Ratings based on 716 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.8 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel for the money and close to beach.

Posted Oct 22, 2014
A great location and great value. Tv reception not so good. Friendly and accommadating staff.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom sc

Posted Oct 13, 2014
No water one day... .. no remote/ no phone in room for rowdy people at 3 im am elevator was shut down for servicing the during check out time.. No apologies from staff....nothing
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Marietta, GA

Good location, convenient to the beach & eateries

Posted Oct 8, 2014
Pros: First of all, the maids are a conscientious group of people, get your room clean& smell good! Hotel has a nice Hinchey's Restaurant/Bar with patio.
Cons: Metropolitan maintains a neat hotel appearance; however, it could use some "cosmetic work" if it is not so busy.
Location: There is a paved path for all pedestrians to reach the beach, 3 minutes walk. You can walk to Coligny Plaza for food, music, free garden/water park.
The last day, we got up before 8:00 am, the entire 5th floor water main was shut off due to an emergency plumbing repair. I had to use the bathroom on the main floor to wash before we checked out. Receptionist apologized for the inconvenience. I hope the water was restored after we departed at 9:00 am.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

dont stay here

Posted Sep 26, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: build parking
Location: too far from beach
Expedia gave ME a worst price that want this hotel is worth,and they over charged me
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Atlanta

The hotel was a huge disappointment!

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Pros: Nothing!
Cons: Demolish it and rebuild
Location: Good location, close to the beach
This place was a complete dive. It was old and dirty and it smelled like a nursing home. The bed was hard and old and very low to the ground. My back still hurts! The toilet was not even bolted down and I almost fell off. We tried to find things to do to avoid having to spend any time in the room. We didn't want to complain while we were there because we were trying to enjoy ourselves and make the best of a terrible situation. We thought we were saving a little money by chosing this hotel, but it turned out to be a complete waste of money!!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom buffalo ny

Total let Down

Posted Sep 21, 2014
First off the parking is a complete joke! It's no where near the hotel and not enough spaces!! Then hotel staff was COLD no hospitality, no air conditioning in hallways or elevators and smells like a nursing home! The room was ok but no toilet paper or tissues, NO air condition cause it's broken, no phone to call down to front desk, no remote for tv and balcony is a joke! No breakfast even though their brochere in front desk says they do! Hope your not planning to work out because fitness room is a ping pong table! Disappointed on every level, never ever again! Spoke to front desk several x with absolutely no help except for toilet paper that I had to come down to get!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Room was nothing like pictures or what was advertised in the write up. Room I reserved was designated as beach view - only view I had was of trees. Parking is not near the hotel. 300+ yards away next to another property. Very unsettling at night. While I felt the room was clean, everything was very dated and had the old, "mildewey" smell in the room and hallways. I will not stay here again, and will be more cautious of room descriptions.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Charlotte, NC

ok, inexpensive hotel but disappointing

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Pros: price and good location for access to the beach
Cons: Have room service everyday, at least have glasses in the bathroom and mugs for the coffee maker and put air conditioning units in the hallways
Location: beach
clean older hotel - very large room; coffee maker but no glasses or cups in room; completely empty kitchenette; air conditioning in the room but no air conditioning on the floors of the hotel; parking is very far away from the building so with no hallway air conditioning and far away parking it is VERY uncomfortable to carry luggage; fire alarm went off the first night - guests exited the building; no phone in room; was gone all day but room service never came 2nd day
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Cortland, Ohio

I suggest you find another Hotel

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: Tear it down and build a new one!
Location: Location was bad with run down building all around it.
This hotel is NOT what Expedia said it was. I was suppose to be 200' from the ocean and was not. There was to be a balcony overlooking the ocean. The balcony was about 2' wide and it overlooked a dilapidated building that hadn't been used in years. There were maybe 10 parking spots for patrons. There were more but those were for bar customers only. The hotel is outdated and the staff was not friendly or helpful. DO NOT STAY HERE.