Ratings based on 720 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.8 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

What The!!!!!

Posted Jan 4, 2015
Pros: Nothing. The free parking was even a joke
Cons: everything has to be improved.
Location: Biking, beach & tennis
I have No idea how this hotel has 2.5 stars or that Expedia even does business with them. This hotel was so bad I would not allow my family to take off their shoes in the hotel room. Everything about the room was bad. The smell, never been cleaned, you can't even clean this room it's that bad. etc etc
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel for the money and close to beach.

Posted Oct 22, 2014
A great location and great value. Tv reception not so good. Friendly and accommadating staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Daisy Mfrom Decatur, GA

It's all you really need

Posted Oct 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
It's not the Ritz-Carlton, but it's comfortable, clean, across the street from the beach at an incredibly affordable rate and Hinchey's is in the lobby, the best bar on the island with great Happy Hour specials.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom sc

Posted Oct 13, 2014
No water one day... .. no remote/ no phone in room for rowdy people at 3 im am elevator was shut down for servicing the during check out time.. No apologies from staff....nothing
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

close to the beach

Posted Oct 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was alright, but the hotel needs some serious maintenance work.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Marietta, GA

Good location, convenient to the beach & eateries

Posted Oct 8, 2014
Pros: First of all, the maids are a conscientious group of people, get your room clean& smell good! Hotel has a nice Hinchey's Restaurant/Bar with patio.
Cons: Metropolitan maintains a neat hotel appearance; however, it could use some "cosmetic work" if it is not so busy.
Location: There is a paved path for all pedestrians to reach the beach, 3 minutes walk. You can walk to Coligny Plaza for food, music, free garden/water park.
The last day, we got up before 8:00 am, the entire 5th floor water main was shut off due to an emergency plumbing repair. I had to use the bathroom on the main floor to wash before we checked out. Receptionist apologized for the inconvenience. I hope the water was restored after we departed at 9:00 am.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Katharinefrom Covington

Horrible experience

Posted Oct 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel is completely different from the pictures on the site. It is not a kid friendly hotel nor is it anything like the site states. The elevator has NO paperwork posted which is illegal. The bar in the hotel had drunk people stumbling out of it at 10pm when we were checking in with my daughter. There were burns all over the carpet. There are NO beach views nor is it beachfront like the room I paid for. The service is awful. When speaking to the Manager about what the website states and the actuality of the hotel condition, service, black mold being all in the pool and everything around it.... He told me I could go to the best Western down the road and pay $500 a night for a room. Complete false advertisement! Stay away!!!!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

dont stay here

Posted Sep 26, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: build parking
Location: too far from beach
Expedia gave ME a worst price that want this hotel is worth,and they over charged me
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Atlanta

The hotel was a huge disappointment!

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Pros: Nothing!
Cons: Demolish it and rebuild
Location: Good location, close to the beach
This place was a complete dive. It was old and dirty and it smelled like a nursing home. The bed was hard and old and very low to the ground. My back still hurts! The toilet was not even bolted down and I almost fell off. We tried to find things to do to avoid having to spend any time in the room. We didn't want to complain while we were there because we were trying to enjoy ourselves and make the best of a terrible situation. We thought we were saving a little money by chosing this hotel, but it turned out to be a complete waste of money!!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom buffalo ny

Total let Down

Posted Sep 21, 2014
First off the parking is a complete joke! It's no where near the hotel and not enough spaces!! Then hotel staff was COLD no hospitality, no air conditioning in hallways or elevators and smells like a nursing home! The room was ok but no toilet paper or tissues, NO air condition cause it's broken, no phone to call down to front desk, no remote for tv and balcony is a joke! No breakfast even though their brochere in front desk says they do! Hope your not planning to work out because fitness room is a ping pong table! Disappointed on every level, never ever again! Spoke to front desk several x with absolutely no help except for toilet paper that I had to come down to get!