Ratings based on 239 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Really for families, not for a single adult looking for a recuperative reprive. Would have enjoyed it better if there were an adult-only pool. There was not much of a resort. But, nice hotel and good food.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Carolina

Awesome Beach Front Hotel

Posted Aug 24, 2014
The staff was excellent and the location was great! The room was very clean except for one stain on the floor. Since the hotel is pet friendly, I was wondering if that was a pee stain everytime I walked passed it. Overall the hotel is family oriented and has a great modern vibe that my family and I took notice of.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Pros: Interior, staff
Cons: Add another pool deck, outside dining, food
We stayed at Sonesta Resort as a last minute extension to a beach week. Interior of hotel very beautiful and very nice staff..Rooms are 5 star with amenities..Our dislike was with Pool area, very enclosed, on top of rooms and too crowded. People were on top of each other..Outside dining not nice and food selection very poor, with most seafood, fried.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario Canada

Great Hotel Resort very close to beach

Posted Aug 15, 2014
We stayed in Hilton Head at the Sonesta for 1 week in Aug/14. The beach is a close walk through lovely paths and landscaping just behind the hotel. We were very pleased and although busy we did manage to find chairs at the pool, which is lovely! We would return again to Hilton Head, we loved biking everywhere with the bikes we rented at the hotel, they were in excellent condition.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Beautiful & Clean Hotel

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Pros: The size of the rooms and the cleanliness. The food was good too.
Cons: pool service
Location: We did zip lining which was about two miles from the hotel. That was a great experience. Savannah is about a 50 minute drive which we went to twice.
Stayed from Thursday to Monday. I was impressed with the hotel overall. The pool area was entirely too crowded. Service in Haywards was excellent, not so much in the other restaurants. When I go on vacation, I really want that pool-side service. Its one of the best parts of vacation. The wait staff was not outgoing and I always felt like I was putting them out when asking for something. Very uncomfortable. Also, there is not enough to do at night. The main bar shuts down too early. Since the pool is so overcrowded, you should offer free beach chairs - this would ease the over crowding of the pool and make the entire outside experience much more enjoyable. This is not an inexpensive hotel, and it is insulting to charge for beach chairs and umbrellas...terrible!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Do not use the spa. It is overpriced for the quality of the facilities.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dhahran, Saudi Arabia

Disappointing

Posted Aug 10, 2014
This was our 1st trip to HHI, SC with the kids and we're very disappointed to say the least. The hotel is too expensive ($299 a night) for a &50 hotel !!!! The staff was great & welcoming but the hotel does not over anything other than the location !!!! Laundry room was a disaster & ruined all of our expensive clothes!!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gurnee, ILLINOIS

Was ok, Nothing great

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Pros: Clean, Location desent
Cons: Elevators, Parking
Location: The location was fine all though I wish I was closer to the ocean as this hotel claims ocean front but is set a bit back. A little deceiving.
Hotel was clean, pool clean. Hotel is set back from beach and all though not a far walk all the sorounding buildings hotels are right on the beach. So no great ocean views here. I had a horrible view of the top of a building. Staff was not bad but not great. Parking wasnt the best. One night there was a conference and we came back at 11:00 to find NO parking. Hotel was partially renovated with the elevators left out, they were unbelievable slow.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from WV

Bad staff, terrible wifi, overly crowded

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Wow, where to begin. We paid for an ocean view room that had no view of the ocean. I could hear the ocean but that's not an ocean view. Perhaps there's a different category for an "ocean sound room." Probably could have saved money. The hotel was packed. Too many people for such a small space. The pool was crammed. Beach chairs were four rows deep at the ocean. The wifi was terrible. Really terrible. If you have AT&T, you'll have limited service and no wifi. Don't plan on communicating with the office or family while staying at Sonesta. It's impossible. In fact, I tried to write this review at the hotel but couldn't because of the terrible wifi. Maybe they're just smarter than me? The pool side bar closes at 6pm. Not sure why. The front desk staff was arrogant. The front desk clerk asked about my stay upon check out. When I told him my honest opinion, he argued with me and challenged my opinion. On a rare bright note, the food was awesome. The wait staff at the restaurant was wonderful. I'd definitely eat at the restaurant again but I would rather sleep in a tent than stay another night at the Sonesta. SERIOUSLY, DO NOT STAY AT SONESTA. Pick any other hotel at Hilton Head.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close proximity to everything we needed.

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: Everything
Every staff member we came into contact with was smiling and very attentive.