Ratings based on 420 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Outdoor landscaping is beautiful!

Posted Jul 29, 2015
The outdoor landscaping is gorgeous! The room wasn't very clean and the shower was stopped up. The room also had a very unpleasant odor. The dining on the resort was fantastic! Overall a good experience!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Anderson, SC

Awesome place to stay and relax

Posted Jul 28, 2015
It was great and relaxing, everything was right there and there was no need to leave resort. Resort had 3 restaurants with awesome food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Enjoyed our vacation. It was very relaxing and the Hotel Staff was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 26, 2015
Nice hotel, great staff. Pools whew crowded...hard to get a poolside seat, but a pretty decent place. Nice beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Knoxville, Tennessee

Everything you want fabulous beachfront hotel.

Posted Jul 24, 2015
Pros: Beautiful hotel & grounds beachside. I liked that there were plenty of padded lounge chairs in the shade by the pool. Large areas for outdoor dining.
Cons: You can't improve on perfection.
Location: Because of the size of the island, anything thing you want to do or go is only minutes away.
Beautiful hotel & grounds beachside. I liked that there were plenty of padded lounge chairs in the shade by the pool. Large areas for outdoor dining. Perfectly prepared peel & eat shrimp too. My modern, clean & beautifully decorated beach front room was perfect & exactly what I wanted. Only steps to the clean & level beach with lots of umbrellas & chairs. I wanted to relax & read, but if I had wanted to participate in any resort activities, there were plenty to choose from.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel

Posted Jul 22, 2015
Nice hotel and rooms were clean, would have given it 5 stars but had 2 pillows that had dirty brown stains. The staff were nice and accommodating. Very close to the beach.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nashville

It is all about location at the Westin.

Posted Jul 22, 2015
Pros: Being close to the beach and having nice (but busy) pools.
Cons: General property upkeep needs to be looked at. Other than the lobby, the resort seems "dirty" and in need of some TLC.
Property other than the lobby seems run down. Needs some general maintenance. There was a big mold stain in on the ceiling of our room. Kids club staff told our kids they were short staffed and running low on supplies. You should just make the best of what you have and not tell the guests they are missing out on things. Our check in was odd. He basically pointed us to our room and didn't give us a property map or any other resort paperwork. We had to go back and ask for it. Other than dining, everything seemed to be unprofessional and not worth the price paid. It is all about location here and being close to the beach. The pool area was packed and it is difficult to find a chair during peak hours. The pools are very crowded. The bottom line is a lack of professional service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Review from July 17 -July 20 weekend

Posted Jul 20, 2015
The check in process could have been better. I arrived there prior to 4pm and went to the front desk gave her all of my info. They advised me that the check in for 4pm would be a little delayed due to 200 people checking in and out. I gave the front desk my cell phone number so that they could call me once the room was ready. 5:30 rolls around and still no phone call. I go back up to the front desk and the lady advises me that the room was ready an hour ago but they never called me. Not too happy that I wasted that time with 2 small babies.. seems like there was too much going on but if you are paying that type of money for a nice hotel then I expect you to do what you said you would do. If I never would of went back at 5:30 I would of been waiting forever because they didn't call me! Resort is nice and restaurants are very expensive. I would go into town for a nice meal!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Georgia

Very nice hotel, steps away from thebeach.

Posted Jul 18, 2015
Really liked and enjoyed the outside areas around the pool. Plenty of seating areas, nice and shady! The outside bar with Karioke was very good. Inside the hotel was quiet. The walls were full with history and scenery. Built into the wall were live green plants! A very nice touch!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Headed downhill

Posted Jul 16, 2015
Pros: Location, front desk staff, valet staff, beach, pools.
Cons: Food, guest services, dog control, eliminate smoking on the grounds, fix the little things that don't work.
Location: Great location on the beach and near shopping, restaurants, etc.
Been going to this hotel for over 20 years. The quality of the food has deteriorated; the hotel seems worn in spots, there are dogs on the grounds, and in the hallways, and on the beach; simple things don't work (the safe wouldn't lock, doors didn't close, etc); we couldn't get through to guest services on the phone on several occasions, to order food, etc.); the AC didn't work well; some wait staff were unpleasant. The room (a high end room) was small and didn't even have a chair for reading. When we first visited the hotel was great and we highly recommended it; now, not so much.