Ratings based on 99 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Disappointing

Posted Mar 8, 2015
I'm going to make it very simple. Even though the rooms are clean. They have an strong moldy smell. The shower heads are plugged up therefore you must take them off to get some water. There is no parking and if by any chance you arrive after 10pm you have to sleep in your car because the parkings shut their doors at 10pm. My recommendation, don't be cheap like me and pay a little more. Otherwise you'll regret it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

5 minutes to the Plaza Grande

Posted Feb 21, 2015
Pros: Large comfortable room and proximity to the "Plaza Grande"
Cons: Restaurant serving lunch and dinner.
I stayed 18 nights in this hotel. My room was large, with kitchen area with refrigerator and Microwave. Good hot shower although it did seem to work too early in the morning, buffet breakfast on the top floor with nice view of the Virgin of Quito, helpful reception staff. The hotel is in a quiet street within walking distance of most of the Old Town sites. Good Wifi most of the time. One thing to note: the hotel's website and brochure emphasizes : "Bar - Restaurant " Panecillo" which serves exquisite cuisine and delicious national & international cocktails". It is rather misleading, as the "Panecillo" only serves breakfast and closes for the day at 9 AM ! And there is no bar either. I think it used to be the case once upon a time, but not anymore.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom georgia, usa

Nice hotel great breakfast.

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Pros: Decently the breakfast!
Cons: Check did not go well did not have our reservation.
Location: Eat on top of Resturant about 4 blocks away, great views of city.
Overal experience was good, rooms very clean, good price, rooms are roomy.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Portland OR

Room nice, wifi not!

Posted Dec 18, 2014
Pros: Breakfast. Room was comfortable enough.
Cons: Wifi. We were told we had WIFI in our room but it didn't work for either of us. Really sporadic. Ended up going to lobby to use WIFI.
Location: In the hear to the historic district. Plenty of shops and restaurants during the day. When it gets dark it all closes down.
The room was big enough. Nice bathroom. Clean. We had a little balcony over the street. We were told there was WIFI in the room but we could never get it to work for more than a few minutes. We ended up going to the lobby to use internet to book our next room. We arrived at night and the streets were dark without people - nothing open. The hotel told us where to find a restaurant a few blocks away. I don't like walking on dark streets at night but we did ok. Then the next day the streets were alive -- people walking, shops open. Dramatic change. The street literally roll up at dark in this area. We changed hotels due to the WIFI and we wanted to be in an area with some street life at night. That said, the location is very good for walking around the historical district. The hotel breakfast was one of the best we had at a hotel and the dining area was nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Detroit, MI

Good and safe hotel to stay

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff and good location.
Cons: Wifi connection.
Location: Centro historico is a good place to wander around for the historical sites.
Ideal place, safe, friendly staff, especially Ferndando and Byron, very helpful. My only sad experience was the wifi, the entire hotel has a poor connection. But overall, very friendly and helpful and pleasing.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Maryland and Mexico

Overbooked!

Posted Nov 20, 2014
Apparently the hotel was overbooked. We arrived. They said something was wrong with our room so they put us in an inferior hotel around the corner in a small room with a view of an old motorcycle in a garage, rocks for pillows, and cold.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Alexey

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Surrey, UK

Nice Quaint Hotel in the historic part of town

Posted Oct 26, 2014
This is a hotel with character in the historic part of town The staff were helpful despite not having received the booking email from Expedia and we settled up when it arrrived next day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by JBfrom NC

Great Breakfast and super clean room!

Posted Aug 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
The service of Nancy and Fernanda could not have been better. Fernanda kept the room spotless. The bed was comfortable, and they shower had good water pressure. Fernanda also works in the kitchen with Nancy, and they do a wonderful job putting together a wonderful breakfast complete with fresh squeezed juice, local fruit, eggs, fresh cheese, yogurt and sliced ham.