalty is the best compliment; we look forward to continuing to impress!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Summer vacation

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Pros: Nice,clean, comfortable rooms. Close to shopping, restaurants, mini golf,etc.
Location: Shops, food, groceries.
Nice room, but don't expect an ocean view unless you want to pay $125 more for your room. Kind of glad we weren't ocenside, because the music at the outside bar would keep you up all night. They had live music, lots of dancing,the most lively place on the beach that I saw.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2014 by JKnudsen, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for the review. We’re thrilled you enjoyed our fantastic location! We are very sorry if the view from your room didn’t meet your expectations, but we’re happy the music did not disturb you and you found our accommodations clean and comfortable. We hope you enjoyed our “lively” atmosphere, dancing, and plenty of beachside fun. The next time you’re planning a trip to Hilton Head, we hope you choose Beach House. We’d love to make your next experience with us even better!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alabama

Expectations Exceeded!

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Pros: Liked it all.
Cons: No complaints.
Location: Access to groceries, great restaurants, even close to a Walmart.
Beach access was fantastic. Very nice pool area. Staff had great people skills!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Ill

Beach was great

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: Beach
Cons: Update the hotel
Location: excellent place to stay,right on the beach
The hotel was nice,staff great,room clean, the loction on the beach was excellent, but it could use to be updated, carpet and stuff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 17, 2014 by JKnudsen, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for the great review! We’re delighted to hear you enjoyed our beautiful, sandy beach, convenient location, friendly team, and clean rooms. We apologize that certain elements, like the carpet, didn’t meet your expectations. We have just completed some exciting renovations to our lobby and pool area, and we’re looking forward to many more wonderful improvements. We hope you come back to Beach House and enjoy them! We’d love to see you again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Good hotel at Hilton Head island

Posted Aug 10, 2014
We liked our stay at Hilton Head island. Staff was very attentive, bartenders were great, and made tasty drinks. The room was comfortable and clean. A few suggestions to improve: Put some information about your hotel in the room. There was nothing in the room about the hotel, its restaurants, amenities. I asked the staff about this at the hotel's main desk. The explanation was that the hotel just changed hands and information was forthcoming. I think a simple one-pager with basic hotel information could be done in less than one day and placed in each room. This would have been very helpful. Fix dead drink vending machines. There's nothing worse than a nearby vending machine that's "Out of Order" for several days, and no apparent fix in sight. Improve wait service in the restaurant called "The Porch." Very slow. Pick up the pace.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2014 by JKnudsen, Hotel Management
Hello John, We really appreciate your great review and all your helpful hints! We’re thrilled to hear you enjoyed our clean, comfortable accommodations and dedicated team. Our bartenders will appreciate your kind words about their yummy concoctions and great service! Your suggestion to provide our valued guests with more in-room resort information is a great idea! Thank you. We understand the need for midnight munchies and apologize for any inconvenience you experienced due to a vending machine that was in need of repair during your stay. We are very sorry to hear you didn’t receive our high standard of service while dining at The Porch, but we hope you enjoyed your overall experience with us. We would love to welcome you back soon and impress you with our ongoing improvements!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wakeman, Ohio

Good place to stay!

Posted Aug 3, 2014
We were able to check in early when we arrived. Enjoyed being able to walk out onto the beach from hotel. Pool was really nice. Tiki Hut and entertainment was great. We were within walking distance of restaurants so we didn't have to drive any place once we checked in.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 11, 2014 by JKnudsen, Hotel Management
Hello, Sandy feet, live music, a refreshing pool, and a welcomed break from vehicular dependence sound like the elements of a pretty great vacation! Thank you for the great review! We’re thrilled you enjoyed our fantastic location and welcoming atmosphere. Please return for another wonderful experience!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ohio

Needs major cleaning and renovations.

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Seems the hotel lobby was updated but rooms and hallways were not. Rooms and hallways have stains and chipped paint everywhere hotel needs some major renovations.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 8, 2014 by JKnudsen, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. We are very sorry to hear our rooms and hallways failed to impress you. As you guessed, we have recently completed some beautiful renovations to our lobby and pool area. Our newest addition is the delicious open-air restaurant The Porch. We are even more excited about upcoming improvements though. We’ll take all your feedback to heart, as guest satisfaction is our top priority. We hope you consider Beach House again. We’d love the opportunity to win you over!